Customer Reviews for

Article 5 (Article 5 Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

A Must Read...

This book has quite a few twists and turns that keep you from putting the book down. If you like Divergent you'll like this one.

posted by suncoast215 on March 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Article 5 was the first book in the Kristen Simmons Article 5 se

Article 5 was the first book in the Kristen Simmons Article 5 series. It was an interesting book about a post apocalyptic society governed by rules and enforced by soldiers. It follows the main character Ember as she searches for her mother after she is arrested.

I'm g...
Article 5 was the first book in the Kristen Simmons Article 5 series. It was an interesting book about a post apocalyptic society governed by rules and enforced by soldiers. It follows the main character Ember as she searches for her mother after she is arrested.

I'm going to start this review with some of the ogod things I liked about it. I enjoyed learning about the world Ember lived in. It was interesting how it was run and how everyone lived in fear of the FBR (Federal Bureau of Reformation). Some began to go crazy, neighbor turned on neighbor and all hell basically broke loose to create what we read in this book. I could see exactly how the world became how it was. It made sense to me and I liked that.

I also liked Ember's drive. She has a one track mind and would do anything to achieve her goal. Once she had a plan, she stuck to it and it was hard to get her to think otherwise. Even while being punished, she still knew how to hold her own. he was strong and did what she thoughht was right no matter what. I love characters like this.

The relationship between Ember and Chase is something I also liked. They switch back and forth between the old relationship they had before Chase became a soldier, and the relationship they have now and I liked how it changed, and I liked how they grew. It made sense to me.

Nonetheless, there were quite a few things I didnt like. First, the dialogue in some sections of the book seemed to dramatic for me. Thing soap opera mixed with the Twilight movies mixed with 13 year old hormonal girls. Everything was just soo emotional that sometimes it made it hard to believe. I grew annoyed at some points.. I also didnt like how some of the settings and people were described. Although I could kind of picture some things in my head, I usually couldnt focus on who looked like what, or what color this person's hair was or where whis was taking place? Was this shed a nice shed or was it run down? What color was the house? How many people cornered you. I often reread sections of the book hoping to picture everything in my head and just couldnt. It caused me to generalize what things looked like. This is a basic farm house, this is a blue pickup truck, this is a manequin speaking to you, no real anything. It made me a bit frustrated. and it took out the feeling I search for of being sucked into a book.

I also didnt always like the romance aspect of the book. I always felt like Ember and Chase were stupid. "Why are you not paying attention? It's obvious he's still in love with you!" or "Why would you do that you idiot? Do you honestly think that because he was thinking a little violently to someone who tried to harm you that he would turn around and harm you too?" or even "Really? You really thought that you could take off running on foot and make it somewhere before someone in a truk can. Nevermind the fact that you have NO IDEA where you're going!!!" I always wanted them to speak their minds and talk about stuff instead of holding it in. I also didnt like some of her decisions. It made me begin to imagine her as a small girl with arms outstretched flailing aimlessly about in search of something she can do, screaming and crying about how her life is awful and everyone ruins it and she cant trust people and blah blah blah, when its obvious there's nothing to do but follow instructions. Shut up and stop crying.

I liked Article 5. It was an interesting book set in an interesting world, but it wasnt the best read for me. I think the hype was too overrated. I was planning to fall madly in love with this book and what I got was an average book. I'll probably read the next book whenever it comes out, but I will most likely not preorder it or go out on opening day in search of the book. My Rating? 2.5 stars.

posted by Sherre on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read...

    This book has quite a few twists and turns that keep you from putting the book down. If you like Divergent you'll like this one.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    This book is loaded with adventure from the very first page! I loved the excitement and tension the author created for the reader. There are so many emotions. Fear. Anger. And a full blown adrenaline rush while you are the characters running for your life.

    What I enjoyed the most about this book is the great plot line. A government implementing dumb laws. The reason that I fell so much into this book is cause I can see this happening. This is what is so freaky about the book. I loved that the author creativity of the plot and the characters really give the reader the chance to be in their shoes.

    The love interest is enduring. Not only have they know each other for long but the sacrifices they make for each other is selfless. I loved watching these two bicker, fight and then fall hard core in love. In the short moments of peace they steal together, it gives the right mixture for a love to bloom. Ms. Simmons definitely balanced out her book. Nothing is too much and when it seems like there is no rest for the weary, the reader is given peace with love.

    This is a superb book! One that is filled with action, adventure, on the run excitement. The world is told to the reader piece by piece and is not confusing. Article 5 is the start of something great! I can't wait for the next book!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Article 5 was the first book in the Kristen Simmons Article 5 se

    Article 5 was the first book in the Kristen Simmons Article 5 series. It was an interesting book about a post apocalyptic society governed by rules and enforced by soldiers. It follows the main character Ember as she searches for her mother after she is arrested.

    I'm going to start this review with some of the ogod things I liked about it. I enjoyed learning about the world Ember lived in. It was interesting how it was run and how everyone lived in fear of the FBR (Federal Bureau of Reformation). Some began to go crazy, neighbor turned on neighbor and all hell basically broke loose to create what we read in this book. I could see exactly how the world became how it was. It made sense to me and I liked that.

    I also liked Ember's drive. She has a one track mind and would do anything to achieve her goal. Once she had a plan, she stuck to it and it was hard to get her to think otherwise. Even while being punished, she still knew how to hold her own. he was strong and did what she thoughht was right no matter what. I love characters like this.

    The relationship between Ember and Chase is something I also liked. They switch back and forth between the old relationship they had before Chase became a soldier, and the relationship they have now and I liked how it changed, and I liked how they grew. It made sense to me.

    Nonetheless, there were quite a few things I didnt like. First, the dialogue in some sections of the book seemed to dramatic for me. Thing soap opera mixed with the Twilight movies mixed with 13 year old hormonal girls. Everything was just soo emotional that sometimes it made it hard to believe. I grew annoyed at some points.. I also didnt like how some of the settings and people were described. Although I could kind of picture some things in my head, I usually couldnt focus on who looked like what, or what color this person's hair was or where whis was taking place? Was this shed a nice shed or was it run down? What color was the house? How many people cornered you. I often reread sections of the book hoping to picture everything in my head and just couldnt. It caused me to generalize what things looked like. This is a basic farm house, this is a blue pickup truck, this is a manequin speaking to you, no real anything. It made me a bit frustrated. and it took out the feeling I search for of being sucked into a book.

    I also didnt always like the romance aspect of the book. I always felt like Ember and Chase were stupid. "Why are you not paying attention? It's obvious he's still in love with you!" or "Why would you do that you idiot? Do you honestly think that because he was thinking a little violently to someone who tried to harm you that he would turn around and harm you too?" or even "Really? You really thought that you could take off running on foot and make it somewhere before someone in a truk can. Nevermind the fact that you have NO IDEA where you're going!!!" I always wanted them to speak their minds and talk about stuff instead of holding it in. I also didnt like some of her decisions. It made me begin to imagine her as a small girl with arms outstretched flailing aimlessly about in search of something she can do, screaming and crying about how her life is awful and everyone ruins it and she cant trust people and blah blah blah, when its obvious there's nothing to do but follow instructions. Shut up and stop crying.

    I liked Article 5. It was an interesting book set in an interesting world, but it wasnt the best read for me. I think the hype was too overrated. I was planning to fall madly in love with this book and what I got was an average book. I'll probably read the next book whenever it comes out, but I will most likely not preorder it or go out on opening day in search of the book. My Rating? 2.5 stars.

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Great

    I love this book. I love the caracters. I fell in love with Ember and Chase's story. It starts off kind off slow, but after that i couldn't put it down. There are many twists and turns that will keep you from putting it down! CAN NOT wait for the second book!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Great Read

    This book was actually a really great read. I was a bit skeptical at first, but I enjoyed it. It didn't slow down, the characters are enjoyable and believeable, and the story is very compelling.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Sounds to me like

    The way its dicribed it reminds me of the book dilirium same consept only in that book the take out the part of ur brain that allows you to love dont worry its not like it goes into alot of detail about the sugrey but once you 18 you cant love if the sugrey works right ¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿!!!!!!!!
    If u like this book please read dilirium and see for you self.

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Adventure. Love. Fear. Sadness . Anxiety . Loyalty . Suspense .

    Adventure. Love. Fear. Sadness . Anxiety . Loyalty . Suspense . .Gripping . and much more.
    Are all the words that come to mind when i think of this book .
    Its crazy how it was only 200 almost 300 pages. When it had so much details and action that made it seem much longer.
    I think there is another book and i 'm very much looking forward to it .
    It was so REALISTIC. The scenes and situations that Ember Miller face , were so REAL . Nothing felt forced , fake or unoriginal in this book.
    One of my favorites of 2012 !

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I could not put it down!!!!

    One of my students gave me this book to read, and I am so happy she did. One of the best young adult books I have read! If you liked Hunger Games you will love this book! It is action packed. I will be recommending this book for our Lit. Library.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Really great book! I couldn't put it down and read this in one d

    Really great book! I couldn't put it down and read this in one day. I hope the author decides to write another book for these characters; would really enjoy to see where they go from here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Got it at the school library...

    ...and it was pretty good! Glad I didn't buy it though, because it wasn't at all what I expected. The ending was not that good, but everything till that part was great! Almost as good as the hunger games. Maybe the same when it comes to the terrible cliffhanger, undescribed endings.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Good dystopian novel... i guess

    Article 5 was a well done book. The plot, while it didn't run circles around itself was intriguing and wasn't completely stereotypical. It was a good systopian novel, although some of the author's predictions seemed a little off from very believable idea of the future.
    SOME POINTS
    a) The military government was based on christianity becoming an enforced religion in the USA I thought simply wasn't to be. It didn't make any sense given the current movement towards tolerance and acceptence of EVRYTHING. I would have thought it would have shifted more towards a ban on expressing opinions or views rather than enforcing a prescribed religion. You don't see all that many dystopian novels that go in the direction article five did, and while i didnt think itnwas plausible, it didnt detract from the story overmuch so I think this isnt an issue that should discourage from reading the book.
    b) society: the government moved towards socialism on the extreme and you got hints that America had had a falling out with the rest of the world and was on the edge of a collapse into chaos. I couldn't foresee a way for the government to continue and operate and I think this should make the uprising a fun part of the sequel. I tjought this was very well done and very possible and The military bit thrown in was good for the action and for the villain.
    c) Ember, girl, 17 was well done. She was a good main charactor that was very human as well as very likeable. She seemed a little prone to selfpity, but thats not unusual in a first person novel. She was smartish, with a dogged loyalty despite confusing circumstances. I liked her for being brave and independent even though she was mostly a follower of Chase the other main character. She developed a lot over the course of the story and it was good change.
    d) Chase, boy 19 I think. Was alright but wasnt really all that exciting. He was your typical male main, tall, hansome, tortured with absolute devotion to Ember. He was nice but not memorable as far as main characters go. Also he was something like six three and Ember was five four so I wondered how they managed to kiss so much w/o the precense of a step ladder ( not really important, but seemed worth menchioning.)
    All in all it was a good read. Hope this review helps

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Personally, I thought the idea of this story was quite intriguin

    Personally, I thought the idea of this story was quite intriguing; however, I couldn't get over how the main character Ember overreacted to expected commotions. Originally, I was drawn to this book in search of another dystopian novel to match that of Legend by Marie Lu and Divergent by Veronica Roth, but the organization of the plot left me often confused and backtracked. As the story progressed, I felt like the series of events were poorly written. On the contrary, Article 5 is an "okay" book with a great main idea for a dystopian novel. If the plot was written differently, I think it would be spot on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Terrible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I HATED this book! It was a very uncreative plot for a story like this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Anon

    Stupid book, full of teen angst. This girl should have died many times over with all the emotional paralysis she had in perilous moments. Obvious set up for a sequel, which I will not read. Also full of sheep that I do not recognize as authentically American. We are ingrained with freedom - it runs in our veins. The religious aspect of the evil perps bothers me, too. Though not particularly religious myself, I do recognize Christianity as an extremely tolerant religion. The parts do not add up here. It all irked me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Blank

    Beautiful. Action and suspense mixed with romance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Leamonear

    Lemonear pads in and looks around

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Article 5 by Kristen Simmons is DEFINITELY one of THE BEST BOOKS

    Article 5 by Kristen Simmons is DEFINITELY one of THE BEST BOOKS SO FAR OF 2012!!! I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book when I saw it on one of my YA book blogs!!! It's got a great storyline as well as a great setting with romance between the two characters to top it off!!! I think that this is a good book for teens that love dystopian novels as well as for those who think to themselves: What will happen in the future?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned

    New York, Los Angeles, and Washington, D.C., have been abandoned.

    The Bill of Rights has been revoked, and replaced with the Moral Statutes.

    There are no more police—instead, there are soldiers. There are no more fines for bad behavior—instead, there are arrests, trials, and maybe worse. People who get arrested usually don't come back.

    Seventeen-year-old Ember Miller is old enough to remember that things weren't always this way. Living with her rebellious single mother, it's hard for her to forget that people weren't always arrested for reading the wrong books or staying out after dark. It's hard to forget that life in the United States used to be different.

    Ember has perfected the art of keeping a low profile. She knows how to get the things she needs, like food stamps and hand-me-down clothes, and how to pass the random home inspections by the military. Her life is as close to peaceful as circumstances allow.

    That is, until her mother is arrested for noncompliance with Article 5 of the Moral Statutes. And one of the arresting officers is none other than Chase Jennings—the only boy Ember has ever loved.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    It's interesting

    i love the IDEA of the book but the main character is overdramatic and whiny. Also, it drags on. I found myself skimming pages. But i dont regret buying it. I'm actually going to buy the others as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2014

    ARTICLE 5 turned out to be so much different then what I thought

    ARTICLE 5 turned out to be so much different then what I thought it would be! It left me with so many feelings, both good and bad!! But manly good! I found myself not wanting to put ARTICLE 5 down for nothing! At first I was a little shocked at some of the events that were happening to the article violators. I'm mean I've seen some crazy things happen in dystopian novels, but simply putting citizens to death for having children out of wedlock BEFORE the statues where created and enforced, was just beyond comprehension! It was terrible the things that these people had to endure to survive! Again, nothing new from dystopians, but this one just rubbed me the right way, and found it's way into my heart!

    BUT, there was one issue that bugged the crap out of me! And it was the main character Ember! Now, after saying that, I did NOT hate Ember, I found her to be VERY annoying at times, but manly only in the beginning! I understand that she was going through a rough time. I understand that her mom had been taken from her for the solely reason of just giving birth to her. I understand she went days and nights hungry and cold. I understand she had to do everything she could to survive, no matter what that was! I get it, I really do, but girl, get a grip!! In the beginning she was whinny, annoying, and very irrational! Her directed anger towards Chase was totally misplaced! Chase was only trying to keep her safe, given the crappy hand he was dealt! He had to make due with what he had, and everything he did was for her, and her only. And she couldn't see that, well at least not until the end. But that annoyed the crap out of me!! She was just too dam hard on my man Chase, and I didn't like it!!

    But by the end of the book, I loved Ember! I know that's a really big switch, but she matured, and came to terms with the truth about everything she'd been naive too. She had faced some hard truths of the world they lived in, and had first hand experience of some of the hardships that Chase has endured, and came to understand him and the reasoning behind the things he did. Ember had a huge wake up call, and after that, she was tough as nails! She did what she had to to survive, even if it meant to get down and dirty, and do disable things. She did them because it was her only means to survive. She was able to understand a become a new person born from the destruction and pain that has built there new world! The old Ember is gone, and this new Em will not stand for it, not anymore! And that is one of the many reasons why I have come to care very deeply for Ember after her struggle within herself. We were able to watch her grow from the whinny, naive, sheltered, little girl to this strong, hard, determined, women that will stand and fight for what she believes in, and put others first no matter the cost! By the end of the book I NEEDED more of Chase and Ember's story!

    The Plot...

    The war is over, the remaining citizens are forced to obey, and summit their free will if their going to survive! The Federal Bureau Of Reformation rules with an iron fist, killing innocents, making soldiers, and building this unbreakable army. Or so they thought...

    There's a rebellion brewing, citizens and outcasts have bounded together to take a stand and fight back, with one little battle at a time. They don't have the resources or man power yet to take on the FBR. But their slowly building, recruiting, lying low, staying in the shadows, and picking and choosing their battles until their ready to strike back.

    So after the FBR comes in and arrest Ember's mother for violating Article 5, a new law that just past sentencing all women for having children out of wedlock. Ember tries to fight back, and keep her mother out of prison. But she's only one girl fighting against 3 armed soldiers. But when the driver turns out to be Ember's love of her life, Chase, the walls she slowly built, starting crumbling around her, and she herself is locked up and taken to where all the girls go for being Article Violators, a Rehabilitation Center!

    Ember is locked away for the only crime she committed is being born. She is forced to endure some horrific acts, and is horrified at the truth. The FBR are evil, they are hurting, and even killing people, innocent people. That's when Ember has had enough. She is determined to escape and get as far away from this torture center as possible to save her mother from the same horrible fate.

    But if Ember wants to make it out alive, then she will have to join forces with the same boy that helped lock her and her mother away, Chase, her long lost love!

    Chase has come back for Ember, and this time is fighting on her side! He is determined to get Ember out of the rehabilitation center and get her to safety, all while trying to stay alive, and avoid the other insane, hungry, starving people living in FBR's broken society, all while evading and trying to stay one step ahead of the FBR. But there closing in, there getting smarter, and there determined to find Chase and Ember no matter what!

    Ember and Chase will have to learn to put their differences aside and rely on each other if their going to make it out of this mess in one piece. But it won't be easy, as Ember has a heavy heart from what Chase has done, and Chase has a hard demeanor, built from the guilt of what he's done to the people he loves. But just when all seems lost, and there on the losing side, the Resistance comes out of nowhere, and aids them to safety, even if its just for a little while. Now, they will have to ally with the Resistance if they have any chance of escaping the evil strong hold of the government!

    I really enjoyed Article 5, and most of all I enjoyed watching these characters grow, and become strong leaders and fight for what they believe in and not give up.

    This book had just enough action to keep me entertained and more then enough struggle and pain to break my heart over and over again!

    I will definitely be finishing this series and continuing Ember and Chase's adventure and struggle through the corrupt cities controlled by the vicious FBR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6