Customer Reviews for

Ascend (Trylle Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2229)

4 Star

(1146)

3 Star

(468)

2 Star

(158)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

As a Amanda Hocking fan, the first book of the Trylle Trilogy was my favourite. I loved reading this book. The story was fantastic. The characters likeable. Can only recommend.

posted by theReader278 on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Anticipation was a massive let down!!

I'm pretty much speechless regarding this book. After reading the 1st two books my skin was itching because I had to wait for the ending of the storyline. Finally it was here and I was so disappointed with the story and the plot that I couldn't even finish. I basically ...
I'm pretty much speechless regarding this book. After reading the 1st two books my skin was itching because I had to wait for the ending of the storyline. Finally it was here and I was so disappointed with the story and the plot that I couldn't even finish. I basically just skimmed thru my nook to try and find some key points ***SPOILER*** and stopped right after reading that Wendy finally slept with someone, only to see it was Loki!!! Seriously?!?! She went from not being able to have just one night w/ her 'true love' or cheating on her fiance/husband to sleeping w/ a guy she really doesn't know except besides a flirtatious relationship. Occasionally they have those deep one on one convo's about how their families but he always just seemed to be so devious. IDK, the story just took a turn so quick and out of the blue with no explanation. If Wendy wasn't the main character the lack of explanation and detail wouldn't matter, but since she is I would like to know and I would like to know why not Finn?!?! Her and Finn had something special which was built upon non stop throughout every single book. And maybe if she didn't become so into the politics of being Queen I could understand who resentment towards him for choosing duty and the people, but she ended up doing the same thing.. Just makes no sense and I really hated Loki. He was just so cocky and condescending and it felt like he was always putting on a show of some sort. IDK, this book just seemed completely out of place from the first two. Maybe either a lot of the story needed to be cut out for publishing purposes or the author was just bored with the story itself... Maybe Finn reminded her of an ex and she was infuriated at his memory so she decided to cancel Finn from the equation lol... IDK but whatever it was it just butchered the entire story and made me unable to read the whole thing. I stopped once Wendy made the trade w/ the king and they were driving home.... I can't believe how disappointed I was... Finn was such a huge part in the series and then nothing, he was just looked upon. UGH, I hate how stories can make you react so strongly, as if the story somehow affected you personally... Hahaha... Oh well, at least there was 2 out of 3.

posted by 4906531 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 208
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Anticipation was a massive let down!!

    I'm pretty much speechless regarding this book. After reading the 1st two books my skin was itching because I had to wait for the ending of the storyline. Finally it was here and I was so disappointed with the story and the plot that I couldn't even finish. I basically just skimmed thru my nook to try and find some key points ***SPOILER*** and stopped right after reading that Wendy finally slept with someone, only to see it was Loki!!! Seriously?!?! She went from not being able to have just one night w/ her 'true love' or cheating on her fiance/husband to sleeping w/ a guy she really doesn't know except besides a flirtatious relationship. Occasionally they have those deep one on one convo's about how their families but he always just seemed to be so devious. IDK, the story just took a turn so quick and out of the blue with no explanation. If Wendy wasn't the main character the lack of explanation and detail wouldn't matter, but since she is I would like to know and I would like to know why not Finn?!?! Her and Finn had something special which was built upon non stop throughout every single book. And maybe if she didn't become so into the politics of being Queen I could understand who resentment towards him for choosing duty and the people, but she ended up doing the same thing.. Just makes no sense and I really hated Loki. He was just so cocky and condescending and it felt like he was always putting on a show of some sort. IDK, this book just seemed completely out of place from the first two. Maybe either a lot of the story needed to be cut out for publishing purposes or the author was just bored with the story itself... Maybe Finn reminded her of an ex and she was infuriated at his memory so she decided to cancel Finn from the equation lol... IDK but whatever it was it just butchered the entire story and made me unable to read the whole thing. I stopped once Wendy made the trade w/ the king and they were driving home.... I can't believe how disappointed I was... Finn was such a huge part in the series and then nothing, he was just looked upon. UGH, I hate how stories can make you react so strongly, as if the story somehow affected you personally... Hahaha... Oh well, at least there was 2 out of 3.

    27 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    I will just start off by saying that I really enjoyed the first two books. This book left me very disappointed and angry. I wish I never started reading the trilogy in the first place.

    **SPOILER** I found myself wishing Loki would die (and was elated when he did) until... he came back to life(?!). What is the point of making your readers fall in love with Finn when you just toss him to the side at the end for some ridiculous twist in the story that makes absolutely no sense at all? Don't waste your time because it certainly was a waste of mine.

    22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Horrible Conclusion

    I fell in love with this series over xmas break and quickly read through the first two. Finna and Wendy's characters were so developed as was their relationship. Reading Ascend im very sad on how Amanda Hocking chose to end the series. I feel like after everything Finn and Wendy went through they should have ended up together. Lokie and Wendy's relationship is nowhere near established making it hard to understand just why the two fall so madly in love. Had i known the conclusion to the Trylle series would be so disappointing i wouldnt have bothered with it in the first place. Very sad seeing as i loved the auhtors My Blood Approves series. I expected much more...: (

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    As a Amanda Hocking fan, the first book of the Trylle Trilogy was my favourite. I loved reading this book. The story was fantastic. The characters likeable. Can only recommend.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Same good writing style but a let down ending!

    I loved the first two books and thought I was going to have everything rapped up in this. But I didn't, this book felt thrown together and rushed. I feel Amanda will lose fans over this ending. I did not like that she made Wendy an adulterest. Finn asked her for one night before she was married and Wendy said she couldn't do that but after she was married it was okay to tell Loki "you can have me for tonight only". I didn't get that part at all. I think it was poor judgement by the author to build Finns character and make us love him and then give us disappointment. Loki was never a big established character until she slept with him then you notice him "what the heck just happened". He was a jokester and cocky and we never took him serious I kepy getting the felling he still had a trick up his sleeve. If that was how she was to be with why make readers not trust him and feel no connection to him all the way though the end. An author needs to draw you in and give the reader the fulfillment they are looking for. I am not saying Disney happy ever after but this ending was terrible....I also notice that Finn was always around in the first 2 books, but then nothing, it was like Amanda forgot his character existed....not good for the reader who wants to con't to follow Finns character. The story took us to Finns house and we felt a connectoin and the stuggle Wendy and him would have to face together. Makes you just think less about Wendy and her "be a good queen" character. Sad that it would make you not like her after loving her in the first 2 books. And whoever said this book is like Twilight could not have ever read Twilight... crazy ppl this is nothing like the writing nor the characters.

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Ending to a Fun Trilogy

    I really liked this closer to the Wendy/Troll trilogy. I think Wendy remains likable, real, and in character with her previous incarnations. The plot continues to be fast paced and high drama. If you liked Twilight, and fantasy romance novels then this is really up your ally.

    **Spoilers to come** In response to a few people who seem confused by Wendy's choice in men, I'm genuinely curious to know if you missed the whole part where she gave up on Finn and where Finn willingly walked away from her time and time again. She offered to fight for the relationship on many occasions and Finn rebuffed her. He never wanted anything more than a few stolen kisses and he always wanted to feel bad about those kisses and to have Wendy feel bad about them too. What is attractive or desirable about a man who wants you to feel bad for wanting him? Meanwhile Loki presses forward in courting Wendy without shame. He considers her feelings and needs but still expresses his own view and desire. He abandons his place in the world and the world order he knows specifically to be with Wendy. It might not be enough to base a marriage on (as Wendy and Loki choose to), but it's way more flattering/romantic than Finn's stance. Also I like that Wendy doesn't just cling senselessly to the first man she meets, the whole notion seems so last generation to me.

    I don't judge Wendy for her infidelity in her marriage. The choice of who to marry wasn't really entirely free on her part and I don't think she should be shackled to sleeping with a man she doesn't love or really know because he was a good business deal. I do think she should have had an open and frank discussion with him about what kind of fidelity if any she owed him, but her first time with Loki was in the middle of an emotional whirlwind with her people being slaughtered, her lands in ruins, and the man who promised to back and support her forever having just assaulted her--it's a lot for a person to deal with is all I'm saying.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    unexpected turns

    SPOILER ALERT: So ever since book one, i've fallen for Finn and i always thought that they'd be together. it would have been perfect. but Loki comes in the story and Wendy ends up falling for him when just earlier in the book she kissed Finn and almost went all the way with him. Tove's part was well written though. i like how Hocking made it so that the WendyxTove thing ended mutually. the fight with Vittra at the end was good. i just wish Finn had continued on to be Wendy's husband. he just wanted the best for her since the beginning and sacrificed so much for her.. it's a shame.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I love happy endings!!! <3

    This was the best of the the three, I have to say. I loved them all...but if I had to pick, this is it. However you'll never understand why unless you've read all three, so I highly recommend you do so! They're all worth it!
    I believe I fell in love with Loki, myself!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Hate the end!

    I fell for Finn. Like other reviewers said, Loki was a likeable character, but true love???? Sex with him, but not Finn???? It seemed like lets-just-throw-a-loop-in-there-to-surprise every one. It made no sense. It was not developed.

    The series was fantastic, up to this book. Now I'm really not liking Wendy.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Confused!

    I really liked the previous two book, and while book #3 does resolve all the plot twists from the previous book I found how that happened/how things worked out didnt make sense to me. The book did feel a little unfinished to me as well. I finished it and said said "Huh-what!"

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    Extrememly Disappointing!

    The author went terribly wrong with this ending. It was too rushed and the main character was suddenly unlikable. No where near enough detail for to justify there change of course in story line. I really wanted tolove this book because I loved the first two, but sadly the poor choice in ending ruined the entire series for me.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    Best one!

    Ascend is by far the best book out of the trilogy. I don't think it left me with any remaining questions and wrapped everything up nicely. It didn't exactly go in the direction that I was expecting it too but great all the same.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    disappointing

    I just wanted to say that I am so glad some other people feel unsatisfied with the ending like I did. I get that sometimes it's nice for an author to put an unexpected ending to a story. This one just felt wrong, though. The first two books were wonderful, however.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Best book EVER!!!! ONLY READ IF YOU HAVE READ THE BOOK THIS MIGHT SPOIL IT FOR YOU SORRY!!!

    I love this book. I know it is the last one but maybe sometime in the near future we could maybe squeeze a short story from Amanda to tell us what happens after the book is over sort of keep us up to date on the characters. i love them all and just hate so see them go. this book is well written and it's just a really great ending. Even though Wendy may not end up with who you want her to. I must say I am happy the way it turns out.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2011

    Great ending to the trillogy

    I read the first two books and could not wait for the third.
    I normally don't read stories like this, but I couldn't put them down...read each book in a day or two.
    Suspense, romance, mystery and a little bit of humor. Really a good story...

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Perfect Ending to a Great Trilogy!!

    For those of you who are already fans of Wendy, Finn, Matt, and all the rest, you have to check out this book! And for those of you who haven't started the Trylle Trilogy, you have to start reading it!

    Amanda Hocking somehow manages - in each and every single one of her books - to make me literally chuckle out loud; in this book, Amanda takes her writing to a whole new level and manages to make you laugh on one page and cry on the next! That is the mark of a truly great writer.

    Do not be turned off by the fact that she is an indie author. Whatever publishers passed up this series must be really disappointed about the fact that they did. I have never been more consistently pleased with an author's writing and plot content. This is the most original series I have read in a very long time!

    P.S. The ending to this book was perfect. Everything was tied up well, but you saw that the characters will continue to live and thrive in the future, even if you do not get to continue reading about them.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Loved it! My favorite in the trilogy.

    This was a great read. Awesome character interaction. It is a must read. I'm sad it's over.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    A must have!

    This book is worth the price. Best one out of the series. Would recomend to all my friends!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Good

    I loved the end actually.
    ***SPOILER***
    from the start i never really liked Finn at all. He made me so angry how he just left Wendy all the time. He never fought for her and i feel he took advantage of her. Im glad she ended up with Loki. I feel Finn was even more cocky than Loki. He always just assumed Wendy would want him not matter what. He expected her to come back to him but he never came back to her. Overall, i liked the twist to the ending but i just wish we had more time to get to know Loki.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Ending to the Trilogy

    I really enjoyed this series. The final book brings the story a reasonable and satisfying conclusion. I really appreciate how Amanda Hocking wrote a teenage girl with some common sense, who can get over teenaged angst. I was afraid I would be dealing with a Twilight type triangle and was pleasantly surprised.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 4155 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 208