Customer Reviews for

Ascent from Darkness: How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Review of Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness

In Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness: A True Story, he recounts his own early spiritual development and his eventual devotion to Satan. Having grown up disillusioned with life and religion, Leehan felt that the darkness should be exalted and decided to live for and ...
In Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness: A True Story, he recounts his own early spiritual development and his eventual devotion to Satan. Having grown up disillusioned with life and religion, Leehan felt that the darkness should be exalted and decided to live for and serve Satan. As his life disintegrated and he became more isolated, he became addicted to the power that was brought about by the dark rituals that he conducted at night. This false power came at a cost; his relationships and career faltered as he delved deeper into ritual cuttings, blood sacrifices, and demonic encounters. When his girlfriend convinced him to accompany her to LifeChurch in Oklahoma, his spiritual battle would increase even as he turned toward God.

Michael Leehan's Ascent from Darkness: A True Story is an amazing account of the turn from darkness to the light. Throughout the book, Leehan honestly reflects on his spiritual past, providing the reader with grim details of his descent into Satanism. This is no trip through memories past in an attempt for self glorification, however. He freely admits the madness associated with his rituals and encounters. He simply wants to offer readers the insight into Satanic worship so that they might understand others who are going through similar circumstances. Too he provides a unique insight into Satanism and spiritual warfare with which all Christians should be familiar. This book is truly a wonderful testimony to the power of God to turn all lives toward Him; it is a great testimony from a now faithful believer.

posted by pitchingpencils on November 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have just finished reading this book. I received it from the p

I have just finished reading this book. I received it from the publisher Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Story is about Michael Leehan and how his life spiral out of control when he renounced God and go to Satan's Camp. There he act on behalf...
I have just finished reading this book. I received it from the publisher Thomas Nelson Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

Story is about Michael Leehan and how his life spiral out of control when he renounced God and go to Satan's Camp. There he act on behalf of Satan to wreck havoc on normal Christian lives.

To be honest, this book spooks me. The way it is written was very scary. At least that was what I felt when I read this book. It's like reading the mind of a mad man. Like "seeing" how a man become so twisted and evil.

I felt very uneasy when I read about the method which Michael used to mislead Church goers when he was Satan's disciple. Makes me think and wondered how I can I trust him now? He mentioned about leaving Satanic Bibles in the churches and things like that as a way to mislead church goers and plant evil seed in their mind. Could this book also plant seed of evil in the readers mind if their faith is not strong? Won't they feel tempted to get their hands on Satanic Bible just to see what it's talking about?

Nevertheless, am glad Michael is back to the good side.

What I can say is I can read this book but am not sure it's the right book for me. I am sorry but for me this book is worth 2 stars out of 5. However, please do not be deter by my review. Others have read this book and have given it 5 stars. Maybe this book would be some help to those who needs it. After all, God works in mysterious ways.


posted by Mamakucingbooks on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 6, 2012

    Ascent From Darkness

    Having just finished reading “Ascent from Darkness” by Michael Leehan I can venture to say that we get a front row seat in the theater as he describes his conscious rebellion against a God he didn’t understand at one time. Angry and depressed with how his life was going, Leehan actually declared his allegiance to Satan and so begins a most horrific and amazing journey. This much most of us can relate to as in our daily lives whenever things don’t go our way we tend to blame “Him”. From the making of a blood covenant with Satan to hearing, seeing, and experiencing his evil minions, Leehan’s life was controlled by Darkness.
    The life Michael Leehan lives today is an incredible testimony of the transforming power of God's mercy and grace, but is also a wakeup call to the church to be fully aware of the spiritual war that is going on all around them, and to the ultimate battle for their souls.
    I found this book an excellent read and I would recommend this book as a lesson in character, faith and hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Ascent From Darkness

    Ascent from Darkness How Satan's Soldier Became God's Warrior By Michael Leehan is an uplifting story that illustrates that the saving power of the cross can in fact really change people. As if the bible itself were not full of examples of changed lives: Saul who used to persecute the early Christians, and King David who repented after committing murder and adultery are just two of many examples. And for those who continue doubt in this modern day that faith has the power to change here is another story. No one, while still here on this side of eternity is too far gone to be born again and to make real and relevant changes- showing the fruits of the Holy Spirit. It is only after we have died, and entered eternity, when that choice is solidified and unchanging. As the bible says, now is the time to believe and now is the time to be saved. As a part of the booksneeze bloggers I recieved this book from Thomas Nelson publishers for the purpose of writing this review. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    Hard to put down!

    Ascent from Darkness is a gripping, intense true-story book about a man who was a satanist and then finally yielded to God and became a Christian. Michael Leehan candidly tells his story beginning from young adulthood and the events that took place in his life to propel him to the dark side and ultimaltely make the worst mistake of his life: to pledge allegiance to Satan and to follow demonic influences and everything that comes with it. The author gives an account of his life and all of the landmark decisions and happenings that defined his miserable and tormented existence. He details his interactions with demons, and how he was used powerfully to entice Christians to walk away from their faith. I absolutely could not put this book down because it was so riveting to read! It was amazing to hear his stories and almost unimaginable to think that the things he described and lived actually happened. It is amazing to me that this man by the grace of God is still alive today, and especially amazing that God loved him so much (even though he was a warrior against God for Satan) that He opened his eyes and softened his heart to receive Him. This book is a good read, but as a warning it is a little scary and will make you realize (if you didn't already) that we live in a spiritual realm that we cannot see. But, God is on the throne and his will will be done, as you will see in this book!
    I received this book from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing Testimony, but quite dark

    Satan is real, if you had any doubts.

    In Ascent From Darkness: How Satan's Solider Became God's Warrior, Michael Leehan details his twenty year journey into Satanism and how the God of mercy and grace rescued him from the pit. The testimony of Leehan is incredible, showing how God is relentless in his pursuit of us and the power Light has over darkness. Oh, but the darkness is so black, and Ascent is at times almost impossible to read, lifting back the curtain on a spiritual battle that is raging for the souls of men, and exposing an adversary so evil that the darkness almost seeps from the pages of this biography.

    How does one turn to Satanism? Michael Leehan takes the reader down a dark and twisted path of depression, lies and despair. Raised by unloving parents who only paid lip service to their faith, Leehan is reckless and troubled, already addicted to alcohol and prescription medications by the time he is twenty. After a series of near fatal accidents and a painful divorce, Leehan gives himself over to the Devil to do as he wills. In gruesome detail, Leehan describes the dark spirit of power that comes over him as he pledges his life to Satan, offering his own blood as a sacrifice of allegiance. Over the next twenty years Leehan gives his soul over to the dark side, praying to demons and offering animal sacrifices on demonic altars. He falls into "hell on Earth" as a slave to his flesh, overcome with visions of murder, suicide and lustful passions, often spending time in jail and isolated. The bottom drops out when Leehan hears Satan tell him to murder the pastor of the church his daughter and girlfriend attend. With weapons and ammunition hidden under his coat, Leehan waits for the pastor to end his sermon so that he can finish the evil assignment. The events that follow can only be attributed to the transforming power of Jesus Christ and the love he pours out of His people, the Church.

    It is easy to focus on the darkness of this story, as it makes up the majority of the physical content of the book. However, the redeeming nature of Jesus Christ is just incredible. This book is dark, but darkness does not win! In the end, Leehan comes face to face with the powerful love of Jesus, and nothing else can hold a candle to it. While the dark details in this book might not be for everyone, the message is! God is alive, God is love, God wins. Satan is out to destroy this world, but he has already been defeated in Jesus' death on the cross. The testimony of Leeham reflects this truth over and over again. I walk away from this book even more convinced in the absolute power, grace and mercy of the gospel of Jesus Christ. Praise God for Michael Leehan and his courage to testify to it!

    Disclosure of Material: I received this book free from the publisher via Book Sneeze. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    "Ascent from Darkness" by Michael Leehand

    Hi! I got the book "Ascent from Darkness" by Michael Leehan today from booksneeze, and I literally have not put it down since I began reading the book. Before I get started, though, I need to let you all know that I received this book for free from booksneeze and I am under no obligation to give the book a good review. Everything I say is my own opinion and how I truly feel about said book. Now, on with the show! Anyway, "Ascent from Darkness" by Michael Leehan is a truly phenomenal book about a man's descent into satanism and how Jesus Christ saved him from that destructive lifestyle. Living in a fairly rural part of central Illinois, where everyone is Baptist, Catholic, Mormon, or a Jehovah's Witness, I've never fully faced one-on-one with a person thoroughly involved in the occult. I've had friends who've dabbled, but I've never met the stereotypical big, scary-looking, meaty guy with pentagrams etched into his arms. Reading this first-hand account was entirely eye-opening, and I think anyone who doesn't quite understand what a satanist believes should read this book. This book was very good and I would definitely give it a solid four out of five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1