Customer Reviews for

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-...
I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-bakers to become empowered bakers!

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very easy, but

I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter...
I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter Reinhart books.

posted by weezielo on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-bakers to become empowered bakers!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Mmmm Homemade Bread

    This book is wonderful and the directions are easy to follow. I love homemade bread, but have never had much luck in baking it. With this book, my first loaf was a success. I love the variations in recipes. The recipes are fool proof and the breads are delicious. I plan on making loaves for gifts over the holidays.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    This was almost too good to be true!

    I couldn't resist ordering this book. Bread baking was one of the few cooking techniques that TOTALLY intimidated me. It works! If you love to bake and cook you can do this!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Printing Errors - See Web Site For Details

    I love this book, and highly recommend it for anyone wanting to bake bread that tastes great and is easy to make! The authors have graciously posted the errors that are included in the printed books...
    http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com/?page_id=73

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    Easy directions for making bread

    I am tired of paying $4/ for small loaves of bread that look like large rolls and are too small to make sandwiches with. This book has come in very handy - the recipes are easy to follow and it is just as simple as the title says it is.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    I love this book!

    I don't have time to cook or bake much, but this book, by just reading the first section with the standard recipe, has allowed me to make delicious bread in very little time. I love fresh bread and I love this book. My wife does most of the cooking, so my family finds it amazing (and somewhat peculiar, as I don't spend much time in the kitchen) that I am able to make consistently fabulous bread with very little effort. You will have fun with this recipe. Your bread will taste fantastic and your house will smell like a french bakery. The only change I have made, is that the recipe works better for me with unbleached bread flour rather than unbleached all purpose flour, which is their suggestion for the first recipe (I live at 4000 ft altitude in a dry climate and I don't know if that makes a difference). Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    Yummy fresh Bread

    Awesome book if you enjoy fresh baked bread without all the work this is one for you! Bread has come out yummy every time. I even use my convection oven faster and doesn't heat up the house in summer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Great

    This book is a must for anyone who likes homemade bread, but can't stand the hassle. This book teaches you to make bread dough without kneading and rising all day. We now make all our own bread.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Deliciously easy

    The bread in this book is truly as easy to make as the title implies. I've been making the starter recipe for about a month. The directions were extremely easy to understand. Everyone in my family, including the one year old, love this bread. My husband suggested I sell it (though I won't). My son who is extremely picky, said it's the best bread he's ever had. It certainly is cheaper than buying bread from the grocery or bakery. Can't wait to try all the other recipes. I have been recommending this book to everyone I know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    Never eat store-bought bread again!

    I've had this book for a couple of months and haven't had a chance to try it until yesterday - I made my first loaf last night, and am working on my second right now. I have never baked "real" bread before, and was a bit skeptical how well this method would work - all I can say is, I wish I had started sooner. It is very simple to follow the instructions, and even someone who has never done this before can produce a loaf that is simply amazing. I read the first part of the book before starting, and purchased all the recommended supplies (an investment, but well worth it) - baking stone, pizza peel, container, a good bread knife, the right kind of flour and yeast, etc... It's so amazing to watch your first batch rise, and after a small amount of work that first time, it's great that all you have to do for subsequent loaves (like I did tonight), is grab a hunk of dough, shape it, let it rest a bit, and toss it on the stone in the oven. In a half hour I'll have another yummy loaf - first loaf revealed a perfect crust, and great interior, soft and springy and just the right amount of "holes". Much much better than store bought. In time, I'll try the other recipes in the book, for now, I'm happy to enjoy my first few loaves of the basic boule, and gladly avoid the over-priced bread aisle at the store!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    GREAT EATS

    It is easy and makes great bread, bagles, pizza dough. Make sure you make the cinn. rolls I have purchased 3 copies and sent them to friends

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    My first bread success came from this book!

    It's simple, literally just takes a few minutes a day, and produced a loaf of bread my picky son said, "It tastes like the bread we get from the steak house!" And then he reached for a second helping.

    This took all the fear of bread baking away.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2012

    Best Purchase in a long time!

    A friend loaned me the master recipe for the bread. I made it once and was convinced that I needed to buy the book. The master recipe is very simple to make and only takes a few minutes to mix. Having fresh bread for a nice dinner is such a treat and the recipes in this book have made that become a common occurrence at our house. My favorite bread so far has been the sundried tomato. So easy and yet it tastes like it is from the local bakery. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys the taste and aroma of fresh bread.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Dg

    Have this book. Making bread daily is so simple. This is a must have for the foody who wants a freshly made loaf of bread at thier evening table and wow the guest, after working all day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    BusyworkingMom

    I have made several of these recipes and they're all really easy and yummy. I recommend this to anyone who loves bread!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Super easy, Super Quick Homemade Bread

    I bought this book on a lark. I love to bake and I am always looking for new ways to make tasty breads. Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day is undeniably the best book out there if you like a crusty round of bread. The directions are clear and concise and so very easy to do. I have made at least 16 loaves of breads using this book including rye and European Peasant bread. My husband who loves a good crusty artisan loaf of bread is delighted with the results. It is so easy you can make a batch of dough each week and reward yourself with four 1 pound loaves. Super easy and so very simple, I would recommend this book for anyone interested in making bread but doesn't have the time or desire to knead, rise, shape, rise, etc. I am giving a copy of this book to my Mom for Mother's Day and I will buy one for my newly married son who loves to cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful bread book!

    "Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day" is a great introduction to bread baking for either veteran or novice cook. The recipe for the basic bread dough is simple and easy-to-follow; it produced a great loaf of bread the first time I tried it (and every time since). The writing is simple, direct, and highly readable; directions are clear, complete, and unmistakable (As a retired book editor, I was impressed with the quality of both authorship and production.) The authors are to be commended for their development of this revolutionary and user-friendly baking system. This book would be an excellent gift to anyone who enjoys a good, fresh loaf of bread.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    Must-have bread-making book

    This book makes bread making an easy, weekly or bi-weekly event. The recipes are easy to follow and the explanations of why they work are very helpful. I highly recommend this as your number one bread making book (there are some sweets in here too!)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Bread Book

    The recipes in this book have enabled me to make the best bread ever at home. I had never been able to produce a crust like this before...truly an artisan bread. Also, the techniques are very simple. After purchasing it I went back to buy it's sister book, Healthy Breads in Five Minutes, & am eager to try it. We have many bread books in our collection, but this is the best yet. There's no reason to buy breads with preservatives when you can bake them so easily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Great bread book

    This book shows a different approach to bread making, which is much less work than traditional methods. The process has allowed me to bake a small amount of bread each day, which is fresh and hot for our meals. I like the way the authors include information on how to vary the instructions for a particular desired outcome (crusty finish, chewy, soft, lots of texture, light & airy, etc.) Mixing the batter in the stand mixer and using it over a period of days is a huge time-saver. I have tried the light wheat, buttermilk and olive breads so far and they are excellent. My next efforts will be variations on the basic breads (cinnamon bread, pizza, etc.). I would strongly recommend this book to those of you who enjoy baking bread and are looking for an efficient method, which allows you to bake as little or as much at a time as you wish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5