Customer Reviews for

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-...
I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-bakers to become empowered bakers!

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very easy, but

I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter...
I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter Reinhart books.

posted by weezielo on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Best cook book I have

    I have not bought bread since I got this book. It is so easy. I have it on my nook and LOVE it. Makes making bread for my family of 5 so easy and rewarding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Great Bread!

    I will never buy a loaf of bread again!

    If you are a bread-lover, this is for you! The bread recipes are simple, easy to follow, and result in incredibly delicious fresh bread. See the picture on the front of the book? Well, you can make bread that looks exactly like that - and many other types of loaves.

    Buy this book and have fresh-baked bread in minutes.

    Did I mention that I liked it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Very Comprehensive, Well-Organized Book

    I love this book. It is laid out in a methodical way that takes the reader through the authors' thought process. I found the instructions very easy to follow and the results are fantastic. I had no trouble at all with the master recipe and am going on to the peasant breads. I love the background detail about the breads included. This is a "cookbook" well worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Must have!

    I am very glad I ordered two books as I intend one as a gift. We have had fresh bread almost every day since I received the book. Very well presented and each step is easy to understand. I'm looking forward to trying each type of dough recipe. There are quite a few recipes for soups, salads and even fish soup that look very enticing as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Great book to own

    I bought one for myself and then my Mom. We are both avid cooks but I also got some who don't cook much to bake bread. Very easy technique.
    Bread for dummies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Even I can bake bread!!!

    This book is awesome! A friend had recommended it, but I was skeptical...now I bake bread all the time! I am on my third batch of dough, and have had success with every loaf. The book gives good, detailed directions. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Great book!

    Wonderful for people who are busy, but love to bake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Gotta have it!

    Imagine bread that's truly, no fooling easy. That's it. You mix it, let it rise, put it in the fridge and pull out dough when you want hot fragrant crusty artisan bread (no 'feeding' it or any such complexity). The mix makes four loaves and is good for 10 days. Olive bread gets you hooked. This is my favorite cookbook. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    It really works.

    I've baked homemade bread before from scratch and with a machine, but these recipes are easier and turn out great. I takes less time than using a bread machine because I only mix dough once, in a few minutes, for fresh loaves for a week or two, and clean-up is easier. My family loves it as we try the different varieties and improvise variations to go with different foods. It is so simple with basic ingredients, everyone could make themselves fresh, inexpensive delicious bread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2009

    Easy Bread Making

    The book was great !! Making the bread is easy and fun !!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    This book is awesome.

    I have always wanted to make home made bread but can't kneed, so this method works for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    It works! I can make artisian bread in 5 minutes!!!

    I have shared this book (and my baking stone) with friends. We all love the bread!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fabulous!

    This is the most amazing book! I have always wanted to make bread but it was so difficult...this bread is not difficult at all and is one of the best breads i have ever had! I have recommended this to all my friends and family and take dough to dinners and everyone is amazed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    for bread lovers

    we love bread at our house (in fact my husband judges a restaurant on the bread FIRST, then the food!!), so this book was a must buy when a friend let me in on the secret!!
    great, easy way to get started on your own bread baking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    I love this book!

    I hoped this wouldn't be just another cookbook taking up space on my kitchen shelf. And it isn't! What a wonderful book! I have been doing bread this "new" way for several months and I get great results every time. I've also recommended this book to friends and given some copies as gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Great Source for Great Bread

    Excellent and detailed instructions. First loaf turned out perfect by following the instructions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    Amazingly simple!!

    This book has changed life in my kitchen...and many of my friends/family members.
    Making bread actually is as easy as they say in the book--only takes a few minutes. Even my college-aged son makes all his own bread now!
    The bread is delicious, and more filling and satisfying than store-bought bread (even bakery breads). And SO much cheaper.
    I've passed the recipe on to many friends and several college students--everyone loves their bread & is amazed by how easy/fast it is to make.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 162 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 9