Customer Reviews for

Ash Wednesday

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    Reality of Love

    This novel took the reality of love and displayed it so wonderfully. When you are introduced to these characters they are so real and the lives they lead are touchable and easy to believe. You find yourself so caught up in their situations and wanting to reach out to help them find that happy ending we all hope for in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    Meh...

    This book is easy to relate to if your a.)knocked up b.)a fictional character who enjoys promiscuity and somehow manages to elude the consequences of sexually transmitted diseases or c.)attracted to dirty, poor, blind men who frequent the bus. I found this book unfeeling and shallow. The plot is linear to the point of being flat. The point of view swapping from chapter to chapter gives the novel a decent pulse, however, I felt it was a downgrade from his first book. I was expecting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2005

    Surprisingly Likable Characters

    Even though at first I didn't like Jimmy at all, in the end I was pulling for him. The characters do seem like real people. Also, Hawke captured the feeling of Mardi Gras in New Orleans pretty well. As a resident, I feel he might have exaggerated a little bit, but you still got a really good feel for the city during that season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    It is good

    I never knew Ethan was an author..... It is very real and touching. Not at all fake. makes you feel like your reading about a real life story of a young man and his girlfriend/fiance. Nice ending .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2004

    Hawke captures the fear of commitment perfectly

    As soon as I started reading this book, I felt moved by what both characters were going through. Hawke captures the way that love never runs as smoothly as Hollywood movies make out. It's refreshing to read something that anyone who has been in love and felt insecure can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    Easy Read

    I picked up the book after reading an excerpt from the first chapter in a magazine. Honestly, I wasn't overly impressed. The book is an easy read and Hawke keeps it entertaining by switching points of view with each chapter. The story and characters were easy to relate to and the descriptions very very vivid. I never really got hooked on the novel as I was reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    Amazing story of true love

    Each word captures your attention and you cannot put down the book. He describes true love as it is in it's purest form. Heartache, rebellion, responsibility, this is the best book i've ever read!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Ash Wednesday

    Ash Wednesday, by Ethan Hawke, is an amazing novel that captures the passion of love and marriage between a bright young couple. It¿s about a young sergeant in the military (James Heartsock) (a.k.a. Jimmy) and his beautiful pregnant girlfriend (Christy Walker) who travels from New York to Texas where Christy¿s family resides. Christy has decided to leave Albany and head home to Houston to prepare and settle for a new life with her future child regardless if Jimmy comes along on not. She gives Jimmy the chance to either come with her or stay behind with the military. Jimmy has to decide whether he prefers his position in the military or Christy who is pregnant. It¿s a time where he needs to make the biggest decision that could forever change his life. Finally, he makes the decision to choose his lover over his post, leaving the military behind. Everything was going really well until they got married in Ohio before reaching Texas. Shortly after their marriage, they encounter their most crucial time of life in New Orleans during their honeymoon in which they could lose their baby. The doctor tells them that the baby might be dead because the baby has no heartbeats, which should be quite clear at 20 weeks. Christy doesn¿t want to believe that the fact that her baby could be dead. Therefore they leave this hospital in search for a better hospital in Houston. On their way to Houston, a cop pulls them over for speeding and arrests Jimmy for AWOL from the military while Christy is taken to a hospital in Houston. In the end, Jimmy¿s actions result into a dishonorable discharge but what matters most is that Christy returns back to him with a smile on her face. After reading only a few pages from Ethan Hawk¿s Ash Wednesday, I became interested in his style of writing because it is filled with excitement. His fascinating style of language was what caught my attention in the first place. His words show how realistic people would talk and interact with each other. I would recommend this remarkable novel written by this author who is also an actor for it shows how it deals with the reality of life. The story carries one into another world that involves passion, sex, youth pregnancy, marriage, family, and the start of parenthood. Throughout this book, I have learned to a great extent of the values of family and love. If you¿re someone who loves to read about romance and family, you¿ll completely find Ash Wednesday a novel to remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2003

    EXECELLENT BOOK!

    if u enjoyed The Hottest State, you'll like Ash Wednesday even more. the plot of this story really starts to take off and the situations they run into seems realistic and could easily be made into a movie. its not always a happyhappy book, but its incredibally realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2002

    Can you make your Christy feels like you are her Jimmy?

    Although I feel that Ethan Hawke pretty much pottraited himself in his own wild immagination when he was creating Jimmy Heartsocks character, reading this book makes me feel like I want to be the best I can for the woman who I love. I want her to have that kind of feeling about me just the way Christy feels about Jimmy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2002

    Kickass Book

    I finished this book in a couple of days over the summer. It was the best book I have read in a looonnggg time. I never thought Ethan Hawke would've had such a way with words, but he does. The metaphors used in this book remind you of classic Salinger and it also had a very heavy On the Road feeling to it. Hawke has very good taste in who he borrows from. Everyone should read this book though, espcecially guys, this is a tale of man's man trying to become a man he likes, which is the hardest thing to do in our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    Mind Blowing

    Not since the Perfect Storm have I picked up a book that I was unable to put down until the end, Ethan should not be in acting he should stay where his heart and head are, writing. He is an amazing character writer I felt like I was in the back seat of the car with these 2 people the entire journey, I am passing it along to my 17 year old daughter in hopes she will pick up some of his relationship insights-WOW!!!Way to go Ethan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Ash Wednesday

    Anyone who says Ethan Hawke Isn't a good writer is simply jealous that they have not done half of what he has accomplished with his life. Literary critics are pseudo intellectuals who can't get their own novels published, so they attempt to bring down the work of people who are talented. Shouldn't it matter more that someone enjoyed a book, or was moved by it, than if it meets some critics credentials of what a book should be? I should add that I really liked Ash Wednesday. I am debating whether or not to post this because tomorrow I'm going to read about how Ethan Hawke is writing his own reviews on Barnes and Noble's website.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Cool It Reminds of another great read..

    I loved the characters, It also reminded me of when I was in the service. Which brings me to another great book. 'This Aint No Pocket Diary' which I also got at Barnes and Nobles. These two books I highly recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    Awesome

    This book is, in one word, awesome. The people are so real-life. I am facinated with the Army life, and the effects that it has obviously had on this young man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    Carp in Denim

    Well, there's been a lot of talk about whether my eloquence could carry me through a second ride. Let me give you a little background. I was raised in a nudist colony bookstore surrounded by old Carl Sandburg types rattling on about the intransigence of the west. My mother detested the beats and preferred to nurture me on what might be said to be the earliest of last century's cranks and prophets. I feasted on a steady supply of Sinclair Lewis, Robinson Jeffers, Upton Sinclair even the washed out works of London and Dreiser. THis was the socialist hotbed of critical literature I fed on. But there was something missing, something I found my freshman year of college. It was an acting workshop, and I was playing the stage manager in 'Our Town'. A great part that I partly relished for the exposure to that old chestnut sputterer Thornton Wilder (the first who gave me greater glimpses into America's literary potential). It was in class that a fellow student lent me 'GO' a lesser book of the beat generation, but my first exposure to that wild jazz age I'd been so removed from in the store. From there it hit me like a cherry bomb, and as I continued to act my fervor for the beats grew. This book, to tell the truth has been waiting to get out even before I was born, and it's arrival, I hope brings my readers closer to the essence of that 'automatic writing' neglected by the cannon. I hope you all like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2002

    Great summer read

    I loved the use of metaphors in this book. I was a bit skeptical going in to the book because it's written by a celebrity, but the characters were real and you could relate to them. They are like the people you know or you yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    Gritty, Raw, Compelling

    A very raw, gritty look at young love and difficult choices. Although I tend to like more sweeping, innocent and idealistic love stories like Shade of the Maple by Kirk Martin or The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks, I found Ethan Hawke's writing very honest and compelling. A worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2002

    WONDERFUL!!

    This is a well-written story that should please practically everyone, and maybe save some from a few mistakes. This was a fast read and I got to like these people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    Thank You, Hawke

    Ash Wednesday made me feel more than anything I've ever read. Just a few days ago I began The Hottest State. After the first few pages, I couldn't put it down. I finished it in a few hours. Then, I picked up this book and began reading. I felt every word as I read it. Not to say Ash Wednesday had changed my life or anything, but being a teenager it did teach me a great deal about love and what it's really like, or so I hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2