Customer Reviews for

As I Lay Dying: The Corrected Text

Average Rating 4
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

As I Lay Dying

Faulkner's As I Lay Dying is an outstanding book, however, it is extremely confusing. My English teacher, who required that we read the book our freshmen year in high school, told us that it's usually a book meant for grad students to read. The book is confusing, but Fa...
Faulkner's As I Lay Dying is an outstanding book, however, it is extremely confusing. My English teacher, who required that we read the book our freshmen year in high school, told us that it's usually a book meant for grad students to read. The book is confusing, but Faulkner's style is unique and will definitely influence your own. His novel requires readers to stop and judge characters, it is necessary to constantly analyze. This is an excellent read for budding writers such as myself, because his style has had so much of an impact on my own. Read it not for enjoyment, because it is boring, but for the improvement of your own writing! It'll improve it so much, you'll notice it yourself.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Not worth it.

All I have to say is that this book is not enjoyable. The writing style is horrid in the present-tense it takes. This plot is not linear which add to the confusion, and then you are reading from someone else's point of view every two pages. It's a book you have to stop ...
All I have to say is that this book is not enjoyable. The writing style is horrid in the present-tense it takes. This plot is not linear which add to the confusion, and then you are reading from someone else's point of view every two pages. It's a book you have to stop every chapter and think about. You can get what it is saying, but just because you can comprehend it doesn't mean it gets any better. The story moves at a pace that is almost standing still. I tend to like books where it will keep you up at night because you want to know what happens next. Instead, this book will have your mind wandering from place to place because you don't really care what happens next. While some may say that this has "literary merit" I begin to question exactly what that means. Is literary merit writing that is actually involving and fun to read, or writing that is tedious and over-complicated? It's up to you I guess to decide what it is to you. I'm just giving you my opinion. I'd rather read something else.

posted by Revolver on April 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    As I Lay Dying

    Faulkner's As I Lay Dying is an outstanding book, however, it is extremely confusing. My English teacher, who required that we read the book our freshmen year in high school, told us that it's usually a book meant for grad students to read. The book is confusing, but Faulkner's style is unique and will definitely influence your own. His novel requires readers to stop and judge characters, it is necessary to constantly analyze. This is an excellent read for budding writers such as myself, because his style has had so much of an impact on my own. Read it not for enjoyment, because it is boring, but for the improvement of your own writing! It'll improve it so much, you'll notice it yourself.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth The Read

    When reading Faulkner, you always wonder whether the book doesn't make sense or if you are just not as intellectual as is he. I like to think I'm not as intelluctual so my brain is stiumlated by the endless meaning and layers within his books. As I Lay Dying is not a happy story, but that is kind of evident within the title. The syntax and diction used is spectatcular. You find meaning in the way the text is written and the format of the words. In order to understand the novel, you have to read with a pencil in hand, underlining anything that seems important or significant because it most likely is signifcant. The characters are all narrators to the book. I believe, 17 total different point of views. The tricky part is figuring out whose story it is and what is the main theme. I always look at the book and try to figure out what is the meaning. As I Lay Dying gave me endless meanings and i loved being challenged to find them. Although it is simple with language and style, it is close to impossible to decipher the deeper meanings. You constantly second guess yourself because it is hard to know what is "the right answer." But after reading I felt accomplished, and dare i say, smart. There are so many meanings and none that probably come close to Faulkner's original message but it is worth discovering your own meaning to the story. I believe not only this book but all of his books give readers the opportunity to gain their own message within the text. Faulkner is brilliant and I recommend all his books. They are challenging and I believe are best with discussion groups just so you can hear what other meanings are found. I really enjoyed this book it is short, easy to read just hard to decipher bigger meaning. I find it challenging yet enjoyable. I hope you enjoy as much as I did :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    2 Down...11 More to go.

    So, I just finished reading "As I Lay Dying" this morning on my way to work. Let me start off saying that this is the second novel that I have read by William Faulkner. I became intrigued by Faulkner's works when a co-worker told me that "The Sound and The Fury" is frequently called one of the toughest novels to read, and he would be impressed if I finished it. So of course I read and somewhat followed it, and feel comfortable in saying that I enjoyed it. That said, starting with "The Sound and The Fury" made reading "As I Lay Dying" feel like a cake walk. I completely and totally enjoyed this novel, and would read it again as well as recommend it to friends. Now I feel prepared to take on more of his novels..next on my list is "Sanctuary".

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As I Lay Dying

    This is my first Faulker book and I now have promised myself to collect all of his books alog with Cormac McCarthy, Edgar Allen Poe, Ernest Hemingway, and F. Scott Fitzgerald. First of all, I love the whole plot and technique of this novel and all the characters are all amazing. I read one review that said that people say they like this book just to sound smart, but I thought to myself, maybe he/she just had trouble reading it and gave up. I had trouble with some parts of the book so I just read the spark notes after reading that one troubling section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Hey

    Hey, im looking for some sex. Anyone?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    DDDDDDDDDDDEEEEEEERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRPPPPPPPPPPPPPP

    TROLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Green eyes

    Die you evil scum! Well... Go to jail for ou wicked ways!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Officer Cori

    The police officer rushed in. "You're under arrest for se<e>x advertising in front of children," she said sternly, snapping a pair of handcuffs around Heather's wrists.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Heather

    Be descriptive with what youll do to me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Go to res seven

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Kind of confusing, but a good book

    I read this book as it was required for school. I found the narration confusing at times, as multiple different people tell the story. Some of them tend to make more sense than others. However, I enjoyed to concept of having multiple perspectives. It challenges the reader to consider the reliability of each speaker - why are they saying what they are, and who is the most honest? I did end up enjoying this novel, and would recommend it as long as you don't mind a bit of a challenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Incredible. No other way to describe it. If you understand it,

    Incredible. No other way to describe it. If you understand it, it will change the way you think about what a novel is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good Book, Critical Evaluation

    Norton does what it does best in this book - critiques almost every aspect of the book As I Lay Dying. Throughout the story, each character captures you in their own way, and without these characters, a huge bulk of the plot would be lost. Not only is the original As I Lay Dying book great on its own, the Norton Critical version gives the reader and critic alike many more options on analyzing and evaluating the text. This is a great book for teachers and students to use in the classroom in that it gives each person their own "teacher." Definitely a good read and a great addition to anyone's bookshelf. In my opinion, better than the original version. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a quality read, but it can become boring at points.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2008

    Book-work

    Read it in high school as an English AP requirement. Fell in love with it by the time I was done. Had read it three times before the class was over. Highly recommended for those who love to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2007

    An amazing book

    This is the 3rd novel I've ever read, and it is absolutely amazing. Just how it is written, and the story that is told. It's cool how you get the different point of views on everything because it is told from all of the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    My Favorite Book

    This is easily Faulkner¿s masterpiece. I¿ve read it a thousand times, at least, and I always find something new. The characters are beautifully detailed, and the plot is full of Faulkner¿s trademark twists and turns. It¿s not a casual Sunday read, but it¿s well worth the time. If you¿re a Faulkner fan, you won¿t be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2006

    Review of As I Lay Dying...

    As I Lay Dying, written by William Faulkner tells a tale of the Bundren family¿s journey to bury Addie, Darl¿s, Cash¿s, Jewel¿s, Vardaman¿s, and Dewey Dell¿s mother, as well as Anse¿s wife. The family faces much trouble, including crossing a submerged river, losing a whole team of mules, Darl (a son) burning a barn and then being sent to a mental institute, Dewey Dell (the daughter) hiding a pregnancy, and last but definitely not least, dealing with the stench of Addie¿s rotting body. However, over a period of 9 days, they finally find their way to the town in which Addie wished to be buried. The story is split into chapters that are narrated alternatively by each of the Bundren family, as well as several minor characters. Although this novel is at first complicated and boring to read because of Faulkner¿s complex writing, the story becomes fascinating once the reader gets the hang of it. Along the way, the family learns that they have little control over the dictates of their environments therefore, they must either adapt to the inevitable changes in their environments or bow to their fates. This helps the family that is completely disoriented in the beginning of the novel, come together and help each other. The family finally learns to adapt without Addie, the main educator and backbone of the Bundren family. This book is recommended because of the thorough analysis in character development and Faulkner¿s elaborate portrayal of death. The reader is quickly transported into the minds of the unstable Bundren family and is hooked till the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    greatness

    As I Lay Dying is William Faulkner¿s story of the Bundren family, who live in rural Mississippi. This book is set in the early 1900¿s and deals with the troubles the Bundrens go through while trying to bury Addie, mother to Cash, Darl, Jewel, Vardaman and Dewy Dell, and wife to Anse. The story takes place around the journey the family makes to Jefferson, where they are to bury Addie. At first I thought this novel was a little hard to read because Faulkner tells the story from every family member¿s point of view. Every chapter is told from a different family member¿s point of view including the family doctor and some of the neighbors. You might be turned off by this at first but as the book goes on you will see that Faulkner¿s unique writing style can be very interesting and fun to read. You will want to pay attention to the characters that aren¿t apart of the family Tull, Cora, and Peabody - neighbors and the family doctor, it is important to hear the perspectives of others that aren¿t apart of the family. As I Lay Dying has a very unique set up and it is very seldom that you have the opportunity to read a book like this. It is up to you to decide whether or not the choices some characters make or if their motives for making the journey are moral and wholehearted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2006

    Newly Hooked on Faulkner

    As I Lay Dying is perhaps the most frustrating, yet engrossing novel I have read to date. The style with which the story is told, in turn by each of 15 characters, is initially hard to get the hang of, but once you understand the confusion will soon make perfect sense, you cannot wait to read further. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Compelling read

    It was interesting how the story builds upon different perspectives. I found myself drawn to the characters in the end, though it was a little challenging to understand why I should be interested in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4