Customer Reviews for

As You Wish

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

You Can't Wish for More.

Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpl...
Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpler approach: a girl. A high school student, months after a horrible break up, facing a destroyed self confidence, a lonely existance, and an art expo. Now give this girl three wishes, strict guidelines to use them, and her own jinn to make those wishes come true, and what do you get? Clue: Not a princess story. Not a Disney movie. Instead, debut author Jackson Pearce delivers a stunning, poignant novel about the power of choice and the importance of priority.

Set against the backdrop of a very average high school, the world proposed by Pearce is easy to fall into because it's nothing more than what it claims to be- a refreshing break from alternate worlds in wardrobes and rabbit holes. Everything about this book is absolutely refreshing, starting with its protagonist, Viola: she's a teen girl, and I refrain from saying average, because one beautiful aspect of this story is that it shows skillfully that in the world we live in, there is no average, because inside each person is a world of anxiety, emotions, hopes, doubts, and hormones that, combined, never equal the same concoction as any other person. Viola is heartbroken long before the story begins, and her ego is shattered; Pearce does a wonderful job of making it clear, without giving a lecture or pep talk, that Viola is only as beautiful and worthy of what she wants as she allows herself to be. Rather than going on a journey to discover how amazing she is, as most stories today seem to be, Viola's journey is a personal one, in which she discovers that she has the power to see herself for however she wants to, to make her own happiness or wallow in misery.

The story itself is about personal choice, setting it apart from your average fantasy and teen novel. Instead of trying to save the world or their lives, the characters are simply learning how to see themselves, and what they want for themselves, and what they will give up and do in order to keep their emotionally charged lives even- and hopefully tip the scales to happy. Possibly the best part of the story is that there is no set antagonist; rather, each character's personality and life situation makes for the setbacks in the story. What they must over come and defeat is entirely inside themselves, and at they same time, that is where they will find what will allow them to overcome these obstacles.

The rules of fantasy, the standard cycle of the monomyth, is presented in a different light in this satisfyingly-romantic-without-being-ridiculous tale, and in the end, the reader is left with not only a deep satisfaction that comes with finishing only the best of books, but also a new take on fiction, lesson needed in a literary world of instant-romance and magic wands: it is the choices we make, how we use our wishes and go after what we want, and not the power of magic or even love, that bind us together, build up our lives, or destroy us, our relationships, and our confidence.

As You Wish was a beautiful read, paced skillfully and written masterfully. Five well-earned stars.

posted by 1433112 on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ok...

Almost everyone who reviewed this book here is raving about it, so let me share my opinion.

The plot could have been executed well - but, like most pathetic teen reads, it wasn't. Written with an amateur sense of style, and absolutely no character development whatso...
Almost everyone who reviewed this book here is raving about it, so let me share my opinion.

The plot could have been executed well - but, like most pathetic teen reads, it wasn't. Written with an amateur sense of style, and absolutely no character development whatsoever. Seriously, it's a wonder why most teen books even make it past manuscript stage. The main character - or any character, for that matter - is boring, predictable, and not as exciting or adventurous as I would have expected from the description.

And God. Does every teen book - or most teen books? - have to involve the main character going to a party and getting drunk? And wanting a "hot guy"? Where's the class? Where's the originality? The imagination? Not here. :)

posted by Angeline_Walsh on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    You Can't Wish for More.

    Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpler approach: a girl. A high school student, months after a horrible break up, facing a destroyed self confidence, a lonely existance, and an art expo. Now give this girl three wishes, strict guidelines to use them, and her own jinn to make those wishes come true, and what do you get? Clue: Not a princess story. Not a Disney movie. Instead, debut author Jackson Pearce delivers a stunning, poignant novel about the power of choice and the importance of priority.

    Set against the backdrop of a very average high school, the world proposed by Pearce is easy to fall into because it's nothing more than what it claims to be- a refreshing break from alternate worlds in wardrobes and rabbit holes. Everything about this book is absolutely refreshing, starting with its protagonist, Viola: she's a teen girl, and I refrain from saying average, because one beautiful aspect of this story is that it shows skillfully that in the world we live in, there is no average, because inside each person is a world of anxiety, emotions, hopes, doubts, and hormones that, combined, never equal the same concoction as any other person. Viola is heartbroken long before the story begins, and her ego is shattered; Pearce does a wonderful job of making it clear, without giving a lecture or pep talk, that Viola is only as beautiful and worthy of what she wants as she allows herself to be. Rather than going on a journey to discover how amazing she is, as most stories today seem to be, Viola's journey is a personal one, in which she discovers that she has the power to see herself for however she wants to, to make her own happiness or wallow in misery.

    The story itself is about personal choice, setting it apart from your average fantasy and teen novel. Instead of trying to save the world or their lives, the characters are simply learning how to see themselves, and what they want for themselves, and what they will give up and do in order to keep their emotionally charged lives even- and hopefully tip the scales to happy. Possibly the best part of the story is that there is no set antagonist; rather, each character's personality and life situation makes for the setbacks in the story. What they must over come and defeat is entirely inside themselves, and at they same time, that is where they will find what will allow them to overcome these obstacles.

    The rules of fantasy, the standard cycle of the monomyth, is presented in a different light in this satisfyingly-romantic-without-being-ridiculous tale, and in the end, the reader is left with not only a deep satisfaction that comes with finishing only the best of books, but also a new take on fiction, lesson needed in a literary world of instant-romance and magic wands: it is the choices we make, how we use our wishes and go after what we want, and not the power of magic or even love, that bind us together, build up our lives, or destroy us, our relationships, and our confidence.

    As You Wish was a beautiful read, paced skillfully and written masterfully. Five well-earned stars.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A feel-good tale I couldn't put down.

    If you think this book looks cute, you're right--As You Wish is all kinds of adorable. On top of that, it's also funny, insightful, thrilling, and incredibly un-putdownable. Seriously. I finished it in just over a day and I already want to whirl through it again.

    As You Wish is told in alternating first person narration between Viola and Jinn. While the two viewpoints add more dimension to the story, I couldn't distinguish the two voices from one another. The plot, however, sucked me in so absolutely that I quickly got over this complaint and sat back to enjoy the story. The resulting single voice of Viola's and Jinn's near identical narration is appealing and enjoyable.

    At the opening of As You Wish, it's been just over seven months since Viola's childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Lawrence, informed Viola that he was gay and broke up with her. While Viola and Lawrence are still close, Viola feels that she's become an "Invisible Girl" since the breakup--with Lawrence, she was special and felt like she belonged. Now, however, Lawrence is invited to parties and Viola gets to hear about them. She feels ignored and out of place and is obsessed with the idea of belonging--how do other people do it? How can she belong again?

    And then Jinn, a genie, walks into her life, offers her three wishes, and suggests she make them quickly.

    Jackson Pearce's cast of characters is irresistable--except for a few bad apples, I liked them all instantly. I had fun watching Viola and Jinn fall in love. I was happy when they were happy, and breathless with suspense when they encountered obstacles--I was so invested in the story I was practically biting my fingernails, and I don't usually do that. The ending is satisfying, but not exactly what I expected. As You Wish surprised me to the end.

    Beyond the plot, the depth of Viola's longing to be a part of the social tapestry around her and her blindness to what she already has adds an emotional angle to the novel that I believe many people, teenagers or not, can identify with. As You Wish is a little book with a lot to say.

    As far as PG-13 content, I can count the incidents of offensive language on one hand, and while alcohol and promiscuity make a few appearances, there's nothing even close to an R-rated scene, and nothing happens that the average teenager hasn't already read about or seen on TV--As You Wish is refreshingly clean without being unrealistic.

    As You Wish is a roller coaster ride of laughter, love, and suspense. It's a feel-good novel I couldn't put down, and I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ok...

    Almost everyone who reviewed this book here is raving about it, so let me share my opinion.

    The plot could have been executed well - but, like most pathetic teen reads, it wasn't. Written with an amateur sense of style, and absolutely no character development whatsoever. Seriously, it's a wonder why most teen books even make it past manuscript stage. The main character - or any character, for that matter - is boring, predictable, and not as exciting or adventurous as I would have expected from the description.

    And God. Does every teen book - or most teen books? - have to involve the main character going to a party and getting drunk? And wanting a "hot guy"? Where's the class? Where's the originality? The imagination? Not here. :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Left Me Wishing For More

    As You Wish is one of those books that you CAN'T put down until you finish it. It pulls you in quickly, has good pace, and develops characters fairly well. It's an interesting concept that weaves a beautiful story of friendship, finding yourself, and love. I highly recommend this book- it's the epitome of a feel-good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As You Wish

    As you wish is a delightful, endearing tale. It tugged at my heart, and made me smile and laugh in some places. It was a really quick read, but it held such meaning and promises in it. When Jinn had to leave, my heart called out to him and Viola. Their pain was so poignant, and Jackson displayed it so clearly. This book is one my new favorites. Thank you Jackson, for such a beautiful love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Couldn't put it down!

    Jackson Pearce's first book, As You Wish, has set the bar high! In alternating viewpoints, this book details the story of a teenage girl, Viola, who accidentally summons a genie, Jinn. Jinn must remain on Earth until Viola makes three wishes, and it's only after the first wish when they discover they have feelings for one another. Viola and Jinn are forced to make a choice- if she doesn't make all three wishes, the guardian of the genies will push her to wish by hurting the people she loves. But if she makes her three wishes, Jinn will leave her life forever.

    This book is full of beautiful details and scenes that will delight even the most reluctant reader. Jackson's vivid imagery makes the characters come alive. The book is great for middle-school age kids and the young at heart. I couldn't put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2014

    CAANT WAIT FOR SECOND BOOK!!!! This is the most passion filled love story about star crossed lovers i have ever read in my lifetime. Their treasured memories will forever live in my heart. This book is filled with love i cant wait to read a sequel.

    Viola and her lifetime best friend, former boyfriend, Lawrence, broke up with her leaving her broken. She makes a wish during Shakespeare class and everything changes when stranger boy shows up. He scouts her throughtout the day and appears in her room finally telling her he has to grant her three wishes. The more they spend time together....the more they talk and get to understand the other better. After the first wish to have what the popualer kids have they both realize they have feelings for one another. So Jinn the stranger boy calls in an old friend to press her into making the other two wishes out of his hurt and regrets it. When the second wish is granted they are first are on not speaking terms but soon later she fixes the outcome of first wish and the girl the second wish was for had her life greated. By this time Lawrence, Jinn, and Viola are all friends while Jinn is still hiding the feelings for her and she too is trying to hide feelings. But soon the thrid wish is granted by force of the press and Jinn was forced to go leaving her alone...havung forgotten about him the moment he left after kissing her. But this foes not end in sad feeling the two are united in the most passionate loving climax i have ever dreamed of reading about. Sure she did not remember the strangrr at first but after he brought her roses and brought back the treasured filled memories she quickly embraced him ss more than an old friend. They kissed under the stars with all the love they held for the other. This book will forever be the showstopper of all the books i have read. I keep rereading this book to experience this passion filled love story of star crossed lovers all over again i hope Jackson Pierce writes a sequel on how is their happily ever after.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    interesting

    I loved the begining,because I just liked how in the begining it made me wonder where the heck did he go?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    To All Of The Outsiders, Misfits and Invisibles, Make a wish.

    Viola's one true wish is to feel like she belongs again. Ever since her boyfriend/beast friend came out, her life has been going down hill. She is now one of the "invisibles" as she calls it. The people who are never seen or herd, the social outcasts. But after inadvertently calling a genie out in the middle of class, her life with the outcasts maybe over. And Viola is finding out that maybe all of the cheesy movies are right, maybe you have to be true to your self. But how do you do that if you don't know who you are?!?
    Talking about all the Social complexities of being a teen and finding where you belong, Jackson Pearce tells a great story about love, friendship and being you, in a world where no one know who you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cant Wish For More!

    I was sucked into this book so much, I didnt want to put it down! Viola is just your typical teen-age girl who suffered the worst kind of breakup imaginable and just wants to dissapear. Jinn is so perfect as the genie summoned to give Viola her three wishes and then go back to his own life in the otherworld. The characters are all so perfect and there are equal parts humor, friendship and romance. This is a book I will actually keep on my shelf and come back to again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    If you love books with Genie's then is the book for you. As you

    If you love books with Genie's then is the book for you. As you wish was such a great read. I started reading it and I just couldn't put it down. Jinn was an amazing genie. I'm glad he came back in the end of the book because Viola deserved her happy ending. I wouldn't mind if As You Wish had a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I READ YOUR REVIEW!

    I read yiur review about being yourself and i totally agree. I go to battle ground high school and i have a lot of preassure but i keep my head up and guys are truly like buses!haha! U inspire me anaomous! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Hello

    My name is monkey man and i want to know u r my frend if u rn't i will send my monkey man friends after u go get em monkey men

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Wishing For More "As You Wish"

    I was already a fan of Jackson Pearce before I read this book but when I finally did it made me fall in love with her style and ways with romance, drama, and her crafty knack of creating an addicitive plot line, mesmerizing (and hilarious) characters, and extensive use of detail that made me want to make this a permanent part of my literary life.
    READERS: Get ready for a world you never thought possible and the words that spin the worlds of both Earth and Caliban...
    *I wish*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love Love Love

    This is definitely one of my favorite books! I've read it four times and im not one to reread books. It has a fresh storyline and relatable characters. I love the relationship between Jinn, Viola, and Lawerence. I laughed several times in this book and I could feel the emotions the characters were portraying. Great read, definitely buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Beasttt.

    I literally finished this book in one day... It is just refreshing not having to deal with any new paranormal romance stories that almost all end up the same way...

    I enjoyed the plot & characters of the story. The only bad thing I would say about this is about how it ended!!!! Wrote a second book please... a girl.being the jinn this time!!(:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love it! <3

    This has to be my favorite book. I just love the characters and the way the author weaves the plot along. If I could rate this story higher, I would gove it 100 stars!! Jinn is an awesome character; I wish I had someone like Viola's friends, Lawrence and Jinn. It makes me wonder what people would do for love.... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Witty, hysterical, and hooking -- Pearce weaves a unique, riveting tale with vivid, very-alive prose. Through two points of view -- that of Viola, a human girl, and Jinn, an otherworldly wish granter -- this story is told perfectly.

    Pearce casts a full set of fantastic characters. I love every one of them. With her spellbinding stand-alone, Pearce puts magic in the air: an amazing book of self-discovery, coming-of-age, and being yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breanna F. for TeensReadToo

    When Viola's boyfriend and long-time close friend, Lawrence, breaks up with her, she's heartbroken. Ever since then, she's been silently wishing for someone to love her again so she can feel like she belongs once more. One day, all of her wishing summons up a genie named Jinn (well, technically that is not his name, just what he is called). He will stay around Viola until she makes three wishes, and will not leave any sooner than that. It is a Jinn's job to stick around once he has been assigned to a person until that person has made all of their wishes. At first, Viola is a bit creeped out about Jinn popping up everywhere, trying to get her to make a wish. But soon after Viola makes her first wish, she realizes something..she is in love with Jinn, and if she makes her last two wishes, he will disappear forever and she won't even remember him. Now, she has to do everything in her power not to make those last two wishes, especially by accident. But if the person doesn't make their three wishes, someone else comes in to push the person to make them so that the Jinn can move on. Pushing can involve anything, and soon Viola may be in danger... This was a really good book. It was pretty fast-paced and I finished it quickly. The book switches viewpoints from Viola to Jinn from chapter to chapter, so you get to read about them separately. I really liked being able to read about them that way. Throughout the story, I felt bad for Viola for not feeling like she belonged anymore, and then when she fell in love with Jinn I was afraid something bad would happen to her, but I couldn't really figure out what was going to happen in the end. I really liked the ending, though, and the rest of the book too, of course. Jackson Pearce is a great writer, and I can't wait to read more from her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Super!!!

    I got this book because I liked Pearce's book "Sisters Red" and I was pleasantly surprised. In a time period where the bookshelves are filled with vampire, werewolf, and angel stories, "As You Wish" breaks the mold. The story is about Viola, who feels she has become invisible to everyone in school since she broke up with her boyfriend. With a wish to fit in again, a jinn is sent to her to grant her three wishes, but she refuses to accept his help and decides to continue on with life as it is. However, for him to have any hope of returning to his perfect, timeless homeland, he has to convince her to use her wishes. After she finally makes her first wish, Viola's found that she's already used to the idea of the jinn being just a call away, so much so that she's hesitant to make her final wishes because doing so would mean losing him forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4