Customer Reviews for

Artifact: A Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Jaya Jones, the product of an American father and Indian mother,

Jaya Jones, the product of an American father and Indian mother, is a professor whose area of expertise is the early foundations of British India, including the British East India Company. The same day she reads a newspaper article about the death of her former lover, R...
Jaya Jones, the product of an American father and Indian mother, is a professor whose area of expertise is the early foundations of British India, including the British East India Company. The same day she reads a newspaper article about the death of her former lover, Rupert, near a dig in Scotland, she receives a mysterious package from him containing a beautiful gold and ruby bracelet. The attached note, dated the day of his death, indicates he is sending this to her because she is the only one he trusts. In order to find out more information about the bracelet, she contacts Lane Peters, a graduate student with art history expertise. Suspecting the extreme monetary worth and historical value of the bracelet and the potential that there are more pieces in this set, as well as needing to know if Rupert really was murdered, Jaya makes plans to fly to England to consult the London Library for more information, and then travel to the Scottish dig. Lane asks to accompany her, also wanting to validate the bracelet's history and when her apartment is burglarized before they leave America, and then both are followed in London, they realize that this mystery now presents a very real danger to them. Will they be able to solve Rupert's murder and find the remainder of the missing treasure without becoming victims themselves? This story has several very colorful characters, as well as exciting settings. I enjoyed the educational insights into British and Indian histories that are given during the course of this adventure. I am looking forward to following this series for the next Jaya adventure.


posted by Kuzlin on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Gift of Jewels in the Mail

This book was fairly interesting. Our heroine gets some ruby jewelry in the mail, complete with dirt from an archeological dig. They are from her former boyfriend, who unfortunately as died--or has he? She goes from the US to Scotland to discover what is going on. A...
This book was fairly interesting. Our heroine gets some ruby jewelry in the mail, complete with dirt from an archeological dig. They are from her former boyfriend, who unfortunately as died--or has he? She goes from the US to Scotland to discover what is going on. Apparently, this is the first in a series. I might try another. A book group might be interested in reading this.

posted by otterly on March 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Good Read

    Book was interesting and enjoyed detail about Scotland, and history background.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jaya Jones, the product of an American father and Indian mother,

    Jaya Jones, the product of an American father and Indian mother, is a professor whose area of expertise is the early foundations of British India, including the British East India Company. The same day she reads a newspaper article about the death of her former lover, Rupert, near a dig in Scotland, she receives a mysterious package from him containing a beautiful gold and ruby bracelet. The attached note, dated the day of his death, indicates he is sending this to her because she is the only one he trusts. In order to find out more information about the bracelet, she contacts Lane Peters, a graduate student with art history expertise. Suspecting the extreme monetary worth and historical value of the bracelet and the potential that there are more pieces in this set, as well as needing to know if Rupert really was murdered, Jaya makes plans to fly to England to consult the London Library for more information, and then travel to the Scottish dig. Lane asks to accompany her, also wanting to validate the bracelet's history and when her apartment is burglarized before they leave America, and then both are followed in London, they realize that this mystery now presents a very real danger to them. Will they be able to solve Rupert's murder and find the remainder of the missing treasure without becoming victims themselves? This story has several very colorful characters, as well as exciting settings. I enjoyed the educational insights into British and Indian histories that are given during the course of this adventure. I am looking forward to following this series for the next Jaya adventure.


    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2013

    This is the first book in the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunter Series.

    This is the first book in the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunter Series. Jaya receives a package from her ex boyfriend , it contains a ruby bracelet, she also received news that Rupert died in an accident the same day as the postmark on the package. Jaya grows curious and goes to London with her friend Lane to investigate. They discover that there is a dig in Scotland and there might be more treasure, strange occurrences happen while at the dig site. You must read this book and you will never guess who the bad guy is. Great storyline and wonderful characters.
    Thanks to Net Galley and Henery Press for allowing me to read this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Move over, Indiana, there¿s a new Dr. Jones in town¿Dr. Jaya Jon

    Move over, Indiana, there’s a new Dr. Jones in town—Dr. Jaya Jones, to be precise!  When she receives a mysterious package from a former boyfriend back in the UK just after reading of his untimely death in an “accident,” Jaya knows she has to figure out what happened.  Her quest for the truth will lead her to Scotland and, in a round-about way, back to India.  But who can Jaya trust when everyone has a motive and no one is exactly what they seem?

    I like Jaya Jones, although I’m not quite sure how she was able to keep her professor position while jet-setting off to foreign countries, getting involved in murder investigations, etc.  (I realize she wasn’t teaching during the summer term, but still!)  In many ways she seemed pretty naïve and ignored evidence that was right in front of her.  I had most of the mysteries figured out long before Jaya did, which was part of the fun.  I look forward to more of Jaya’s adventures.  

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2013

    4 STARS I like Jaya Jones. She just jumps in when she thinks she

    4 STARS
    I like Jaya Jones. She just jumps in when she thinks she can help her ex-boyfriend. She is small, smart and knows how to fight back. She is a interesting character that I would love to read more books featuring her. Their is a mystery to solve and Jaya only knows a little of it. Instead of calling the police when she thinks her ex-boyfriend was murdered. She decides to go find what he has been up too and plans to find his murder. Plenty of suspects, treasure hunt, murder and lots of history make a good story. I was kept guessing, not sure who to trust. The plot had some nice twists in it. Some I guessed but some a total surprise. Lots of mystery, action and drama to keep you reading to find out what would happen next. It is also a clean read.

    Jaya Jones has got her doctorate and is working on getting tenure she plans to write a paper this summer. She is part Indian and part American. She plays the Tabla two evenings a week. She knows self defense. She is short so always wears high heels. She acts tough but really trusts and believes in people.

    When she is sent a package the same day she learns that her old boyfriend in England had died the day he mailed it to her. She thinks he was murder in Scotland. The artifact was a gold bracelet with a giant ruby in it. Had dirt in it still. The note was brief he did not trust anyone else for her to keep it safe. Gave her his cell number. Jaya wants to find out about the bracelet and wants to find out who murdered Rupert right after he mailed it to her. She takes a picture of the bracelet and sets off to find information about it.

    She is sent to graduate student Lane. Lane says it not real. He thinks someone photo shopped it. Jaya takes out the bracelet from her purse to show him its real. Lane tells her he will do some more research on it. He has a look on his face when he first sees it. Takes it right to bank and gets a safety deposit box. When she gets back to her apartment finds out she was robbed and only her jewelry case is broken nothing missing.

    Jaya decides to head to Scotland to find out what is going on. Lane plans to go and research the bracelet and protect her. Someone is following them in London so they follow the leads to Scotland and come up with a cover story.

    I enjoyed reading Artifact and look forward to reading more of Jaya Jones Mysteries. I wonder if we will see some of the other characters in her next adventure. I don't want to say much about the other characters because that is part of the mystery who or what the other characters are or knows.

    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it when finished by NetGalley and Henery Press.
    08/06/2013 PUB Henery Press 296 pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Treasure Hunts are FUN!

    Jaya Jones’ ex-boyfriend, Rupert, recently died in a car crash in Scotland. On the day she learns of his death Jaya receives a package from Rupert post marked the day of his death with a jewel encrusted artifact enclosed. Suspecting Rupert’s death is on an accident Jaya enlists the help of Lane Peters, art history graduate student and first year professor at Berkley, to figure out the origin of the artifact. One thing leads to another and Jaya finds herself on an international quest for buried treasure. Jaya Jones is an intelligent and brave young woman. She is compassionate, level head and an endearing character that is fun to read about. Gigi Pandian does a wonderful job of creating twists and turns that the reader doesn’t see coming. This was a great start to a promising series. I can’t wait to read what else is in store for all the characters in the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of my bookclubs chooses mysteries by theme rather than by t


    One of my bookclubs chooses mysteries by theme rather than by title or author and each member reads one or more books that fit the theme. This month, it’s “Scientific Occupations” so when I was given the opportunity to read Artifact, I thought, how perfect, I can kill the proverbial two birds and, hopefully, enjoy the double task.

    And enjoy it I have. Artifact is a well-done entry in the field of archaeological mysteries with a taste of the historical British India that we westerners don’t often get. Jaya and art historian Lane Peters, a new acquaintance with an interest in the potential treasure, follow up leads to find the rest of the jewels and get to the bottom of why Jaya’s ex-boyfriend, Rupert, sent a piece to her. The fact that he died just after sending the package is too much of a coincidence and both Jaya and Lane have suspicions about the people they come across during the hunt.

    Secondary characters, such as Professor Malcolm Alpin, Rupert’s best friend, Knox Bailey, and a pub regular named Fergus with a fervent belief in a dark fayrie known as the bean nighe lend a richness to the tale. (Even the Tuatha Dé Danann, a group of former Irish deities, come into the mix and that appealed to me as they are an integral part of another series I love dearly.) Twists abound and Jaya finds that there is much she doesn’t know about some of the people involved. Add in the gloomy, menacing environment of a rainy, rocky coast and an arrest that takes Jaya completely by surprise and you have the makings of an atmospheric, fast-paced mystery.

    Ms. Pandian received the Malice Domestic Grant, awarded to foster unpublished writers working in the traditional mystery genre, and any readers who are reluctant to pick up a self-published novel can rest assured they won’t be wasting their time with this one. Ms. Pandian proved herself to people who are actively involved in and supportive of the good work of undiscovered mystery writers and she proved to me that they weren’t mistaken. Artifact is the first of a series and I am already looking forward to the next treasure hunt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    When Jaya receives a package from her ex-boyfriend who has sudde

    When Jaya receives a package from her ex-boyfriend who has suddenly died, Jaya is off and takes us on a fast-paced adventure filled with archeological intrigue and mayhem. The author did a good job in keeping me guessing throughout most of this page-turning drama. The writing was good, the dialogue entertaining and Jaya is a character that I'm interested in learning more about and I can't wait for the next book in this enjoyable debut series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2015

    an intriguing mystery Artifact by Gigi Pandian The First Jaya

    an intriguing mystery


    Artifact by Gigi Pandian
    The First Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery

    Artifact is the first in the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery series. Jaya Jones is a unique heroine. Half Indian she embraces her culture finding release from the stresses of the day by playing the tabla (an Indian drum). Small in stature she's nonetheless a formidable character; her father enrolled her in every martial arts class available. Jaya is well able to take care of herself.

    As capable as Jaya is, she is more distressed than even she thought possible after she learns of the death of a former lover. When she receives a package from him containing a piece of ancient Indian jewelry she realizes his death can't be an accident.. Her search for the truth leads her to Lane Peters, then on to Scotland where she meets with old "friends" on an archaeological dig. What would Indian jewelry have to do with Pictish stones and faerie mounds? Jaya Jones will help us find out!

    Gigi Pandian gives us an intriguing mystery loaded with fascinating historical truths and delightful characters. The question of who to trust and the romantic possibilities add to the thrill of the mystery. I'm entranced by this new to me series and can't wait to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2015

    I truly enjoyed this author and will be looking forward to readi

    I truly enjoyed this author and will be looking forward to reading more by her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    All i nall-a great read I really enjoy this series. I read book

    All i nall-a great read
    I really enjoy this series. I read book 2 first and now have read this one.
    They are well done. Good characters, intriguing plot, fascinating mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1