BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery That Revolutionizes Home Baking

Average Rating 4
( 161 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-...
I was always afraid to bake bread. I thought you needed to be a magician to bake a fabulous loaf of bread. This book teaches you that ANYONE can make fabulous bread and the recipes are easy to follow. Thank you for writing a book in every day language to empower non-bakers to become empowered bakers!

posted by Anonymous on November 30, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very easy, but

I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter...
I found his technique extremely easy to follow. However, the results left something to be desired. The bread failed to develop sufficient gluton and therefore the crumb suffered. I'll comtinue to stick with my go to bread books such as - Baking Artisan Bread and Peter Reinhart books.

posted by weezielo on February 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Best and easiest bread ever!

    Great book- I use it all the time as the bread is delicious and very simple to make

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Excellent

    I have been baking bread since I got this book, now trying the peasant version

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Great !

    Loved this book and now never buy bread at the store!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Easiest, best bread I've ever made

    I've been baking my own bread for years, and the methods described in this book have me producing the best bread I've ever made with the least effort. That "five minutes a day" is slightly exaggerated: with a little practice you're actually handling your bread for far less than five minutes. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2012

    Excellent recipes and easy to make daily

    If someone told me it was possible to make fresh bread daily in any sort of quick fashion, I would not have believed it but it is easy. To make the recipes takes only minutes and the best parts are not having to knead anything and really not having to watch over a raising process - mix, let the dough sit for two hours or the day - then use some or put it in the fridge and take out what you want when you want it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    THIS BOOK WORKS!!

    I have been baking great bread for decades, using tgings picked-up while working in a scratch-bake department of a grocery. My mother wanted to learn about making chewy, crusty bread to suit their tastes. I looked at this book, read all the reviews & decided AGAINST it, thinking it could not possibly come close to traditional. I decided to see a few recipes when I saw it on Nook, was talking to my husband, & bought it instead of sampling. OOPS.... but decided to try it since I owned it & IT WORKS PERFECTLY! I am hooked & now bake a small loaf several times a week. If you are experienced, you will love the quickness & ease; if you are a beginner, you will gain great skills & confidence. I recommend it fot everyone. I now don't even measure (& a few other tweeks I learned years ago.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    As Easy As It Is Addictive!

    I was skeptical when I bought this book with a Christmas gift card, and then hunkered down during a snow storm to play with bread recipes. For more than 6 months now, I have been baking all my own bread while juggling family and the long hours of a very demanding job. Some evenings, I feel like the one thing I can accomplish when I get home is baking a fresh loaf of bread, or mixing up a new batch of dough in my trusty bucket. The results are spectacular! My family and I often pass on bread when we do go out to eat, because it's nowhere near as good as what we're baking at home. No need for sourdough starter either, as my dough naturally acquires that "sour" flavor.

    I do deviate a bit from the main technique in the book, esp when making a "boule" or round loaf of dough. Instead of the baking stone (which I use for pizzas and flatbreads, as well as long-shaped loaves), I put the bread in a Dutch oven. It's easier than a stone and pan of water below. Rather than use a pizza peel, I just shape the loaf on a piece of parchment paper, and then drop the paper w/ dough directly into the Dutch oven or slide it with a baking sheet off onto the stone. I can't say enough for how much I love this book and the fresh bread we're baking!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book that is easy to use.

    I have been a bread baker for many years. In the past I have baked bread from scratch and have used a bread machine. My family loves homemade breads and it is so much cheaper and better for us that we rarely purchase store bought breads. I purchased this book because I thought it would be fun to try and I am so glad that I did. I have been making our breads, rolls, and pizza crusts for many years so I am well aware of the time that is involved in this process.

    What I love about the 5 minute artisan bread method is that I have prepaired dough already for me to turn into whatever my heart desires. It really is a huge time saver it takes me less than 5 minutes to mix up a master loaf. There is some more time involved than 5 minutes in this way of making bread but it is not much. It takes about 1-2 minutes to shape a loaf and then you have to let it rise and bake it. The rising and baking do not require me to stand and watch it so I really don't consider it taking any time. I can be cooking dinner, doing the dishes, or any of the other hundreds of things busy people do.

    I have tried making rolls, free formed loafs, loafs in a bread pan, pizza and the cinnamon rolls with great success. They all had a wonderful crisp crust with a light moist texture inside the loafs, and the cinnamon rolls were the best I have ever baked. My husband loves the pizza the crust is so crisp yet the center is chewy. The key is to use the baking stone. We like a lighter less dense bread so I usually let the bread raise longer than called for in the book. That being said the amount of oven spring is quite surprising.

    The book is easy to follow and I the recipies I have tried have been quite tasty. I will be getting their second book healthy breads in 5 minutes a day to add to my collection. I would also suggest this book to friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    This is an excellent book. Easy to use and lots of great techniques.

    I am so glad I found a cookbook like this one. You can have the same quality that you would get from the store in your own home. Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Husbands Choice

    Husband bought the book to make break on our boat and it works!!!! He is in the galley and I get the wonderful smells up above!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Very good book!

    I have just discovered this book, and am REALLY enjoying it - have made several types of bread, but I keep going back to the Master Boule recipe. Since I am currently working 2 jobs, I don't have a lot of time to deal with bread rising, kneading, etc. - and this fits the bill perfectly. Strongly recommend this book to both newbie and experienced bakers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    Best cook book I have

    I have not bought bread since I got this book. It is so easy. I have it on my nook and LOVE it. Makes making bread for my family of 5 so easy and rewarding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    Great Bread!

    I will never buy a loaf of bread again!

    If you are a bread-lover, this is for you! The bread recipes are simple, easy to follow, and result in incredibly delicious fresh bread. See the picture on the front of the book? Well, you can make bread that looks exactly like that - and many other types of loaves.

    Buy this book and have fresh-baked bread in minutes.

    Did I mention that I liked it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Very Comprehensive, Well-Organized Book

    I love this book. It is laid out in a methodical way that takes the reader through the authors' thought process. I found the instructions very easy to follow and the results are fantastic. I had no trouble at all with the master recipe and am going on to the peasant breads. I love the background detail about the breads included. This is a "cookbook" well worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Must have!

    I am very glad I ordered two books as I intend one as a gift. We have had fresh bread almost every day since I received the book. Very well presented and each step is easy to understand. I'm looking forward to trying each type of dough recipe. There are quite a few recipes for soups, salads and even fish soup that look very enticing as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Great book to own

    I bought one for myself and then my Mom. We are both avid cooks but I also got some who don't cook much to bake bread. Very easy technique.
    Bread for dummies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2010

    Even I can bake bread!!!

    This book is awesome! A friend had recommended it, but I was skeptical...now I bake bread all the time! I am on my third batch of dough, and have had success with every loaf. The book gives good, detailed directions. Would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2009

    Great book!

    Wonderful for people who are busy, but love to bake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2009

    Gotta have it!

    Imagine bread that's truly, no fooling easy. That's it. You mix it, let it rise, put it in the fridge and pull out dough when you want hot fragrant crusty artisan bread (no 'feeding' it or any such complexity). The mix makes four loaves and is good for 10 days. Olive bread gets you hooked. This is my favorite cookbook. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    It really works.

    I've baked homemade bread before from scratch and with a machine, but these recipes are easier and turn out great. I takes less time than using a bread machine because I only mix dough once, in a few minutes, for fresh loaves for a week or two, and clean-up is easier. My family loves it as we try the different varieties and improvise variations to go with different foods. It is so simple with basic ingredients, everyone could make themselves fresh, inexpensive delicious bread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5