Customer Reviews for

Ascension

Average Rating 4
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A must read

If you enjoy book like the dark hunters series and j r ward books you will enjoy the first book in this series

posted by 158747 on May 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty Good

The story was pretty good. It has alot of 'language' but I found it funny in the way the author used it. Towards the end though the author over used 'cried' to describe how everone spoke. It seemed like a huge lack of imagination on the authors part.

posted by CrazySnowdog on June 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Really quite enjoyable

    Mortal earth (where we live now) is the first realm. Alison is called to ascend to the next dimension. Because of her great powers, she is hunted in hopes that she will be killed before the ascension ceremony. To keep her alive, she must be guarded by a vampire warrior, a warrior with a past who tries to ignore the mating call between them. This kept my interest and was really quite enjoyable. What is not to like when alpha male vampire warriors are ruled by a powerful, beautiful alpha female. I'm waiting for the next in this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Really great book!

    I really enjoyed this book. It had a great mixture, of sex, love and violence! I always hate stories that develop characters into 'falling in love' really soon but the author really took her time to build the understanding of why it was happening. It was definitely easy to connect my emotions to the book. I would have given it five stars but I felt that some explanations in the book were extremely repetitive. This book is very explicit with sex and cussing so if you aren't fond of that, then you shouldn't read it. However, I am so it was the perfect book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Image a world, full of good verses evil, hunky defenders of the

    Image a world, full of good verses evil, hunky defenders of the innocent, complete with wings! A place where there are those who would die just to protect humanity from evil. Now take that place and overlap it right over planet earth and focus it on Phoenix, AZ. Add to that a woman with amazing powers and a feeling of isolation. A man who has lost it all TWICE and you get Ascension.

    The fluent mind of Caris Roane gives us Ascension as the first book in her series of the same name. What a powerful punch this book carries. As with many books designed to carry a series there is that overload of information that can at times be unsettling. Fortunately for the reader, the main characters have charisma and pull and keep our attention over all the background chatter.

    In Ascension, Earth has many dimensions but our cast of characters inhabits only Mortal Earth and Second Earth. In order to inhabit Second Earth you have to Ascend to it. There has to be something about you worthy of the ascension. For Alison Wells it is an amazing amount of power that is stronger than almost everyone in Second Earth. Of course having such powers on Mortal Earth makes her a danger to those she interacts with. She has to much.. when her emotions escape others can be hurt, which makes finding a lover and falling in love most difficult, as she put her last lover in the hospital when a burst of power escaped during lovemaking. While she is unaware of her powers, the powers that be on Second Earth are not and Evil, being evil does not follow the rules. For over a year she has been courted by the leader, the Commander, of evil. Either accept his position or die.. Unfortunately, he doesn't quite tell her this.

    Kerrick, a Warrior wounded by loss and failure to protect his family in centuries past, has been assigned to protect her. Having made a vow to never again enter a relationship where he is responsible for the safety of a wife and children, Kerrick is ready to run when once they meet the sparks fly. He doesn't want anything to do with the sensual pull that claims them both. Destined mates, they must find a way to survive Alison's ascension to Second Earth. During the three day period prior to ascension the rules allow full out battle and her very life is at constant risk. Apart, these are two of the most powerful beings in Second Earth together, they have the power to battle any foe. The only thing holding them back is themselves.

    There is an amazing cast of characters set up to assist them in their battle, The Warriors of the Blood are the protectors of the void between the dimensions. They are passionate, arrogant and loyal to Endelle their leader for over 9000 years. Greaves, the commander is a sufficiently slimy villain, guaranteed to use every possible trick up his sleeve to win the battle for control of both Mortal and Second Earth. At this point in the game he is edging ever closer to his goals. He has turned a famed Warrior of the Blood, he has bribed the ruling council and he is poised to win. All that remains between him and his goals is Endelle and her Warriors.

    This book has a lot of background information that you have to absorb, it can be distracting. I think it will be a fabulous read the second time.. As far as introducing the rest of the series? I can not WAIT to read Burning Skies and Wings of Fire both of which are out already. And coming in soon Born of Ashes! This promises to be a series to go straight to the top of my tbr list.

    Shauni

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    A good read....worth the money

    It does remind you of J.R. Ward's series, just not as dark. I like the characters and come on, what woman wouldn't want there to be instant animal sexual attraction? lol Only with the right fantasy figure of course. I like the world she writes about and I will buy the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Good serious

    Love the book definatley felf like i was watching a movie , a few slow parts but worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good but a few things here and there

    this book was really interesting and different, and original, the author put it together nicely. the only problem that really started getting on my nerves and annoyed me was that she didnt really use a variety of words after dialogue, for example, he said, snarled, shouted, explained, whispered... it made me very frustrated that the author kept using 'cried' over and over and over, it made me think that she just wanted to write the book but was lazy and used some words at improper times. besides all that, i would recommend and am looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Great read!

    Held my attention from beginning to end. Very well written, exciting storyline. Looking forward to the next installment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great new vampire novel

    Exciting plot with action, adventure, and romance. The characters you will quickly become attached to as the story grips you with intrigue and entrenches the reader within an extraordinary world. I enjoyed this new and creative vampire novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2