Customer Reviews for

Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    Review of Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness

    In Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness: A True Story, he recounts his own early spiritual development and his eventual devotion to Satan. Having grown up disillusioned with life and religion, Leehan felt that the darkness should be exalted and decided to live for and serve Satan. As his life disintegrated and he became more isolated, he became addicted to the power that was brought about by the dark rituals that he conducted at night. This false power came at a cost; his relationships and career faltered as he delved deeper into ritual cuttings, blood sacrifices, and demonic encounters. When his girlfriend convinced him to accompany her to LifeChurch in Oklahoma, his spiritual battle would increase even as he turned toward God.

    Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness: A True Story is an amazing account of the turn from darkness to the light. Throughout the book, Leehan honestly reflects on his spiritual past, providing the reader with grim details of his descent into Satanism. This is no trip through memories past in an attempt for self glorification, however. He freely admits the madness associated with his rituals and encounters. He simply wants to offer readers the insight into Satanic worship so that they might understand others who are going through similar circumstances. Too he provides a unique insight into Satanism and spiritual warfare with which all Christians should be familiar. This book is truly a wonderful testimony to the power of God to turn all lives toward Him; it is a great testimony from a now faithful believer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    Where Halloween was just upon us, Michael Leehan┬┐s life does see

    Where Halloween was just upon us, Michael Leehan’s life does seem like a scary movie. Having read Ascent from Darkness, I can honestly say my like has never been that extreme.

    When first starting to read the novel, the autobiography of a distinct period of time in Michael Leehan’s life, I was wondering if this was going to be a book of, how every so often, you hear of the worst criminals, jailed, and all of a sudden find God and become the strongest Christians. You wonder if you truly can believe them, or are they just good actors. And why did they have to go to such an extreme to do a 180° turn to the other extreme. Well, this is pretty close to that.

    It’s hard to believe many of these things happened – seeing shadows, hearing voices, having people in your life that actually want to pray and help you, and stick around even though they’ve witnessed extreme bahaviour and inexplicable events. i don’t think anyone in my life could have stuck around.

    There’s a lot of praying going on in Leehan’s life. It seems like he’s always stopping to pray with people. I’m sure that’s what saved him, but there’s a lot of it going on. I find that odd. as it mentioned too much that I think he’s praying alone and in groups everyday? Or does he do that, really?

    he novel certainly draws you in. He’s had a scary, but interesting, life.

    Hmmmm……….

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Ascent From Darkness

    Having just finished reading “Ascent from Darkness” by Michael Leehan I can venture to say that we get a front row seat in the theater as he describes his conscious rebellion against a God he didn’t understand at one time. Angry and depressed with how his life was going, Leehan actually declared his allegiance to Satan and so begins a most horrific and amazing journey. This much most of us can relate to as in our daily lives whenever things don’t go our way we tend to blame “Him”. From the making of a blood covenant with Satan to hearing, seeing, and experiencing his evil minions, Leehan’s life was controlled by Darkness.
    The life Michael Leehan lives today is an incredible testimony of the transforming power of God's mercy and grace, but is also a wakeup call to the church to be fully aware of the spiritual war that is going on all around them, and to the ultimate battle for their souls.
    I found this book an excellent read and I would recommend this book as a lesson in character, faith and hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    I have just finished reading this book. I received it from the p

    I have just finished reading this book. I received it from the publisher Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Story is about Michael Leehan and how his life spiral out of control when he renounced God and go to Satan's Camp. There he act on behalf of Satan to wreck havoc on normal Christian lives.

    To be honest, this book spooks me. The way it is written was very scary. At least that was what I felt when I read this book. It's like reading the mind of a mad man. Like "seeing" how a man become so twisted and evil.

    I felt very uneasy when I read about the method which Michael used to mislead Church goers when he was Satan's disciple. Makes me think and wondered how I can I trust him now? He mentioned about leaving Satanic Bibles in the churches and things like that as a way to mislead church goers and plant evil seed in their mind. Could this book also plant seed of evil in the readers mind if their faith is not strong? Won't they feel tempted to get their hands on Satanic Bible just to see what it's talking about?

    Nevertheless, am glad Michael is back to the good side.

    What I can say is I can read this book but am not sure it's the right book for me. I am sorry but for me this book is worth 2 stars out of 5. However, please do not be deter by my review. Others have read this book and have given it 5 stars. Maybe this book would be some help to those who needs it. After all, God works in mysterious ways.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Michael's testimony is truly remarkable and has had a profound i

    Michael's testimony is truly remarkable and has had a profound impact on my life. No kidding. I always knew and believed in God but I had never stepped up to the plate and completely committed myself to a true Christian lifestyle. After reading Michael's gripping story from darkness to light, my spiritual life has grown immensely and I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that it will continue to do just the same.

    This book has the power to literally change lives and I definitely recommend it as a must read!


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Astonishing!

    This guy was at the end of his rope(literaly spealing) When God let him know he was protecting him and watching over him.This was thru the many prayers and love from his friends. God sees us in our struggles but we must choose him and trust him. Just as I was beginning to wander how much a person could take ,God save this person and made him whole.Praise the Lord! This is a book that is a must read. If you know a person who is going thru a spiritual battle, hand them this book it will change their life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    This book is about a man who is trapped in Satan's world and commands. His lost soul eventually comes in contact with God and God becomes his savior.
    Ascent From Darkness is a uplifting book. It is able to help you see a light at the end of tunnel when you think it is the end of the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ascent from Darkness- A Gripping True Story

    I just read Ascent from Darkness by Michael Leehan. I have to say it’s something you are not prepared for. You might not believe in this but for anyone who is a Christian you know that there are spirits of darkness as well as angels of light. This book will throw you and open your eyes to a whole new world. The author tells you of his life dealing with spirits of darkness and how he finally got away from it all. It is a gripping true story that will have your hair on end and have you sitting on the edge of your seat.
    This is an eye opening book I encourage anyone to read. Especially Christians who are running LukeWarm. The style is easy to read and the story pulls you in. Leehan goes into explicit detail in this book but doesn’t reveal certain details about certain points, like the names of the demons he encountered. He will have you standing and praising God for what he can accomplish. He will get you on fire for the Lord.

    A book well worth reading.
    5 Stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Must read!!!!!

    This book will change your walk with god!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Ascent From Darkness by Micheal

    Ascent From Darkness by Micheal Leehan is a very intersting autobiography. It tells the story of how a devout Satanist became a warrior for God. Micheal Leehan grow up without a clear picture of the love of God. He was consumed with the question of evil. How can an all-powerful God let bad things happen? Micheal finnaly decided that God was actually both good and evil, that he controlled evil, and was responsable for all evil events. Following this twisted logic he decided to serve God's evil counterpart, Satan. Once he decided to follow Satan he did not look back for many years. His mission, from Satan, was to cause trouble in church small groups. He would go to the meetings, twist scripture, and sudce the weak Christian women then move on. He was filled with darkness. People who talked to him felt like they were talking to several people at once. He was possessed in every difinition of the word. Then, after years of fighting against God, he gave in to the saving grace of God. His to salvation was long in difficult but, praise God, he made it.
    The book is not a literatury masterpeice, but is seems to come from the heart of the author. I would be careful about who I would recommend this book to though. To a mature believer this book is another reason to praise God. But to an unsaved person it might arouse their interest in Satanic practices. But all in all I enjoyed the book and the message of redemption it told. I received this book free from Booksneeze. I was not required to write a good review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    A Must Read!!

    I just finished reading, "Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior" by Michael Leehan. When I was given the opportunity, through Booksneeze, to read this complimentary book I was unsure if should. However, after praying, I decided to read it and I am so incredibly glad!

    This book opened my eyes to the spiritual warfare taking place all around us. What I found equally as shocking as the battle for Michaels soul, was the fact that he lives in the heart of America. If evil can abound in the midst of what most know as the Bible Belt, Oklahoma, then evil is everywhere. It is right next to you and right next to me. The only thing stopping a massive tipping of the scales towards evil is Jesus Christ.

    Michael captures the reader's attention with his openness and honesty tempered with humility and regret. He does not glamorize his years of sin or mask the pain he felt while struggling to overcome a lifetime of depression and repression. The account of the events that transpired in the time leading up to Michael's acceptance of Salvation is touching. The struggle he endured while seeking truth, yet running from it, moves the reader beyond what mere words can describe.

    I highly recommend this book to anyone looking for an understanding of the depths Satan will go to deceive people. It is a book for anyone seeking truth, a book for anyone needing to know how far Christ will go to save a lost soul! Spiritual warfare is real and Michael's testimony is proof that both angels and demons are all around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intense, Powerful Read

    Summary: "Ascent from Darkness" by Michael Leehan is a very dark, very deep, yet very enlightening account of Leehan's "ascent" from his practice of Satanism to his embrace of God and Christ's sacrifice. The majority of the book follows the darker parts of his lives, but testifies to the power of prayer as various Christians enter Leehan's life and pray for him and encourage him. Leehan's experience included death, suicide, demons, sacrifice, cutting, rituals, and much more. But a fight within him eventually led him to the Lord and freed him from the weight of darkness.

    Review: This book was an extremely intense read, like reading a mystery suspense thriller. I was on the edge of my seat wanting to know what would happen next. While I have always been critical of "spiritual experiences," this book convinced me of something I've always known: demons and spirits are out there, and they're battling for our souls, influencing people like Leehan was to manipulate believers for the worse. Leehan's writing isn't too explicit, but it's enough to emphasize just how real the spiritual battle is and just how prepared we need to be. It has certainly motivated me to surrender more to God and His Word in obedience and love. Leehan's testimony may be difficult for some to read. Aside from Satanism, Leehan slept around and treated people poorly. He even ended up in jail for several months, and almost committed suicide. There's a lot to relate to in his story, and it may bring up unpleasant memories or temptations. But it also ends with a wonderful admonition to follow Christ through all the ups and downs. It's a powerful read.

    Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

    * Disclaimer: I received this book for free from Book Sneeze in exchange for my honest review of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    From "Satan's Soldier" to "God's Warrior"

    Description:
    Ascent From Darkness is the true story of Michael Leehan, a man who felt abandoned by God and turned to Satanism. Michael's whole life seemed to be submerged in a darkness he couldn't defeat, so he gave in. He had a loving family, friends that cared about him, and was brought up going to church, but no one seemed to be able to get though to him, especially after he experienced cult life and became "Satan's soldier". He goes through so much torment because of this, breaking apart his family, losing his job, cutting, suicidal thoughts, and an attempted murder; a downward spiral that almost lands him in jail and worse. Thankfully, he turns back to serving God before he loses his life, or takes the life of someone else.

    Review:
    I am a strong-willed Christian and a firm believer in redemption and forgiveness. That in mind, I knew that this book would be challenge for me because I was brought up with religion and I have never imagined not being a God-fearing Christian. Surprisingly, after the first chapter I couldn't put the book down. Michael's story both horrified and amazed me. It is unbelievable all that he went through and all that it took for him to get where he is today, faithfully serving the Lord. This is a book that every Christian should read because the devil is very real, and he is always trying to weasel his way into our lives, whether we recognize his influence or not. His story is gripping, heart-breaking, and inspiring. I believe I am a stronger individual and Christian after reading this. Overall, both style and substance were evident and appreciated. I recommend Ascent From Darkness to Christians and anyone who who wants to explore the real-world of God vs. Satan.

    Rating: Clean Getaway (5/5)

    ***I received Ascent From Darkness from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    A great book

    Ascent From Darkness by Michael Leehan is a true story of how God transformed Michael's life, taking him from Satan's side to God's side. This book is filled with stories and experiences that will both surprise and astonish you. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants to learn how "the other side" operates. It really challenged me to draw closer to God. I am a member of Book Sneeze by Thomas Nelson, I receive free books in exchange for reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ascent From Darkness

    Ascent from Darkness How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior By Michael Leehan is an uplifting story that illustrates that the saving power of the cross can in fact really change people. As if the bible itself were not full of examples of changed lives: Saul who used to persecute the early Christians, and King David who repented after committing murder and adultery are just two of many examples. And for those who continue doubt in this modern day that faith has the power to change here is another story. No one, while still here on this side of eternity is too far gone to be born again and to make real and relevant changes- showing the fruits of the Holy Spirit. It is only after we have died, and entered eternity, when that choice is solidified and unchanging. As the bible says, now is the time to believe and now is the time to be saved. As a part of the booksneeze bloggers I recieved this book from Thomas Nelson publishers for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ascent from Darkness

    Every Christian needs to read this book. This is the story of a satanic worshipper who became a child of God. Readers realize that no human is too far gone, and that the love of God knows no bounds and turns no one away--regardless of how bad they've been. However, what I daresay is of more importance is understanding real spiritual warfare.

    I am glad Leehan is now a slave of Jesus Christ, but some of what he did in his possession is worth noting for us to learn from. He would purposely go to churches to start conflict; he would memorize Bible verses and try to mess people up with them; he would go to singles groups and look for venerable women to satisfy his lust; he would purposely try to break up marriages; he would burn pages of the Bible; he would go after those who seemed young both in age and in the faith; he would see spirits; he would hear demons; he communicated with the spiritual realm; he saw / felt hedges of protection around certain people; he could tell in Bible studies who was really seeking God and who was immature in faith; and the list goes on.

    What is most striking is that the forces of darkness can indeed enter "Christian circles" and pretend to be Christian to manipulate others. I'm not saying one has to be calling every single sinful person possessed, but I do think us as Christians need to be more on our toes (Matt 10:16). Things like blood sacrifice, spiritual influence, voices, and so much more are told with horrifying clarity. The book even includes eye-witness accounts from people who back up Leehan's story.

    Both before and after his conversion, Leehan comments about how little Christians know about the God they profess. Christians, please read your Bible and get to know your God. Church and devotionals are great, but God is bigger than the beatitudes and self-help lessons. Read a translation you understand and get to know what you are dealing with. Reading this book was hard, and when Leehan wrote of what God told Him, I started to cry. Some words on pg 211 include: "I created you. I chose you first. I will never leave you. You will never leave Me. You are in My hands; you are in My arms."

    While I have not been as in deep or intensely lost as Leehan, I can identify with a lot of what he went through in terms of possession, the dark side, spirits, blood rituals, and more. Like Leehan, the love of Christ grabbed me by the collar and did not let go (look at Job 30:18 and verses around it). The forces of darkness are real, and don't you dare think for one moment that you don't have to understand them. I'm not saying to go read every occult book or obsess with all that research; the Bible has enough in it (2 Tim 2:15).

    I personally feel a hedge of protection around me as I claim Zech 2:5 for the fire of glory around me. I heard God whisper He loves me (Rom 5:5) as I am flooded with God (Eph 3:19). Every day is a battle (Eph 6:12) but I stare at God (Heb 12:2). God protects His own, yes, but from the Book of Job, we see that God allows even the upright to be tested. It is my sincere hope that you will never have to see, hear, or come into contact with the dark forces of this world. However, I assure you they are real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Battle for your soul

    This is a very well written book that tells us the incredible story of a man that hit the bottom on his life and was able to recover just by the grace of our God.
    Michael Leehan make a deal with Satan to serve and follow him because he was disappointed with his life and he stop believing in the existence of a true loving God. That decision lead to the practice of dark arts, that filled him with the sensation of having spiritual powers and he used those powers to disturb Christian congregations. Instead of bringing him worldly rewards, he found his life going down the drain and the diligent prayer of a group of Christians brought him to realize that there were powers superior to the ones he knew from the dark side. But the final touch was his encounter with God, when he was about to end his own life out of desperation. That encounter changed his life and the lives of those around him.
    This is a powerful testimony that should be not taken lightly. I recommend this book to be in the permanent library of all Christians and they should read constantly to remind them on the spiritual battle that happens daily in the spiritual realm for their souls.

    This book was written by Michael Leehan and published by Thomas Nelson in September of 2011 and they were kind enough to send me a copy for reviewing through their Thomas Nelson Book Review Bloggers Program.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Amazing book! Gripping!

    Michael Leehan is a former satanist who was pursued and embraced by Christ, so that he is an evangelical minister today. This book is his true testimony.


    I began reading and found it very hard to stop. Leehan's involvement with Satan was powerful and real. The enemy's clever schemes would chill the heart of any believer. Leehan was given assignments to carry out evil plots... but throughout his life he was pursued by Christ, who sent believers to pray and witness to him. Leehan infiltrated churches and bible studies with the express interest to take them down, seduce and weaken the weakest, and to take out leaders.


    But he could never stand praise and worship. And in time, as the darkness consumed him, part of him ached to live... he began to see that maybe Christians, who he'd always disdained as fake and weak, might actually have a power he did not? Maybe God might really be good, as they claim, and not the disengaged apathetic enemy Leehan had assumed?



    This book was was one of the most powerful books I've read. It really exposed me to the reality of the spiritual warfare going on all around us. I'd had some minor experiences, but Leehan's accounts are very chilling... this book is a powerful testimony of how can light triumphs over darkness in our lives, if we fully surrender to the God. For me, it shed light on a few strange encounters I had in my own life, and the amazing redemptive power of Christ over my journey. This is an amazing book, and you really should read it.


    I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my impartial review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Hard to put down!

    Ascent from Darkness is a gripping, intense true-story book about a man who was a satanist and then finally yielded to God and became a Christian. Michael Leehan candidly tells his story beginning from young adulthood and the events that took place in his life to propel him to the dark side and ultimaltely make the worst mistake of his life: to pledge allegiance to Satan and to follow demonic influences and everything that comes with it. The author gives an account of his life and all of the landmark decisions and happenings that defined his miserable and tormented existence. He details his interactions with demons, and how he was used powerfully to entice Christians to walk away from their faith. I absolutely could not put this book down because it was so riveting to read! It was amazing to hear his stories and almost unimaginable to think that the things he described and lived actually happened. It is amazing to me that this man by the grace of God is still alive today, and especially amazing that God loved him so much (even though he was a warrior against God for Satan) that He opened his eyes and softened his heart to receive Him. This book is a good read, but as a warning it is a little scary and will make you realize (if you didn't already) that we live in a spiritual realm that we cannot see. But, God is on the throne and his will will be done, as you will see in this book!
    I received this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    A Must Read For Every Christian

    Ascent From Darkness by Michael Leehan is a chilling autobiography of a man who gave his life in complete surrender to satan. He shares his gripping story of how he attended churches for the sole purpose of disrupting services by causing tension and conflict and bringing Christians, especially young women, into his life of darkness. He shares his worship of satan by sacrifice of animals, cutting his body, drugs, manipulation and jail time. The most chilling part of this story was his planting of satanic bibles inside churches, in hidden places, to bring the power of the devil in conflict with the Holy Spirit. The devil gave him discernment and prophetic visions of future acts. He also received assignments from satan, one of which was to kill Pastor Craig Groeschell. , pastor of Life Church. But God got ahold of his heart, and the author now sits in the front row of that church, under this pastor's ministry.

    This story reminded me of C.S. Lewis' Screwtape Letters, and the havoc caused by the demons against Christians. It also caused me to reflect upon circumstances in churches and wonder just how much satan has infiltrated them. This book will cause you to think and be more alert as a Christian. It is not for the faint of heart, but it will definitely open your eyes to the fight of God vs. Satan in our present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2