BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Aruba: The Tragic Untold Story of Natalee Holloway and Corruption in Paradise

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Not much, and too soon

    With the attention of the Aruban and American (FBI) investigators having shifted back to certain Alabama-based trip participants, this recital of the father's on-Aruba efforts to assign culpability to Aruba and Arubians is premature, and will fatally flaw the book if these Americans are charged with involvement in whatever befell the author's daughter. While one can understand the rush to capitalize on the mystery before it gets dated, the ongoing investigation, now focused outside of Aruba, may make the contents of this book meaningless and redundant.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Wow

    This is really sad because she was my sister and it really hurt me to know that she was killed she is gone but not forgotten love you sis :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2013

    this is a good read if you followed the natalee Holloway case. t

    this is a good read if you followed the natalee Holloway case. this book is written by dave holloway natalee's father.
    he describes the heart wrenching search for his beautiful daughter and the shortcomings of the aruban police. 
    It's very easy to follow if you followed the case. i can't imagine the pain that the family has gone through, its 2013 and her body has never been recovered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    <3

    <3 I have to read this..i saw the movie..it's a true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Awsome

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Sad,tragic but preventable

    I have vacationed in Aruba. This is a beautiful place, BUT not america.I saw lots of teens unsupervised doing risky things..these girls needed more supervision period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A story of a wretched father's love and concern-fantastic novel!

    Aruba: The Tragic Untold Story of Natalee Holloway is a loving novel written by Natalee's wretched father. During a senior trip, Natalee had been out with some friends at a local bar where she met a young man by the name of Joran van der Sloot. The night came to an end and her friends saw her leave with him and a few other strange men. That was the last time Natalee was seen. As soon as word got home that Natalee had disappeared, her family flew out to Aruba to begin an investigation.and investigation that seemed never ending. Aruban government was of little help, so they were mainly on their own in the search. Leads came in, emails from possible eye witnesses that saw what happened to Natalee were presented, but most turned out useless. Her family still proceeded with the investigation, though. What happened to Natalee in the end? Is she currently alive or are her whereabouts unknown? Read this emotional novel of a father's love and concern for his teenage daughter to discover the truth.
    I personally found this book very enjoyable for many reasons. From the beginning, I have followed this story because it's not every day a teenage girl from Alabama goes missing in a foreign place such as Aruba. All you see on the news, though, is the cover up...the stuff news teams think you want to hear. This novel is so interesting because it delves deep into the heart of Natalee's father and you get to see how he and the family really felt throughout this whole ordeal. It is kind of a slow read though, so if you aren't the kind of person who likes all the information in between the beginning and end, this definitely isn't for you. Also, I would only say this is appropriate for children and adults 14 years plus, based on content and difficult material. In the end though, this book was a great read and once you start, you can't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    Book is only to make money...

    Dissapointed.... Looking only to cash out on his daughters tragedy!! Not as pure and full of love as the mother's book about the ordeal. Should have charged a tenth of the cost to show that this book wasn't about deepening his pockets.
    I hope that peace and closure to someday be found for the whole family... I enjoy the thought of the people responsible for her death be suffering from guilt for the rest of their lives. My prayers go out to the whole Halloway family and hope that justice shall someday be blessed apon them for Natalie's sake....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    A Must Read !!!!

    I had a hard time putting this book down . I have watched this story on the news from the begining.I had to get the book. My heart goes out to the family and hope that someday they will have peace. They deserve this!! Reading this book put me in her fathers shoes. I was really frustrated with aruba's police with the cat and mouse game.Mr. Holloway just wants answers.Just like anybody would be wanting in this situation.There is someone out there somewhere that knows the truth about what happened to her. It's a good eye opener for anyone going out of the country. I would have never guessed that it could happen over there. It also explains very well how different their government really is. May the Holloway's Get Justice!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Sad that Natalee got lost but not true about Aruba Our Happy Island

    I live in Aruba and Aruba is and will always be a happy island! don't blame Aruba for something that an Arubian did not do! The Goverment gave the whole island 2 days to search for Natalee, my boyfriend & brother are cops they went from 7am to search for her and came back 9pm they walked the whole day in the hot and in the son. Everywhere you go there is violance even in the U.S people got lost and they never found them! The Americans must see that the persons that were last seen with Natalee are not Arubians and that It's not the Arubians or Aruba's fault that she got lost! I know It hurts I have a son and I don't want bad things to happen to him but not all of us are bad people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    DuhDave

    Is the only reason you wrote a book: 1) fast money? 2) to one-up the X wife? It sure isn't because there are facts. Aruba did a lot for you and the drunken Twittys, but still you slap Aruba? Ask the FRIENDS in Alabama what happened to her.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Still Can't Believe It

    I could barely put this book down. I, too kept thinking she was going to be found by the turning of the last page. I still can not understand how this could have happened...all the corruption within the government. I don't know how Natalee's parents were able to keep their composure and accomplish searches and investigating on their own, since they weren't given any assistance from the Police when the arrived on Aruba that day. I think about this story often and hope that Natalee will be found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Great Book about a Father's Loss of His Daughter

    Book was an easy read and hard to put down. I have covered the case thoroughly from the beginning and as a person who has had two sets of family members who have suffered losses of loved ones to murder I can relate to what the Holloways and Twittys are experiencing. I pray for this case to be solved despite the huge odds that are against that happening. I hope Beth will write a book based on the notes she has kept. I also hope these families pursue truth and justice until they obtain the justice Natalee deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    New York Times Best Seller!

    Great book! Suggests all the possibilites about what may have happened. Gets into the details of corruption on that island. What a tragedy for the family!! A definite must read, especially for crime buffs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!

    I visited Aruba last year and was extremely interested to read this book. I cannot imagine what it is like for the family to not have any closure on the disappearance of their daughter. I agree that Natalee's story should not be forgotten. You must keep the story alive. I kept reading the book hoping and thinking that by the end she would be found. I believe she will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Wonderful Book

    Absolutely heart wrenching story...great book...well-written, very informative....I am so glad to finally get the real story from the person who lived it. Thanks Dave for sharing with us. Our hearts go out to you and your family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    A true Fathers love!!

    Dave has reached deep down and given us a real look a Natalee. What those boys has done may never be known. I suspect Aruba has more to cover up than this crime. Only time will tell if Aruba will finally admit they screwed up and make it right in the end. I have my doubts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Already outdated....wrong timing

    This is a sad story, but the timing is WRONG for this book. Usually a book like this would be written some years later...this book is nothing but a rehash straight from the cable news shows of a few months ago. New developments make it already dated and useless. It is very poorly written, cliches, and tho I am sure this poor man is in pain, the poor writing makes it flat and stilted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Useless

    I feel really sorry for Dave but wish he would have waited for a few more mnths before coming out with such a premature book based largely on rumors and speculation by his own admission.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Beware of Aruba giving phony reviews!..

    This book says it all! Dave Holloway gives a portion of the proceeds to the Natalee Holloway Foundation for missing persons. This book is truly the untold story and a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2