Customer Reviews for

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-...
I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-bakers to become empowered bakers!

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very easy, but

I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter...
I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter Reinhart books.

posted by weezielo on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Make great yeast bread in a snap!

    I've been baking just about every *other* kind of baked good for the last two years (quick bread, cake, pie, brownies, cookies), but avoided yeast breads like the plague since my several prior attempts turned out like bricks, particularly when using refrigerated dough. Enter "Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day;" using the master dough recipe (and its variations), you can whip together nearly endless combinations of sweet and savory yeast doughs including brioche, challah, buttermilk, oatmeal, rye, and several ethnic breads (limpa, ciabatta, baguette, pumpernickel) in a few minutes with the stir of a spoon: no kneading required.


    Sounds too easy to be true? I tried making the master dough recipe and several variants (brioche and challah-based enriched pastries including chocolate brioche, caramel pecan rolls and almond bostock), and all turned out beautifully. Remember: my first breads turned out like bricks, so having fluffy, flavorful loaves on my first try was nothing short of a miracle. I combined several tips from "Artisan Bread" with some of Carole Walter's advice from Great Coffee Cakes, Sticky Buns, Muffins & More: 200 Anytime Treats and Special Sweets for Morning to Midnight: use lukewarm, 100-degree water (too hot and you'll kill the yeast), and let dough rise in a slightly warm oven at about 100 degrees), and this seemed to fix my prior problems.


    The book includes crusty peasant loaves baked on pizza stones (to achieve maximum crunch, mist the crust with water when you slide the dough in) as well as egg-and-butter enriched challah and brioche that serve as vehicles to sweet endings such as bostock (almond-and-orange-scented sweet rolls), sticky pecan rolls, chocolate brioche, panettone, and babka. There are also some non-bread recipes included that make the perfect pairing with the book's included breads, such as Door County cherry preserves, salads, granola, Tuscan bean dip, gazpacho, and Portuguese fish stew.


    The book's website includes several updates on errors in the book, so be sure to check first if you're in doubt about the amount of a certain ingredient. If you're a home baker tired of paying artisan bakery prices, but long for truly great bread at home, this is an easy, gentle introduction to yeast breads that require minimal effort (doughwise; rolling and filling is still messy!!) and it makes a wonderful gift.
    Comment | Permalink

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice addition to my library.

    The recipes in this book are straight forward and the resulting products have been beautiful and successful. I would have liked to have had the ingredients listed in weights also. Zoe's website, www.zoebakes.com is fabulous; that alone was worth the price of the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    An Easy Way to Enjoy Freshly Baked Bread

    I was skeptical about the idea of making a bread dough that could sit in the refrigerator for up to two weeks and not require any kneading, but this cookbook shows how to do just that. It literally takes less than five minutes to mix the dough and then it rises in the refrigerator overnight. From that point on one can enjoy freshly baked bread several times over the next week or two.

    I made the master recipe for white flour dough that serves as the base for dozens of bread in the cookbook. With it, I made traditional loaves using loaf pans. I chose the loaf pan variation because the authors recommend a pizza peel or baking stone for the free-form loaves and I don't have either. I also used some of the dough for pizza crust. Both turned out well and I look forward to trying some of the other breads such as Challah With Raisins, Brioche, Buttermilk Bread, Oatmeal Bread, and Pumpernickle Bread.

    Anyone who enjoys baking bread will benefit from the tips and methods outlined in this book, and will enjoy experimenting with the dozens of recipes one can make with the master recipe.

    I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited, nor was a positive review required.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    amazing!

    so easy... page 26 will be your new bread bible. I made amazing bread on my first attempt. Love the in-depth information as well as the varied recipes. Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    for bread lovers

    we love bread at our house (in fact my husband judges a restaurant on the bread FIRST, then the food!!), so this book was a must buy when a friend let me in on the secret!!
    great, easy way to get started on your own bread baking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2