Customer Reviews for

Ascendant

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    After reading Rampant and enjoying it, I was hoping Ascendant would live up to it. I was surprised at the direction the author decided to take this one. I pretty sure anybody that it's an animal lover might have issues with it. I liked the story but had a hard time stomaching some of the issues the unicorns face. It's actually kind of heartbreaking. Plus, there's still the focus on sex and virginity. It's not in your face, but it's hard to not notice the small paragraphs talking about 15 year-olds losing their virginity just to avoid dealing with the unicorns.

    Astrid grew in leaps and bounds in this one, but yet in some ways remains your typical teenager. In the beginning you can tell, she's still all about her duty. I'm not saying she likes killing unicorns, but she doesn't see an alternative. And she doesn't see what good all of her cousin's lobbying to protect the unicorns is going to do. But, in her days to day dealings with unicorns at Gordian headquarters, you can tell the direction she's headed. And this is a way she's a typical teen, she believes she can single-handedly save them all.

    Her relationships in this one are really interesting. Of course the minute Giovanni lives to go back to the states, she begins to doubt her relationship. Which of course leads her to do stupid things. She's also far to trusting. I also like how her relationship with her cousin changes. At the beginning of the book, they are in different places. I think they reach a real understanding of each other in the end.

    My only real disappointment is learning the author doesn't plan on writing a sequel anytime soon. The book wraps up without a real cliff hanger. But, I don't think the story is over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    will there be a third

    will there be a third

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Hmm

    I thought id hate the book cause it had less action but it was actully really good. I hope she comes out with a next book. The ending is such a cliff hanger.....i didnt like it much either....Anyways it was still really good though not as good as the first in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    don't waste your time...

    you have to trust me on this one. i'll say it as simply as i can: don't waste your time reading this book. don't read it or even don't think about reading it. it's boring and not as exciting as the first one. it will disappoint you. it took me forever to just finish the book. the only reason i kept reading was because i kept on thinking "oh, the good part will come soon. i just have to get to it". wrong. there is no good part. the ending is bad and disappointing, and the entire book is confusing. don't waste your time reading this book. just. trust. me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Great sequel!

    ASCENDANT, by Diana Peterfreund, delves deeper into the lives of Unicorn Hunters and Astrid's hope to discover the secret to the Remedy. The second book in this series wrapped me up completely from the beginning, but in a different way than Rampant. The first book was captivating to me because of the unicorn folklore and bloody action scenes that left me breathless. This book was equally good, but in a very different way.

    Astrid is left alone in Rome when Giovanni goes back to school in New York. She has the other hunters and Phil to keep her company, but she finds herself being smothered by their new patron and their strict rules. She is offered a position as a unicorn 'jailer' at Gordian headquarters. This job does not include a lot of hunting so Astrid is left to her thoughts. But the longer she says at Gordian, the more questions she has, and getting the answers proves more dangerous than she could have ever imagined.

    I liked the new setting that Peterfreund explored in this book. I enjoyed getting to know the grounds of Gordian and was curious about the secrets it held. Also, the reemergence of a 'lost' character from Book One added an extra element of tension. And the unicorns! The rare einhorn species was a main focus at Gordian. I liked the precision and calculation that Astrid performed to gain the trust of these unknown creatures.

    There was a lot less action in this book, but so many revelations. I love being inside Astrid's mind. She uses her brains and brawn for what she thinks are good causes. She is constantly torn between her heart and what she was meant to do. There are so many events that made this book amazing, I won't ruin them, but they did strengthen my love for these books and characters. I am hoping there is a number three in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for Teens Read Too

    In RAMPANT, Diana Peterfreund introduced us to the darker side of unicorns and Astrid, the unicorn hunter. In ASCENDANT, Astrid's adventures continue. Now a fully trained unicorn hunter, Astrid is given the opportunity to leave the Cloisters and go to France to help in discovering the Remedy. Unfortunately, leaving Rome doesn't solve Astrid's problems. She is put in charge of a herd of Einhorns and discovers there's more to the unicorns than she thought. This revelation makes her question many things in her life; her love for Giovanni, her loyalty to the Cloisters, and her duty as a hunter. There weren't as many instances of sexual tension and passion as in the first book, and I liked ASCENDANT more because of this. The introduction of new characters and the further development of previously introduced characters added to the story and made for an enjoyable read. I look forward to more from Peterfreund in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Review

    Not as good as the first book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2