Customer Reviews for

Ascend (Trylle Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 4142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2239)

4 Star

(1152)

3 Star

(470)

2 Star

(160)

1 Star

(121)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Excellent

As a Amanda Hocking fan, the first book of the Trylle Trilogy was my favourite. I loved reading this book. The story was fantastic. The characters likeable. Can only recommend.

posted by theReader278 on July 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Anticipation was a massive let down!!

I'm pretty much speechless regarding this book. After reading the 1st two books my skin was itching because I had to wait for the ending of the storyline. Finally it was here and I was so disappointed with the story and the plot that I couldn't even finish. I basically ...
I'm pretty much speechless regarding this book. After reading the 1st two books my skin was itching because I had to wait for the ending of the storyline. Finally it was here and I was so disappointed with the story and the plot that I couldn't even finish. I basically just skimmed thru my nook to try and find some key points ***SPOILER*** and stopped right after reading that Wendy finally slept with someone, only to see it was Loki!!! Seriously?!?! She went from not being able to have just one night w/ her 'true love' or cheating on her fiance/husband to sleeping w/ a guy she really doesn't know except besides a flirtatious relationship. Occasionally they have those deep one on one convo's about how their families but he always just seemed to be so devious. IDK, the story just took a turn so quick and out of the blue with no explanation. If Wendy wasn't the main character the lack of explanation and detail wouldn't matter, but since she is I would like to know and I would like to know why not Finn?!?! Her and Finn had something special which was built upon non stop throughout every single book. And maybe if she didn't become so into the politics of being Queen I could understand who resentment towards him for choosing duty and the people, but she ended up doing the same thing.. Just makes no sense and I really hated Loki. He was just so cocky and condescending and it felt like he was always putting on a show of some sort. IDK, this book just seemed completely out of place from the first two. Maybe either a lot of the story needed to be cut out for publishing purposes or the author was just bored with the story itself... Maybe Finn reminded her of an ex and she was infuriated at his memory so she decided to cancel Finn from the equation lol... IDK but whatever it was it just butchered the entire story and made me unable to read the whole thing. I stopped once Wendy made the trade w/ the king and they were driving home.... I can't believe how disappointed I was... Finn was such a huge part in the series and then nothing, he was just looked upon. UGH, I hate how stories can make you react so strongly, as if the story somehow affected you personally... Hahaha... Oh well, at least there was 2 out of 3.

posted by 4906531 on January 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    Anticipation was a massive let down!!

    I'm pretty much speechless regarding this book. After reading the 1st two books my skin was itching because I had to wait for the ending of the storyline. Finally it was here and I was so disappointed with the story and the plot that I couldn't even finish. I basically just skimmed thru my nook to try and find some key points ***SPOILER*** and stopped right after reading that Wendy finally slept with someone, only to see it was Loki!!! Seriously?!?! She went from not being able to have just one night w/ her 'true love' or cheating on her fiance/husband to sleeping w/ a guy she really doesn't know except besides a flirtatious relationship. Occasionally they have those deep one on one convo's about how their families but he always just seemed to be so devious. IDK, the story just took a turn so quick and out of the blue with no explanation. If Wendy wasn't the main character the lack of explanation and detail wouldn't matter, but since she is I would like to know and I would like to know why not Finn?!?! Her and Finn had something special which was built upon non stop throughout every single book. And maybe if she didn't become so into the politics of being Queen I could understand who resentment towards him for choosing duty and the people, but she ended up doing the same thing.. Just makes no sense and I really hated Loki. He was just so cocky and condescending and it felt like he was always putting on a show of some sort. IDK, this book just seemed completely out of place from the first two. Maybe either a lot of the story needed to be cut out for publishing purposes or the author was just bored with the story itself... Maybe Finn reminded her of an ex and she was infuriated at his memory so she decided to cancel Finn from the equation lol... IDK but whatever it was it just butchered the entire story and made me unable to read the whole thing. I stopped once Wendy made the trade w/ the king and they were driving home.... I can't believe how disappointed I was... Finn was such a huge part in the series and then nothing, he was just looked upon. UGH, I hate how stories can make you react so strongly, as if the story somehow affected you personally... Hahaha... Oh well, at least there was 2 out of 3.

    27 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    Don't waste your time

    I will just start off by saying that I really enjoyed the first two books. This book left me very disappointed and angry. I wish I never started reading the trilogy in the first place.

    **SPOILER** I found myself wishing Loki would die (and was elated when he did) until... he came back to life(?!). What is the point of making your readers fall in love with Finn when you just toss him to the side at the end for some ridiculous twist in the story that makes absolutely no sense at all? Don't waste your time because it certainly was a waste of mine.

    22 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Horrible Conclusion

    I fell in love with this series over xmas break and quickly read through the first two. Finna and Wendy's characters were so developed as was their relationship. Reading Ascend im very sad on how Amanda Hocking chose to end the series. I feel like after everything Finn and Wendy went through they should have ended up together. Lokie and Wendy's relationship is nowhere near established making it hard to understand just why the two fall so madly in love. Had i known the conclusion to the Trylle series would be so disappointing i wouldnt have bothered with it in the first place. Very sad seeing as i loved the auhtors My Blood Approves series. I expected much more...: (

    20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    Hate the end!

    I fell for Finn. Like other reviewers said, Loki was a likeable character, but true love???? Sex with him, but not Finn???? It seemed like lets-just-throw-a-loop-in-there-to-surprise every one. It made no sense. It was not developed.

    The series was fantastic, up to this book. Now I'm really not liking Wendy.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Confused!

    I really liked the previous two book, and while book #3 does resolve all the plot twists from the previous book I found how that happened/how things worked out didnt make sense to me. The book did feel a little unfinished to me as well. I finished it and said said "Huh-what!"

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    A let down

    Overall this trilogy is a let down. The story line and characters are underdeveloped. As a reader I felt no connection or emotion to any of the characters or the outcome of the story. I still don't understand the purpose of Finn's character. The story lacks emotion, drama, suspense... content. The concept of the Troll world is intriguing, but I was very disappointed with the author's development of this plot throughout the novel. There is no emotional connection to the characters or their unique worlds as was done in the Twilight series. These two series are not comparable.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    Disappointing

    The first two books were AMAZING, which highly contradicts this last one. It seems as if the author wad crunched for time and just tried to wrap everything up as fast as possible. And she put in a twist, just for the sake of having one. I was very disappointed in the end of this trilogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sad and Confused...

    I gave this book a 2 out of 5 because I'm angry, sad and confused at the way this book series ended. Are you kidding me??? I tore through this book in two days hoping that things would turn around but they just got worse. OK I have to admit that the pace of the book is really good but come on Hocking are you really satisfied with the way you ended this?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Huh

    Random. Shock value twist ruined this. Ugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    no. just no

    it was rushed and confusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Ascended Bed Time

    I adored this book. I read it cover to cover while staying up to the wee-hours of the night/morning. It was a great ending to the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    I usually don't write reviews, but I felt the need to write a re

    I usually don't write reviews, but I felt the need to write a review for this book. I absolutely loved the first and second books in this trilogy. However, this third book was an absolute let down. I cannot understand why the author felt the need to ruin the series. The author actually turned the protoganist, Wendy, into an unlikeable character, and that to me, was very sad. The so-called plot twist was the worst. It was not well thought out. You do not make your readers fall in love with a chararcter, yes, I am speaking of Finn, and then banish him to the background of the story. *****SPOILER ALERT***** To find out that Wendy would not sleep with Finn before she was married, but then to turn around and sleep with Loki after she was married was awful!! She and Loki barely knew each other. The whole eye contact thing and we are so in love was just really awful (WHAT CRAP!!). Their relationship was not well developed at all. In fact, I don't even know how or why or when they fell in love with each other, just that they were!! Very strange. Two entire books focused on her being in love with Finn and then he was dropped like a hot potato in the 3rd book because he didn't fight for her (EYES ROLLING BIG TIME!!). Wendy's self righteous indignation about Finn not fighting for her was too much for me. When did she REALLY fight for him?? At no point in time during the story did she ever stand up to ROYALS in the kingdom, beyond telling her mother that she couldn't fire him, and tell them that she loved Finn. However, everyone knew he was in love with her and that he didn't want to ruin her chance at becoming Queen some day, because trackers were looked down upon by the Royals. He believed in her and he made every sacrifice for her. He protected her. When she went to his home, did she profess her love for him to his mother or his father...NO!!! So, she had no right to act as though everything was his fault. He was way down on the bottom of the totem pole in their society. I mean we are talking about a person who was not thought enough of to be healed by a healer without the healer being forced to do so, even though he was injured trying to protect the Royals and the kingdom!! UNBELIEVABLE!! And what exactly did she change when she became Queen? The trackers were still living in squalor!! She married Loki, who, although he was from a warring faction, lets not forget he was a member of the Royals. He was a Markis and a Queen is allowed to marry a Markis. She didn't change anything. What was Finn left with...a woman with a child who had been married to a tracker previously. Absolutely nothing had changed. People still were not free to love who they wanted to love without being banished from the kingdom!! A very awful conclusion to a really great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Amanda Hocking made her career independently mainly through EBoo

    Amanda Hocking made her career independently mainly through EBook sales...so she obviously knows the ins and outs of online marketing, and knows how to spin a review to favor her work. I hope everyone keeps that in mind when reading some of these positive reviews, as the source should clearly be questioned. Fans of the series are pointing out very real issues with this third installment, and it's far more than wishing she'd ended up with the 'other' guy. The story lines are undeveloped and contradictory to who the characters were developed to be in the first two books. If we're to believe Loki is her true love we, as readers should have experienced her falling in love with him throughout, and we didn't. It feels like a twist thrown in for the sake of a twist, and doesn't even feel as if Amanda intended that to be the ending when she began writing this book. I highly applaud her ability to become a success on her own, knowing how to give the reader a complex developed story in the first two books without the help of an editor, but unfortunately it appears she's lost sight of that with this book, rushing to publish before the book was ready for consumption.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    TERRIBLE ENDING

    Wendy should have ended up with Finn!! NOT a fan of Loki. The ending ruined the whole series! Very disappointing! I feel like I have wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Not suitable for young adults or adults

    This "series" (really just one book published in three parts) read like what I imagine a Harlequin romance novel would. The writing was unsophisticated, the plot and dialogue were poorly developed. About the only thing to look forward to were the regularly interspersed love scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    Disappointed

    Nice series, however I felt the end was disappointing. The relationship between Wendy and Finn was so well planned out, and then suddenly Ms. Hocking drops it. The characters were well developed except for Loki. I felt like she didn't know what to do with the story line after the second book and had to end it quick, so twisted it by putting Loki and Wendy together. Ugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    first love turns friend.

    i hate hate HATE it when books take the first love, and then another guy comes into the picture and takes over. Nothing ruins a book for me more than that. Otherwise, a good book. But you have been warned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    Terrible...Ending....

    ---6 Stars. Obviously unless u post 2 stars or more it wont show up. Book sucked didnt even finish reading. Disappointed Hocking messed up the entire series with the ending. Finally said f this skipped to ending. Dont know what she was thinking. The other books were great. Lets see how she ends the series My blood approves. Wouldnt doubt she messes those up to. Cant wait... not. To see how badd she messes up that series. Yup Im aggrivated with this TERRIBLE book....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Amateur effort

    Interesting idea, too bad the writing is so poor. It reads like a first draft. With some (ok, a lot) more polish and a good editor, this might have been a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Not a good read for me

    I have to say Trintrin86 review says it all Quote: Cons: I will state this upfront, I am not a Twilight fan, and I'm "meh" about this books for many of the same reasons I'm "meh" about Twilight. The main character is a girl that all the males in the book seem to instantly fall in love with despite the fact that she is extremely immature and bratty. In the first book particularly, she displays almost no redeeming qualities. Conversely, every female in the series is either complete evil witch or rather brainless. Hocking also takes a mythological creature generally considered to be monstrous and makes them "pretty," though once again that is semi addressed in the second book. These revised mythological creatures have super kewl powers, but those powers have very little baring on the mythological creature used as the source material. There were other things as well that seemed to defy all logic plotwise, but I won't spoil those here. Also, as mentioned by previous reviewers, the book is poorly edited, but I didn't find that overly distracting. The writing style is a little amateurish. Pros: While Hocking loses points for all the above, she gains a number of point in her setting. In fact had she dropped the silliness of the "Trylle" the whole concept would have flowed rather nicely. I found myself continuing to read because I wanted to know more about world she created. Overall: While I found this book to be "meh" I enjoyed it enough to continue reading to the second book, where there are some clear improvements. The writing style and character development get noticeably better, though there are some glaring issues with that book as well. But I will say that had I not already bought the second book I probably would not have continued. If you're looking for something cheap and fun to read I recommend this book and its sequel, if you're looking for something clever or sophisticated you can pass this one up. Sad I have all three, I know not one person I would pass this on to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8