Customer Reviews for

Aruba: The Tragic Untold Story of Natalee Holloway and Corruption in Paradise

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Wow

    This is really sad because she was my sister and it really hurt me to know that she was killed she is gone but not forgotten love you sis :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    <3

    <3 I have to read this..i saw the movie..it's a true story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Awsome

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    A Must Read !!!!

    I had a hard time putting this book down . I have watched this story on the news from the begining.I had to get the book. My heart goes out to the family and hope that someday they will have peace. They deserve this!! Reading this book put me in her fathers shoes. I was really frustrated with aruba's police with the cat and mouse game.Mr. Holloway just wants answers.Just like anybody would be wanting in this situation.There is someone out there somewhere that knows the truth about what happened to her. It's a good eye opener for anyone going out of the country. I would have never guessed that it could happen over there. It also explains very well how different their government really is. May the Holloway's Get Justice!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2006

    Still Can't Believe It

    I could barely put this book down. I, too kept thinking she was going to be found by the turning of the last page. I still can not understand how this could have happened...all the corruption within the government. I don't know how Natalee's parents were able to keep their composure and accomplish searches and investigating on their own, since they weren't given any assistance from the Police when the arrived on Aruba that day. I think about this story often and hope that Natalee will be found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Great Book about a Father's Loss of His Daughter

    Book was an easy read and hard to put down. I have covered the case thoroughly from the beginning and as a person who has had two sets of family members who have suffered losses of loved ones to murder I can relate to what the Holloways and Twittys are experiencing. I pray for this case to be solved despite the huge odds that are against that happening. I hope Beth will write a book based on the notes she has kept. I also hope these families pursue truth and justice until they obtain the justice Natalee deserves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2006

    New York Times Best Seller!

    Great book! Suggests all the possibilites about what may have happened. Gets into the details of corruption on that island. What a tragedy for the family!! A definite must read, especially for crime buffs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2006

    Couldn't put it down!

    I visited Aruba last year and was extremely interested to read this book. I cannot imagine what it is like for the family to not have any closure on the disappearance of their daughter. I agree that Natalee's story should not be forgotten. You must keep the story alive. I kept reading the book hoping and thinking that by the end she would be found. I believe she will be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2006

    Wonderful Book

    Absolutely heart wrenching story...great book...well-written, very informative....I am so glad to finally get the real story from the person who lived it. Thanks Dave for sharing with us. Our hearts go out to you and your family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    A true Fathers love!!

    Dave has reached deep down and given us a real look a Natalee. What those boys has done may never be known. I suspect Aruba has more to cover up than this crime. Only time will tell if Aruba will finally admit they screwed up and make it right in the end. I have my doubts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Beware of Aruba giving phony reviews!..

    This book says it all! Dave Holloway gives a portion of the proceeds to the Natalee Holloway Foundation for missing persons. This book is truly the untold story and a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    Exposing the Truth

    Dave Holloway's book gives us an inside view of what parents, friends, family have to go through in a foreign country if someone they love disappears. In this case, the focus is on Natalee Holloway who is a young, beautiful eighteen-year-old that went with her classmates to celebrate after graduating from high school with honors and had a bright future ahead of her. Rather than bringing us closer to knowing or understanding how Natalee vanished, it exposes the underbelly of a corrupt country that is ruled by unscrupulous polis and nobody seems to be able to stop them - not even their own mother country, Holland. I couldn't put the book down, it's an easy read, the pages smoke with information, intrigue and heartbreak. It's an important book for anyone who travels, vacations,or visits a foreign country because you learn that there is no protection from your own country when you travel to places like Aruba. The book exposes a need for change. You won't be disappointed in the poignant and well told events of what a father and his family went through and still goes through trying to find his missing daughter while those who are culpable are free. The story demonstrates that there is a fine line between goodness and evil in this world and the loss of innocence with the exposure of the dark secrets that one tiny island has held at bay from the world are no longer tolerated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    Great Job Dave!!!

    Unreal all the corruption and heartache Natalee's family has to endure and face searching for their daughter. Dave tells it like is about this one 'happy' island. We pray for Natalee and her family daily. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2006

    Great Book

    This book is so true in my opinion! I think all the bright people out there would agree, and for all the people who do not think something bad happened to her in Aruba should load up and take there family to Aruba and see what it's really like!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Truth

    The truth is far from known, yet this brave father writes all about it, presuming to know another country's law and how it works. Sort of a shameful exploitation? You be the judge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    What a tragedy....

    As one of Natalee's childhood best friends, I am so glad Dave decided to write this book. Natalee was and is a wonderful, brillant, and beautiful young lady. I support the Holloway family and their quest for their daughter 100%! These parents have put their heart and soul into finding their beloved daughter and they deserve a ton of respect. Aruba is corrupt and there is no rhyme or reason for the way they have treated the Holloway family. Thank you Dave for writing this book and giving us an insight from your point of view!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2006

    Great book

    I have read the book and I think it`s very interesting.Very compact and readable, even for me. Good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Unfair Treatment

    I applaud the fact that this caring father doesn't want Natalee's story to be forgotten!! We need to keep it fresh in everyone's mind. We don't need to let this be another case that people forget about as time goes on. It is still an unsolved case and anything that helps the Holloway's is important to me. My prayers and thoughts are with the family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    My heart goes out to Dave and his family!

    I'm so glad that I'll be able to read about what happened from the family's perspective. It's such a tragedy and with all the rumors going around, who knows better than Natalee's father what really happened? I can't wait to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2006

    Any American And Parent should Buy & Read !!!

    As A parent and and an American, I have followed this story, became Embrased,by it's Innocence,and it's horror! I Think There should be Laws protecting Us when we are visiting other countries,as tourist *WE ARE INCOME* usually over 70% of that Certain Region! are we just an Almighty Dollar at the hand-of-thiefs,and Prey-at the mercy-of Killers?, With their own Laws! Governing us??..I Think We Should Stand Up! As A Nation 4 Natalee !!! and for ONE-get her Back!-Demand Answers!..Exspect results!And interfere,as some call it..When You can't get results from your Govt. to help you,(Let them know),She's-(MIA)-Missing In Aruba!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2