Customer Reviews for

As You Wish

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

You Can't Wish for More.

Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpl...
Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpler approach: a girl. A high school student, months after a horrible break up, facing a destroyed self confidence, a lonely existance, and an art expo. Now give this girl three wishes, strict guidelines to use them, and her own jinn to make those wishes come true, and what do you get? Clue: Not a princess story. Not a Disney movie. Instead, debut author Jackson Pearce delivers a stunning, poignant novel about the power of choice and the importance of priority.

Set against the backdrop of a very average high school, the world proposed by Pearce is easy to fall into because it's nothing more than what it claims to be- a refreshing break from alternate worlds in wardrobes and rabbit holes. Everything about this book is absolutely refreshing, starting with its protagonist, Viola: she's a teen girl, and I refrain from saying average, because one beautiful aspect of this story is that it shows skillfully that in the world we live in, there is no average, because inside each person is a world of anxiety, emotions, hopes, doubts, and hormones that, combined, never equal the same concoction as any other person. Viola is heartbroken long before the story begins, and her ego is shattered; Pearce does a wonderful job of making it clear, without giving a lecture or pep talk, that Viola is only as beautiful and worthy of what she wants as she allows herself to be. Rather than going on a journey to discover how amazing she is, as most stories today seem to be, Viola's journey is a personal one, in which she discovers that she has the power to see herself for however she wants to, to make her own happiness or wallow in misery.

The story itself is about personal choice, setting it apart from your average fantasy and teen novel. Instead of trying to save the world or their lives, the characters are simply learning how to see themselves, and what they want for themselves, and what they will give up and do in order to keep their emotionally charged lives even- and hopefully tip the scales to happy. Possibly the best part of the story is that there is no set antagonist; rather, each character's personality and life situation makes for the setbacks in the story. What they must over come and defeat is entirely inside themselves, and at they same time, that is where they will find what will allow them to overcome these obstacles.

The rules of fantasy, the standard cycle of the monomyth, is presented in a different light in this satisfyingly-romantic-without-being-ridiculous tale, and in the end, the reader is left with not only a deep satisfaction that comes with finishing only the best of books, but also a new take on fiction, lesson needed in a literary world of instant-romance and magic wands: it is the choices we make, how we use our wishes and go after what we want, and not the power of magic or even love, that bind us together, build up our lives, or destroy us, our relationships, and our confidence.

As You Wish was a beautiful read, paced skillfully and written masterfully. Five well-earned stars.

posted by 1433112 on June 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ok...

Almost everyone who reviewed this book here is raving about it, so let me share my opinion.

The plot could have been executed well - but, like most pathetic teen reads, it wasn't. Written with an amateur sense of style, and absolutely no character development whatso...
Almost everyone who reviewed this book here is raving about it, so let me share my opinion.

The plot could have been executed well - but, like most pathetic teen reads, it wasn't. Written with an amateur sense of style, and absolutely no character development whatsoever. Seriously, it's a wonder why most teen books even make it past manuscript stage. The main character - or any character, for that matter - is boring, predictable, and not as exciting or adventurous as I would have expected from the description.

And God. Does every teen book - or most teen books? - have to involve the main character going to a party and getting drunk? And wanting a "hot guy"? Where's the class? Where's the originality? The imagination? Not here. :)

posted by Angeline_Walsh on April 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    You Can't Wish for More.

    Forget the rules of classical fantasy. Forget princesses and knights, fairies, magic, witches and wizards, battles and duels. Forget heroes who rise up to save the world from certain doom and villains hellbent on destroying all humanity holds dear. Instead, take a simpler approach: a girl. A high school student, months after a horrible break up, facing a destroyed self confidence, a lonely existance, and an art expo. Now give this girl three wishes, strict guidelines to use them, and her own jinn to make those wishes come true, and what do you get? Clue: Not a princess story. Not a Disney movie. Instead, debut author Jackson Pearce delivers a stunning, poignant novel about the power of choice and the importance of priority.

    Set against the backdrop of a very average high school, the world proposed by Pearce is easy to fall into because it's nothing more than what it claims to be- a refreshing break from alternate worlds in wardrobes and rabbit holes. Everything about this book is absolutely refreshing, starting with its protagonist, Viola: she's a teen girl, and I refrain from saying average, because one beautiful aspect of this story is that it shows skillfully that in the world we live in, there is no average, because inside each person is a world of anxiety, emotions, hopes, doubts, and hormones that, combined, never equal the same concoction as any other person. Viola is heartbroken long before the story begins, and her ego is shattered; Pearce does a wonderful job of making it clear, without giving a lecture or pep talk, that Viola is only as beautiful and worthy of what she wants as she allows herself to be. Rather than going on a journey to discover how amazing she is, as most stories today seem to be, Viola's journey is a personal one, in which she discovers that she has the power to see herself for however she wants to, to make her own happiness or wallow in misery.

    The story itself is about personal choice, setting it apart from your average fantasy and teen novel. Instead of trying to save the world or their lives, the characters are simply learning how to see themselves, and what they want for themselves, and what they will give up and do in order to keep their emotionally charged lives even- and hopefully tip the scales to happy. Possibly the best part of the story is that there is no set antagonist; rather, each character's personality and life situation makes for the setbacks in the story. What they must over come and defeat is entirely inside themselves, and at they same time, that is where they will find what will allow them to overcome these obstacles.

    The rules of fantasy, the standard cycle of the monomyth, is presented in a different light in this satisfyingly-romantic-without-being-ridiculous tale, and in the end, the reader is left with not only a deep satisfaction that comes with finishing only the best of books, but also a new take on fiction, lesson needed in a literary world of instant-romance and magic wands: it is the choices we make, how we use our wishes and go after what we want, and not the power of magic or even love, that bind us together, build up our lives, or destroy us, our relationships, and our confidence.

    As You Wish was a beautiful read, paced skillfully and written masterfully. Five well-earned stars.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A feel-good tale I couldn't put down.

    If you think this book looks cute, you're right--As You Wish is all kinds of adorable. On top of that, it's also funny, insightful, thrilling, and incredibly un-putdownable. Seriously. I finished it in just over a day and I already want to whirl through it again.

    As You Wish is told in alternating first person narration between Viola and Jinn. While the two viewpoints add more dimension to the story, I couldn't distinguish the two voices from one another. The plot, however, sucked me in so absolutely that I quickly got over this complaint and sat back to enjoy the story. The resulting single voice of Viola's and Jinn's near identical narration is appealing and enjoyable.

    At the opening of As You Wish, it's been just over seven months since Viola's childhood-best-friend-turned-boyfriend, Lawrence, informed Viola that he was gay and broke up with her. While Viola and Lawrence are still close, Viola feels that she's become an "Invisible Girl" since the breakup--with Lawrence, she was special and felt like she belonged. Now, however, Lawrence is invited to parties and Viola gets to hear about them. She feels ignored and out of place and is obsessed with the idea of belonging--how do other people do it? How can she belong again?

    And then Jinn, a genie, walks into her life, offers her three wishes, and suggests she make them quickly.

    Jackson Pearce's cast of characters is irresistable--except for a few bad apples, I liked them all instantly. I had fun watching Viola and Jinn fall in love. I was happy when they were happy, and breathless with suspense when they encountered obstacles--I was so invested in the story I was practically biting my fingernails, and I don't usually do that. The ending is satisfying, but not exactly what I expected. As You Wish surprised me to the end.

    Beyond the plot, the depth of Viola's longing to be a part of the social tapestry around her and her blindness to what she already has adds an emotional angle to the novel that I believe many people, teenagers or not, can identify with. As You Wish is a little book with a lot to say.

    As far as PG-13 content, I can count the incidents of offensive language on one hand, and while alcohol and promiscuity make a few appearances, there's nothing even close to an R-rated scene, and nothing happens that the average teenager hasn't already read about or seen on TV--As You Wish is refreshingly clean without being unrealistic.

    As You Wish is a roller coaster ride of laughter, love, and suspense. It's a feel-good novel I couldn't put down, and I highly recommend it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    Left Me Wishing For More

    As You Wish is one of those books that you CAN'T put down until you finish it. It pulls you in quickly, has good pace, and develops characters fairly well. It's an interesting concept that weaves a beautiful story of friendship, finding yourself, and love. I highly recommend this book- it's the epitome of a feel-good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    As You Wish

    As you wish is a delightful, endearing tale. It tugged at my heart, and made me smile and laugh in some places. It was a really quick read, but it held such meaning and promises in it. When Jinn had to leave, my heart called out to him and Viola. Their pain was so poignant, and Jackson displayed it so clearly. This book is one my new favorites. Thank you Jackson, for such a beautiful love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2009

    Couldn't put it down!

    Jackson Pearce's first book, As You Wish, has set the bar high! In alternating viewpoints, this book details the story of a teenage girl, Viola, who accidentally summons a genie, Jinn. Jinn must remain on Earth until Viola makes three wishes, and it's only after the first wish when they discover they have feelings for one another. Viola and Jinn are forced to make a choice- if she doesn't make all three wishes, the guardian of the genies will push her to wish by hurting the people she loves. But if she makes her three wishes, Jinn will leave her life forever.

    This book is full of beautiful details and scenes that will delight even the most reluctant reader. Jackson's vivid imagery makes the characters come alive. The book is great for middle-school age kids and the young at heart. I couldn't put this book down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    To All Of The Outsiders, Misfits and Invisibles, Make a wish.

    Viola's one true wish is to feel like she belongs again. Ever since her boyfriend/beast friend came out, her life has been going down hill. She is now one of the "invisibles" as she calls it. The people who are never seen or herd, the social outcasts. But after inadvertently calling a genie out in the middle of class, her life with the outcasts maybe over. And Viola is finding out that maybe all of the cheesy movies are right, maybe you have to be true to your self. But how do you do that if you don't know who you are?!?
    Talking about all the Social complexities of being a teen and finding where you belong, Jackson Pearce tells a great story about love, friendship and being you, in a world where no one know who you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cant Wish For More!

    I was sucked into this book so much, I didnt want to put it down! Viola is just your typical teen-age girl who suffered the worst kind of breakup imaginable and just wants to dissapear. Jinn is so perfect as the genie summoned to give Viola her three wishes and then go back to his own life in the otherworld. The characters are all so perfect and there are equal parts humor, friendship and romance. This is a book I will actually keep on my shelf and come back to again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    If you love books with Genie's then is the book for you. As you

    If you love books with Genie's then is the book for you. As you wish was such a great read. I started reading it and I just couldn't put it down. Jinn was an amazing genie. I'm glad he came back in the end of the book because Viola deserved her happy ending. I wouldn't mind if As You Wish had a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    I READ YOUR REVIEW!

    I read yiur review about being yourself and i totally agree. I go to battle ground high school and i have a lot of preassure but i keep my head up and guys are truly like buses!haha! U inspire me anaomous! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Hello

    My name is monkey man and i want to know u r my frend if u rn't i will send my monkey man friends after u go get em monkey men

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Wishing For More "As You Wish"

    I was already a fan of Jackson Pearce before I read this book but when I finally did it made me fall in love with her style and ways with romance, drama, and her crafty knack of creating an addicitive plot line, mesmerizing (and hilarious) characters, and extensive use of detail that made me want to make this a permanent part of my literary life.
    READERS: Get ready for a world you never thought possible and the words that spin the worlds of both Earth and Caliban...
    *I wish*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Love Love Love

    This is definitely one of my favorite books! I've read it four times and im not one to reread books. It has a fresh storyline and relatable characters. I love the relationship between Jinn, Viola, and Lawerence. I laughed several times in this book and I could feel the emotions the characters were portraying. Great read, definitely buy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Love it! <3

    This has to be my favorite book. I just love the characters and the way the author weaves the plot along. If I could rate this story higher, I would gove it 100 stars!! Jinn is an awesome character; I wish I had someone like Viola's friends, Lawrence and Jinn. It makes me wonder what people would do for love.... :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it!

    Witty, hysterical, and hooking -- Pearce weaves a unique, riveting tale with vivid, very-alive prose. Through two points of view -- that of Viola, a human girl, and Jinn, an otherworldly wish granter -- this story is told perfectly.

    Pearce casts a full set of fantastic characters. I love every one of them. With her spellbinding stand-alone, Pearce puts magic in the air: an amazing book of self-discovery, coming-of-age, and being yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Super!!!

    I got this book because I liked Pearce's book "Sisters Red" and I was pleasantly surprised. In a time period where the bookshelves are filled with vampire, werewolf, and angel stories, "As You Wish" breaks the mold. The story is about Viola, who feels she has become invisible to everyone in school since she broke up with her boyfriend. With a wish to fit in again, a jinn is sent to her to grant her three wishes, but she refuses to accept his help and decides to continue on with life as it is. However, for him to have any hope of returning to his perfect, timeless homeland, he has to convince her to use her wishes. After she finally makes her first wish, Viola's found that she's already used to the idea of the jinn being just a call away, so much so that she's hesitant to make her final wishes because doing so would mean losing him forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2010

    Great book-My only wish: A sequel!

    I was at my library, and at the point where I would be willing to read anything. So I grabbed this book off the shelf on a whim. I started reading it when I got home, and finished it the next day. It's been the only book that I've finished reading and flipped back to the beginning and started reading it again. I really liked the alternating perspectives from Jinn and Viola. I also liked how both characters were multi faceted and had more than one dimenssion. (i.e.- I have never ever read a book before where the lead male character knew so much about flowers!)It was interesting to see Jinn's feelings for Viola develop slowly,and vice versa. I really enjoyed the ending too. Now, I'm wishing for a sequel!! I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    I Abso-Freaking-Lutely LOVE "AS YOU WISH"!

    "As You Wish" by Jackson Pearce.

    I absolutely love this novel! I swear it is one of the BEST books I've ever read! Because of this novel, I will most definitely read Jackson Pearce's other novels to come.

    Although I was already a fan of Jackson Pearce before her novel was released, I read this novel out of the pure WANT to do so. I began reading it one Saturday night - and finished it the next morning. Anyone that knows me will tell you that I'm not a fast reader. This book was so captivating and suspenceful and everything a book should be, that there was no possible way to put it down.

    Viola, the main character, is falling for her jinn who is granting her three wishes. But as she goes on wishing, she realizes that after her third wish, Jinn will disappear forever. And after having her previous boyfriend (and best friend), Lawrence, come out and telll her that he's gay while he's dating her, Viola cannot stand to see this man walk out of her life. But as she goes on, keeping that last wish unspoken, the jinn world is sending presses to MAKE Viola wish. But what will she wish for when all she wants is Jinn?

    Seriously, how could you put a story like that down? But, I will admit, that as I neared the ending, I forced myself to put it down - I didn't want it to end. I'd only had one day - not even - with these characters. I wasn't ready to say goodbye.

    I give this book a 1,000,000/5 stars because it's that amazing. I'm serious GO READ IT!

    www.jacksonpearce.com

    With eternal love and blessings,
    Hanna L.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Awesome debut from an amazing new talent

    Jackson Pearce's novel As You Wish is an adorable, fun, and smart read. If you're tired of reading about vampires, werewolves, and fairies, but still like a little fantasy in your reading than this is the book for you. I'm not going to cover the plot here since you can read that on the book page. This book is light and fun but still covers some serious issues and shows us a dynamic character who learns a lot about herself throughtout the story. Pearce's writing is wonderful and eloquent. Never was I bored or skipping pages. One of the most notable things about this novel is the side characters. They are so well developed and completely affect the story; no unnessacary extras here. A well done, fun read for anyone who likes a fantasy love story. Highly recommened and will definitely be looking forward to anything else Jackson writes (including her next novel SISTERS RED)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Nyxen Reviews As You Wish

    was my second time reading this book. And that's a shocker because I have never read a book more than one time. The first time I read As You Wish I was entranced with Jackson's story-telling. I loved how the words seemed to flow so smoothly and endlessly. This debut novel really had me going. It got me to laugh, cry, and yell endless profanities at Aaron, a supporting character.

    It all starts with a simple girl, Viola. Now, Viola isn't an outcast or a freak. She is a regular teenage girl who has friends but she can't see that because she thinks she doesn't belong. She feels as if she doesn't belong with anyone or to any group at school because her ex boyfriend-now best friend Lawrence- told her he was gay before they were about to do "It." Ever since that fateful night all Viola wanted is to have someone to love her to feel like she belongs in this world. She wishes endlessly which causes a jinn, or genie, to magically appear.

    Viola now has three wishes to make but she doesn't know what to wish for. Not knowing what to wish for causes Jinn, the genie, to stay on Earth longer which makes him grow and age. Because in Caliban, Jinn's world, it's as if time stops. No one ages; no one grows. But as soon as they step foot on Earth they do. As Viola doesn't wish that's just more time Jinn has on Earth. But as time slowly progresses, Jinn finds out that being human isn't bad and that having human emotions isn't either, especially when they are directed to Viola. But it isn't until Viola makes her first wish that she starts realizing her feelings for Jinn. Everything after that is like a blur for Viola as she is finally "accepted" and feels like she belongs. But the only problem is Viola coming to terms with her feelings for Jinn. Not only that but she is slowly losing her time with Jinn as an ifrit starts pressing her to wish, making Jinn go back to Caliban.

    It seems like this story won't have a happy ending, but on the contrary, there is. I just loved how this novel made my emotions go haywire and I loved that I could definitely relate to some characters. Viola was a bit stubborn at times and I just wanted to yell at her for being clueless at times. I fell in love with As You Wish from beginning to end. I loved every word in this novel and I was extremely sad to finish it. I want Viola and Jinn's story to continue.

    Overall I rate this Five Stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Book With Everything One Could Wish For

    As You Wish is a fantastic debut novel by Jackson Pearce. The book has a great plot and is very well written. This book has great description, word choice, etc. With so many young adult books with a fantasy element to them, it can be hard for one to stand out. As You Wish stands out. The author's take on wishes and genies is great and is presented in a creative way that one has not seen before.

    The book goes back and forth between Viola's point of view and Jinn (the genie's) point of view. Pearce does a great job at creating a distinct voice for each character allowing the alternating points of view to really add to the quality of the book. The book is full of suspense wondering what or if Viola will wish. All characters in the book are well-developed and the interactions between them are realistic. Both the fantasy and non-fantasy elements of the book were well thought out and presented. The book made me feel like the characters could be people I know and the settings could be places I have been.

    Many books are easy to predict the ending, but this book was not one of them. Until I read the end, I did not know what it would be. From the time I started the book to when I finished it, I could not put it down. I highly recommend anyone looking for a fun, creative, well-written book to read to pick up this book. It will not disappoint. I look forward to reading more of Jackson Pearce's books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3