Customer Reviews for

As the Crow Flies (Walt Longmire Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

highly recomended looking forward to the tv series. blockel

read all his books ,each gets better ,.keepem coming rb

posted by rangerrb on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Another great Longmire story... 10 episodes now on A&E

the Longmire series of eight books is very entertaining, and will delight most readers......can't wait for the next one to appear.........

posted by 13051544 on June 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 1, 2012

    highly recomended looking forward to the tv series. blockel

    read all his books ,each gets better ,.keepem coming rb

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Very highly recommended !!!

    Just like ALL the Walt Longmire series(7) it's great!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    The best one yet!

    It's hard to review this book without giving it all away, so I won't say much except Johnson's storytelling gets better and better with every one, and you won't regret buying this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Great read as always...RADAR...11-02-2013

    This book is probally my #1 or #2 out of the first eight novels...I agree with the other reader that these books are for anyone..
    I don't understand how someone can give a book a glowing
    Review and only give It 1 or 2 STARS...RADAR...1102-2013...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Highly Recommended!! Awesome stories and characters!

    My husband and I both enjoy the Longmire Series! We're excited that there will soon be a new one out and the show is coming back on tv.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Great read.

    A must read! Love the Longmire series, & this is the best yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Just heard about this series from my sister on Thanksgiving and have now read all but one in the series and one of the short stories.

    Loved them all. I love mysteries and learning about new places and how different people live and these books hit all of those areas plus!

    Definite buy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review: "As the Crow Flies" by Craig Johnson was a



    Review:


    "As the Crow Flies" by Craig Johnson was a good well written dialogue mystery. This author is able to show a meticulously well plotted storyline that comes together in this Wyoming/Montana Western setting.


    In this novel, "As the Crow Flies" Sheriff Walt Longmire's daughter(Cady) is getting married in two weeks and it seems that the area that had been reserved for this event....near the Indian Reservation is not available....so Henry Standing Bear(friend) and Walt are to make other arrangements...about a location called "Painted Warrior." They go to this area which is a lovely area with high cliffs....however Walt and Henry witness a woman that falls to her death....and the storyline picks up from there. Now, we find Sheriff Walt Longmire is now trying to help with this investigation into this persons death. Was it a accident, suicide or was she pushed? Walt is nearly killed several times and what has happened with the help of the wedding plans? Here I will say you must pick up this read and to find out!


    There are some very interesting characters...Walt, Henry Standing Bear, Dog,Vic, Ruby, Feds, Audrey Plain Feather, Adrian, Clarence and especially the new rough and tough Tribal Police Chief Lolo Long(who seems to have a 'chip on her shoulder...coming home from Iraq suffering from PTSD'), Henry Standing Bear and Herbert His Good Horse, head of Human Services and Artie Small Song, another war vet and his elderly mother, a medicine woman and I am sure I have left out a few.


    I wasn't able to detect who was the killer, so I was kept turning the pages until the end. It was very interesting to learn during my read about the 'Cheyenne Nation, the Old Man Chiefs and the Peyote Ceremony'..... simply some amazing writing.


    If you are in for a intriguing western mystery... you have come to the right place..."As the Crow Flies" will be a good read for you. I did enjoy this novel that was neatly wrapped up in the end and would recommend as a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    The Longmire TV Shows are wonderful. We have all the books in t

    The Longmire TV Shows are wonderful. We have all the books in the series so far. Next we will purchase them as we can for our Nooks. I would recommend The Walt Longmire Mystery Series to Men & Women. Young & Old. Craig Johnson is a Master at Story telling. I'm from Pinedale, Wyoming I understand the areas he is talking about. The Characters.are like old friends. The Stars of the Longmire TV Show are as I would have pictured them in my mind when reading the books. All in All wonderful plots & skilled acting & writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    A must read

    Craig Johnson is from WY... so am I... he writes about country I am familiar with and it makes the books very intersting. Craig is a fantastic story teller on paper and in person. One of the best authors to come along in years. His books a full of mystery, humor and just darned good writing. I would recommend reading the series, to date, to anyone that likes western mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    this series never disappoints! walt is working with a new chief

    this series never disappoints! walt is working with a new chief of police on the rez to solve a murder that first looked like a suicide. the twists and turns leave you unable to figure out the culprit. walt even takes part in a peyote ceremony, very interesting! while he is solving a murder on the rez, he is also supposed to be planning his daughter's wedding. henry is the wedding planner. the humor is subtle, but it's there. another very interesting walt longmire story. if you don't take the time to discover this series, you miss out on some great writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    highly recommended

    I decided to read the Longmire series after watching the tv show and have enjoyed them very much. The stories are good and the Indian lore is very interesting. I look forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    Stormclan apperentice den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    An Enjoyable Updated Lone Ranger and Tonto Tale

    Growing up in Ohio and only having access to old accounts of how the first the British and then US short-changed the Native American Indian, I find this take on the modern era interesting.

    This series of novels modernizes the Lone Ranger concept with a strong plot and shows that Sheriff Longmire must appreciate Indian traditions and learn to work alongside those he meets. The plot is reasonable and Boy! how he loves to bash the FBI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Excellent read.

    Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Lightfoot

    Climbs up all the way to the top*

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Flarestep

    The tom trots into camp.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2