Customer Reviews for

Ascension

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A must read

If you enjoy book like the dark hunters series and j r ward books you will enjoy the first book in this series

posted by 158747 on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

The story was pretty good. It has alot of 'language' but I found it funny in the way the author used it. Towards the end though the author over used 'cried' to describe how everone spoke. It seemed like a huge lack of imagination on the authors part.

posted by CrazySnowdog on June 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    A must read

    If you enjoy book like the dark hunters series and j r ward books you will enjoy the first book in this series

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really quite enjoyable

    Mortal earth (where we live now) is the first realm. Alison is called to ascend to the next dimension. Because of her great powers, she is hunted in hopes that she will be killed before the ascension ceremony. To keep her alive, she must be guarded by a vampire warrior, a warrior with a past who tries to ignore the mating call between them. This kept my interest and was really quite enjoyable. What is not to like when alpha male vampire warriors are ruled by a powerful, beautiful alpha female. I'm waiting for the next in this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super urban romantic fantasy

    Alison Wells assumes she became a therapist because she has always been different and forced to be distant so she understands people better than most. Her special skills lately for no apparent reason have become enhanced, which makes it that more complicated to avoid hurting people when she touches them.

    Weary warrior of the Blood Kerrick of Endelle arrives to save Alison from the assault of another winged person. Besides seeing two winged people, Alison is astonished he can touch her and she him without his being hurt. He explains to her that his dimension is trapped in a vampire civil war between his Endelle warriors and the death vampires under the leadership of vicious Commander Greaves. He also tells her about the call to her of Second Earth where "ascenders" who share her skills can go. As both combatant enemies realize how much power Alison possesses, Kerrick guards Alison as she completes the ascension ritual and his olfactory sense makes him aware she is his mate. Twice widowed and having seen his children die, he vowed no more women, but will risk death to keep Alison safe from Greaves who needs her dead.

    This is a super urban romantic fantasy in which the audience will believe in the vampires and the Ascension. The story line is fast-paced even when Kerrick is grounded as the assassination attempts keep him and his mate on the lam. Although the soul mate rescue element has been used a zillion times (to bad it was not a gender switch), readers will appreciate the first thrilling Guardians of Ascension tale in the Roane mythos.

    Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Really great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It had a great mixture, of sex, love and violence! I always hate stories that develop characters into 'falling in love' really soon but the author really took her time to build the understanding of why it was happening. It was definitely easy to connect my emotions to the book. I would have given it five stars but I felt that some explanations in the book were extremely repetitive. This book is very explicit with sex and cussing so if you aren't fond of that, then you shouldn't read it. However, I am so it was the perfect book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Pretty Good

    The story was pretty good. It has alot of 'language' but I found it funny in the way the author used it. Towards the end though the author over used 'cried' to describe how everone spoke. It seemed like a huge lack of imagination on the authors part.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    wonderful, could not put in down, read the in two days,a must read

    wonderful, wounderful, loved the plot, love the sex, loved loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly recommended!!!

    This book was really good!! I didn't want to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    H

    Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    This was okay

    I enjoyed this book, but I found myself skipping pages. It was a lot of information and just a lot going on. I can 't see myself finishing the series, but do not let my review stop you from reading. EVERY READER, READS THE SAME BOOK DIFFERENTLY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Hmmm

    I found it to be very long winded 373 pages could have been cut dawn to 200 very easily. It had a good story but i cant tell you how many times i fast forwarded 10 to 15 pages and was still at the same scenerio, and missed nothing pertaing to the story. I dont think i would buy the rest of the series because of that fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    This is the first book in the series and it delivers. Move over

    This is the first book in the series and it delivers. Move over Dark Hunters and Carpathians, The Guardians of  Ascension are here to stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Love!

    I loved all these books and itjust keeps getting better and better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    Whole Series is Highly Recommended

    Love this series. I like how we get to know each warrior along with his woman and friends. Great reading!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    One of my favs

    Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Yo mama

    NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Jag

    Umm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Miya

    *looks at it and half-smiles* Look, Jag. I don't feel the same way you feel for me. I let go of you, and it's time you get go of me. Im sorry. *gets up and walks off*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    It had a good plot. But it did get to the point where I stopped

    It had a good plot. But it did get to the point where I stopped truly caring about the characters. It was extremely repetitive and infuriating. After this book I never want to see the word "Cried" again . If you can get passed some of the flaws in Ascension you may make it through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great book with a new twist on vamps!!!!!

    Fun book with lots of action and romance. If you are looking for something different this is a good place to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ascension by Caris Roane Alison Wells is closing her psychology

    Ascension by Caris Roane
    Alison Wells is closing her psychology practice and going back to school. She is feeling unfulfilled, jealous of her sister, Joy’s, family life and love. She reflects on the last guy she went out with and how she hurt him but we’re not told how, exactly. She throws a statue through the window, which shatters but she stops the window and the statue, pulls it back and the window is as new, the reader is left with a “what the?” feeling. Alison just has to see one more patient, Darien Greaves. She thinks on him and that she really hasn’t helped him at all as he arrives. He offers her a job with him, offering her almost the world to come with him. She turns him down.

    Then someone is murdered in the street below and they go down to see. There is a crowd around and the emergency personnel but no one sees the winged figure rising above the dead woman. The black wings beating, the beautiful bluish man calls to Alison, telling her it’s her turn. Then a man with big muscles and white wings comes between them. She is drawn to his cardamom scent and the warrior is drawn to the lavender she is putting out. Neither of them are really sure what is happening and Alison is not sure she likes the fact that no one but her and Darien can see these two winged me. Then Darien disappears and the fight between the men begins. The warrior wins, introduces himself as Kerrick, a Warrior of the Blood, takes her memory and leaves her a card of a local club, and disappears, leaving her bewildered and with a headache.

    This is the start of one of the most interesting takes on the Vampire mythos I’ve ever read. Caris Roane has put interdimentional travel, winged vampire warriors with codes of honor and limited numbers to fight the hordes of death vampires who drain their prey and make war on humans and other vampires, led by Darien Greves, called the Commander. She has the concept of soulmate, lifemate, called breh hidden that has the mating scent between those who are drawn together, in this case cardamom and lavender.

    Kerrick is an Ascended Vampire warrior, he fights for the Supreme High Administrator of Phoenix 2, a woman named Endelle. He also becomes the Ascension Guardian of Alison, taking care of her for the three days between her declaring she wants to become what she is supposed to be; a citizen of the second dimension with all the power that entails, and also becoming her teacher. With Damien wanting to kill her since he cannot use her, this becomes very problematic for both of them, especially since they are falling in love while he is training her and keeping her alive.

    Ascension has a whole new world built just out of reach of our own, shadowing our own and it is told so cleverly that I cannot recommend it highly enough. And this is a series so we don’t have to wonder what happens with the other warriors and the war that is going on, we have three novels already out to enjoy with the potential for many more as other dimensions open up.I picked this up because the thought of vampires with wings intrigued me, I’m continuing with the read because it is one of the better series I’ve read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8