Customer Reviews for

As Easy as Falling Off the Face of the Earth

Average Rating 3
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Loved the Writing

I didn't know much about this book. The description doesn't give much away. What I found in the book was a fun read about a summer gone wrong for one highly entertaining family.

Ry is supposed to be off to summer camp. He gets a note telling him not to come to camp, ...
I didn't know much about this book. The description doesn't give much away. What I found in the book was a fun read about a summer gone wrong for one highly entertaining family.

Ry is supposed to be off to summer camp. He gets a note telling him not to come to camp, camp no longer exists. When he jumps off his train real quick to try to find a cell connection, the train takes off without him. His parents are no help. They are off on a Caribbean trip dealing with problems of their own. His Grandpa is back at home house sitting with the two dogs. But he has fallen and hit his head, and is now suffering from short-term amnesia. Oh yea, and the dogs ran away. So Ry is all on his own with no one to know he is missing. Luckily he meets Del. A different but nice man that helps Ry through all the craziness.

The story is mainly in Ry's perspective, but we also see the other three stories throughout. The dogs story was told with short illustrations, which I found amusing. Ry was a solid main character. He made you want to follow along on his crazy journey. Del was a very important character. Without him, Ry on his own would have felt more scary. But the comfort and kindness he brought kept the story fun and humorous.

The best part of the story by far was the writing style. It's wry and witty and moving all at the same time. I loved the way she puts her sentences together. Perkins made every character lovable and realistic to me. Even the dogs!

My only complaint would be getting to the ending, I grew impatient waiting for everything to come together. I wanted to see all the separate stories tie together, and that seemed to drag a bit. But that could just be me being the impatient person I am. :)

As Easy As Falling Off the Face of the Earth was an easy and enjoyable read that had me laughing out loud. A perfect lazy summer read. This is my first book from Perkins, and I will be reading more from her for sure.

posted by YA-Addict on May 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

horrible book

this book is terrible. i am going to list things that are better than this book:
1 staring at a wall
2 being mortally wounded
3 being forced to eat brussel sprouts
fthis is just a few things but believe me the list could be long lets just say save your money, and s...
this book is terrible. i am going to list things that are better than this book:
1 staring at a wall
2 being mortally wounded
3 being forced to eat brussel sprouts
fthis is just a few things but believe me the list could be long lets just say save your money, and spend your time doing something else.

posted by 5964300 on January 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved the Writing

    I didn't know much about this book. The description doesn't give much away. What I found in the book was a fun read about a summer gone wrong for one highly entertaining family.

    Ry is supposed to be off to summer camp. He gets a note telling him not to come to camp, camp no longer exists. When he jumps off his train real quick to try to find a cell connection, the train takes off without him. His parents are no help. They are off on a Caribbean trip dealing with problems of their own. His Grandpa is back at home house sitting with the two dogs. But he has fallen and hit his head, and is now suffering from short-term amnesia. Oh yea, and the dogs ran away. So Ry is all on his own with no one to know he is missing. Luckily he meets Del. A different but nice man that helps Ry through all the craziness.

    The story is mainly in Ry's perspective, but we also see the other three stories throughout. The dogs story was told with short illustrations, which I found amusing. Ry was a solid main character. He made you want to follow along on his crazy journey. Del was a very important character. Without him, Ry on his own would have felt more scary. But the comfort and kindness he brought kept the story fun and humorous.

    The best part of the story by far was the writing style. It's wry and witty and moving all at the same time. I loved the way she puts her sentences together. Perkins made every character lovable and realistic to me. Even the dogs!

    My only complaint would be getting to the ending, I grew impatient waiting for everything to come together. I wanted to see all the separate stories tie together, and that seemed to drag a bit. But that could just be me being the impatient person I am. :)

    As Easy As Falling Off the Face of the Earth was an easy and enjoyable read that had me laughing out loud. A perfect lazy summer read. This is my first book from Perkins, and I will be reading more from her for sure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    horrible book

    this book is terrible. i am going to list things that are better than this book:
    1 staring at a wall
    2 being mortally wounded
    3 being forced to eat brussel sprouts
    fthis is just a few things but believe me the list could be long lets just say save your money, and spend your time doing something else.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Blah

    Ugg..... i didnt really like this book that much

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Pure adventure

    Its such a wonderful book you should defonatly try the sample first and see if its your type if book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    I dont know

    I think she has good writing,but from the way the book was described to the girl who would rather stare at a brick wall than read it again,I will probably NOT be reading it:).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Nice

    Very interesting and intrugining

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Pretty good

    The book wasnt the best book ive read or a favorite but hey, in the end you will be glad u read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by John Jacobson aka "R.J. Jacobs" for Teens Read Too

    Ry is going to a camp for the summer. He's set to leave on a train, bound for the ArcheoTrails program. Until he's not. Ry got off the train to make a call to his grandfather, who is home babysitting the family pets, and the train began to move. Without him. Trying and failing to catch up to the train, Ry's journey began. To somehow get home to his grandfather, who isn't picking up the phone, or to contact his parents, who are sailing around the islands somewhere. Along the way, he meets Del, a kind man who has his own reasons for taking a detour around the country, and who quickly builds a bond of friendship with young Ry. AS EASY AS FALLING OFF THE FACE OF THE EARTH is Lynne Ray Perkins' second novel for teens, and portrays the same breezy, poetic style that CRISS CROSS used to win the hearts of readers everywhere. Alternating chapters between the story of Ry, his forgetful grandfather, his direction-challenged parents, and comics detailing the lives of the two family dogs, Perkins crafts a fun little story that will appeal to middle grade readers. The characters of this novel are what make it shine. Ry is a great male protagonist who has quiet yet focused goals, but is still an adolescent and unsure of the decisions that he should make. The trip changes him in many ways that readers will come to appreciate, and was my favorite part of the novel. Ry's grandfather is a little more eccentric, and isn't in the picture much. Readers will be concerned for his character, but will not connect with him on the same level as Ry. The same is very true for Ry's parents, as well. Del, another one of the many adult characters populating Perkins' novel, is a step up from Ry's relatives and is enjoyable and very three-dimensional with the romantic past he slowly reveals to Ry throughout the course of the book. However, readers of all kinds will probably enjoy the comics featuring the family dogs the most. They were particularly funny and well-written animals. Ms. Perkins first captured me with her writing in CRISS CROSS, which was one of my favorite middle grade love story books a few years back, and it was just as strong in her sophomore novel. However, readers will find her unfocused plot a lot less appealing this time around. Ry's quest is interesting, but not very meaningful until the end, and many parts lag because of this. Nonetheless, it makes for a great book, especially for younger readers, and they will be enraptured by the delightfully elegant prose of Lynne Rae Perkins.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Please help

    How is the book? Should i read it? Is it worth it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Terrible

    Horribly boring. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Awful summary

    I dont even know what the fricken book is bout!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Read this

    This was a terrible book at first but when del came in it was amazing. Every thing was against ry for some reason. Overall this was a fantastic book. Please read it when you have a chance. You will love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    An Okay Book

    Its a book of adventures made possible by mistakes. Everything that can possibly go wrong for the pair, does go wrong. I reccomend this book to anyone looking for a tale of adventure and mishap. To some thi may seem a cheesy review but I am just giving you a taste of the book before buying. If you don't like this review please keep your opinion to yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2011

    Read the other reviews

    I read the other reviews but i've all ready read the book and im glad i did because i liked this book alot, confusing in the beggining but interesting. Mybe a little dry but i like it. 4 stars! The rest of you are crazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Book of Catastrophes

    Lynne Rae Perkins' book As Easy As Falling Off the Face of the Earth begins with a catastrophe and keeps on going. Here are the three main ones (although there are many more):

    1. Ry is on his way from Wisconsin to a hiking camp. The train he is on suddenly stops in the middle of nowhere. He gets off the train (against the conductor's warning) to make a call but his cell phone has no reception, so he starts moving further away from the train. Of course, at that point the train starts moving and he is left in the middle of nowhere.
    2. Ry's grandfather, Lloyd, is staying at Ry's house to take care of the dogs while Ry and his parents (see item 3 below) are away. While walking the dogs, he trips and hits his head. He's unconscious for a while and when he awakens, he has amnesia. In addition, the dogs have wandered off.
    3. Ry's parents are cruising the Caribbean on a dream vacation. They lose their cell phone and are basically incommunicado and know nothing of Ry's and Lloyd's predicaments. They also have their own problems to contend with.

    The main story concerns Ry, who wanders into a nearby town and meets the town's do-gooder, Del. Del decides to drive Ry home to Wisconsin (from Montana) and when they arrive, Lloyd is still nowhere to be found. So they then decide to find Ry's parents in whatever island they happen to be on-an implausible strategy, in my mind.

    My personal feeling is that the story of Ry and Del and the adventures they have on their road trip would have been an excellent story. The addition of Lloyd's and Ry's parents' trials and tribulations just muddle the works. As I mentioned earlier, there is catastrophe after catastrophe.
    If Perkins was trying to be humorous, the humor was lost on me. If she was trying to be serious, it was just too much.

    Having said all that, I do like the way Perkins writes. Her use of language is excellent. You can visualize every location and every event. I like the main characters, Ry, Del and his friends, Yulia who is Del's love interest. I like the adventures they experience, especially with Carl, the driver with alzheimers disease and cataracts, who can barely see the road, and who picks them up as they are hitchhiking. As a road trip book, without the catastrophes that Perkins uses as catalysts for the action, this could be a 4 or even 5 star book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1