Customer Reviews for

As They See 'Em: A Fan's Travels in the Land of Umpires

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    It'll never be the same

    Since reading As They See 'Em I've watched several ball games on television. Something's very different now. It's just not just a game between two teams. It's a whole lot more. There is so much going on that wasn't visible to the naked eye before. The perspective from which one views a baseball game will be forever changed. It'll never be the same. That old addage about walking a mile in someone else's shoes...it's never been more applicable than when it comes to those of an umpire. I would have to admit that I can't be excluded from those of us who have yelled "You bum...whaddareya blind ?" at some point in time. As amazing as it would seem, most of those who actually play the game probably couldn't pass an exam on the it's rules. Really. With all of the finger pointing and kicking of sand, you would think that the players might know the rules of the game that they are payed millions of dollars to play. Not a player in the big leagues, in his wildest dreams, could ever approach the "batting average" of an umpire. Not even close. For the most part, umpires are, as they are taught, to be "ivisible" on the field. As you read about their training, drilling and on field experiences you'll see how, as Yogi Berra might say, "they're perfect until they're not". The next time you watch a major league game you'll see the umpires in an entirely different light. Very few have what it takes to join their ranks. Because of this book, you'll have so much more of an understanding of what they do. Every baseball fan NEEDS to read this book. After your "trip" through the making of a professional umpire, you'll be able to thoroughly enjoy watching a game. You'll probably still yell "Ah, ya bum" a few times here and there...but at least you'll know why your yelling.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    This book really educates the fan about umpiring. It is one of the only books out there on the subject. Weber does a great job of writing the story and some of the anecdotes are really funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    A good read

    This was a good book to read. The amount of reasearch put into this book was incredible. This book is not only good for umpires it is good for the fan looking to expand their knowledge. It shows you how hard it is to be an umpire and the amount of expertise they really have. This is one of the only books on umpiring. I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    Well researched and informative

    This was a fun book to read about a subject which is overlooked by sports fans. We know so little about the men to are so central to the game of baseball. This book combines reseach, life experiences, storytelling, dramatic moments, and personal tragedies and triumphs. I came away having been entertained and enlighthened. The writing is very good and pleasant to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Inside Baseball? IN Side Baseball!

    Very interesting read on the things you normally DON'T pay attention to when watching Baseball.

    Puts some things into perspective and changed the way I watch the game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Gotta' read this if you are a fan. Gotta' read this if

    Gotta' read this if you are a fan.
    Gotta' read this if you have or want to Umpire.
    Gotta' read this if you are a player.
    If you just want to understand what's it like to stand in someone elses shoes - you gotta' check it out.
    Did I mention - for a really good sports read - you gotta' read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    Great read!

    This is the perfect book for umpires at any level.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    Fantastic insight into the world of professional baseball umpiring.

    The author did a great job of being objective as he wove his way through the world of professional baseball umpiring. It was well written, and, as an amateur umpire myself, who attended one of Jim Evans' five day clinics, I found myself laughing and commiserating with Mr Weber's trials and tribulations.
    It amazes me at how much the owners and their commissioner lackeys these days do not like the Men in Blue. It's a shame.
    An excellent read for all umpires and anyone truly interested in just what it takes to be a baseball umpire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging

    I have to admit that as a Baseball fan, I haven't fully understood all of the aspects of the game with little to no understanding of umpires. I found this book educational, engaging and at times sympathetic. Umps are a rare breed - little glory for a difficult (chosen) role. Regardless of the call you have to respect what they do. Bruce Weber's writing is smooth and an easy read. Good book for the novice as well as the seasoned fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    Keep the title in mind

    This book is written by a reporter, not a former Major League umpire. Mr. Weber did attend, and apparently graduate from, the Jim Evans School of Umpiring. So, at least he has a similar experience with MLB umps. He did manage to glean some good information from current and past umpires, but there is a lot of information in the book which comes from umpires who did not want to be identified.

    If you have a friend or relative who is thinking of becoming a professional umpire, have them read this book. The best part of this book was learning that baseball team owners and league officials really do not support the people who are supposed to represent the league on the field. If baseball could be played without umpires, they would do it. That was the overall message I got out of the book.

    I am a current amateur umpire, and my son has talked about going to the umpire school and trying his hand at umpiring. I'm waiting a couple of years, then I'll have him read this, just so that he can make an informed decision. Mr. Weber does a great job of explaining the long road that MLB umpires must travel in order to get to umpire in the Majors. After reading this book, I am very happy that I did not take that career path some 20 years ago when I was seriously giving it some thought.

    If you are looking for a light baseball story with a bunch of funny anecdotes, this book is not it. It reads long, and Weber gets to droning on and on sometimes. You REALLY need to have a strong interest in umpiring to force yourself to read through some of the sections, but overall I did get something useful out of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2