Customer Reviews for

Ashes, Ashes

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

BookWhisperer Review: Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari

Ashes, Ashes is a terrifyingly realistic view at the world's end. BookWhisperer is not known for books such as this one; after several struggles this is usually a book that I would have avoided. Much to my surprise Ashes, Ashes will be the first of this type of book on ...
Ashes, Ashes is a terrifyingly realistic view at the world's end. BookWhisperer is not known for books such as this one; after several struggles this is usually a book that I would have avoided. Much to my surprise Ashes, Ashes will be the first of this type of book on my favorites list. Lucy is the strong and courageous sixteen year old that will follow throughout this novel. Being the soul survivor of her entire family she has set out to living in the wild alone. It is remarkable to follow this young girl as she struggles to survive in a world where the population has been wiped out down to a mere third. After the natural disasters that reeked havoc over the entire world the survivors then battled the plague that swarmed the remaining population. This was a terrifying look at the apocalypse that would leave every reader pondering their future. The romantic twist for Lucy and Aidan was a sweet hopeful addition that give readers moments of happiness to grasp through this story. This simple addition gives readers future hope the story that they will follow, and possibility for a dramatic happily ever after. As far as I can tell this is only this authors second novel, but I am utterly impressed by her ability to present such an intriguing story. If this is a glimpse at the works possible from this author I look for many more great books.

posted by Book_WhispererJO on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Divergent or Insurgent

This book was "o.k.". It was not what I was looking for after reading the Hunger Games Trilogy, Divergent & Insurgent, & Legend (great). I rarely want to leave a book unfinished; however, this was one of those books. I'm sure the Author has better to offer the reader. R...
This book was "o.k.". It was not what I was looking for after reading the Hunger Games Trilogy, Divergent & Insurgent, & Legend (great). I rarely want to leave a book unfinished; however, this was one of those books. I'm sure the Author has better to offer the reader. Read Legend or Divergent if you're looking for some "end of the world" action.

posted by CaseyABQ38 on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Warning

    Seemed more like a childish book. The ending was too rushed and read very choppy. I do not reccomend for those 12 and older. It was an alright book, but good for merely passing the time. But i do reccomend Dark Inside y Jeyn Roberts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Ashes, Ashes

    This was a good book, didn't want to put it down. I was a little dissapointed, I wanted more at the end. The author could have kept it going, dug deeper into the charactors. I wanted to know what happens to Lucy and Aidan. But it was still a good read. I would recommend it to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Everything that I feared about the end of the world was coming t

    Everything that I feared about the end of the world was coming to life right before my eyes as I was reading Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari.  Disastrous floods, erupting volcanos, devastating earth quakes.  Add on top of that a plague that wipes out almost all of earth’s population, and you have Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari.

    Imagine that the end of the world is upon you.  Imagine your home gone, friends gone, your favorite places gone…all the comforts of home including showers, changes of clothing, food, shelter…all gone.  Now imagine that you’re all alone… This is exactly what happened to main character, Lucy Holloway.  Having already survived on her own in the wild for a year, food is now getting even more scarce than it already is.  Not only does Lucy need to worry about scavengers (people who have survived who are scavenging everything they can to survive), S’ans (people who were affected by the plague, but didn’t die.  Instead they are rumored to be vicious, violent creatures), or Sweepers (people dressed in white HazMat type suits who seem to be rounding up any survivors and shipping them off to some location doing God knows what), but now there seems to be a slew of Sweeper’s tracking dogs hot on her trail, for reasons unknown to her.

    On a regular day of checking animal snares for food and getting more water, Lucy runs right into the path of these dogs which ultimately leads her to Aidan.  Aidan is also a survivor who is living with a group of scavengers, and when the only home that Lucy has known for the past year is gone, she finds herself amongst these people.  But life with Aidan and the scavengers is one of constant worry.  Sweepers keep coming back to their little commune, and taking any survivor they get their hands on, regardless of age.

    And it seems that where the Sweepers take these innocent people, nothing good ever happens…  It also looks as though these Sweepers are looking for one particular person and general, and Lucy seems to be the intended target.

    When a group of kids and friends of Lucy and Aiden’s are kidnapped, they venture to the very place that they have been wanting to avoid in order to rescue these people.  But things are not always as they seem, and Lucy must face a whole new challenge, or die trying.

    Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari was a book that sent chills up and down my spine.  The description of what happens when the world ends seems so real that it could actually happen at any moment.  Every natural disaster that could happen, pretty much does, and the city’s as we know it are drowning in flood waters, or the buildings are nothing more than rubble on the road.  The images easily jumped off the pages for me, and the need for survival is such a strong element in this story, that my heart raced with all the characters.

    The characters created by Jo Treggiari are ones that many readers will find themselves able to relate to.  Each with their own personalities, it isn’t hard to get swept up in their lives and with the various different situations that happen.  There were times where I feared for this clan of survivors.  I could hear the little noises that they would hear, wondering if its Sweepers coming to collect.  I could picture the devastation that they can see, I can feel the waning hope of safety and of surviving.

    I did find Lucy somewhat annoying at times.  I understand that she’s clumsy, but there were times where she was so clumsy it was stupid.  And really, if you need to vacate ASAP because the people who are hunting survivors is in your camp, do it.  Don’t go back for anything.  Come back later for it, gawd!  And why is she constantly pressing her nails into her palm…?  Okay, okay … enough about that…

    The different twists and turns found in Ashes, Ashes easily kept me glued to the pages, and on the edge of my seats.  I was angry when I needed to be angry, apprehensive when I had to be, and sad when the moment called for it.   Although the main plot line was pretty predictable to me, the way in which the story unfolded still captured my attention.  And of course, don’t forget those plot twists I mentioned.

    Fans of apocalyptical reads will devour Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari.  If you’re curious about how the world may end due to natural disasters, don’t hesitate in grabbing a copy and witness the devastation for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Lol

    I FARTED

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I heard abot it...

    I heard about it in a book catalogue. I'm going for something along the Divergent books and the Hunger Games trilogy books. Any suggestions...?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Boring

    The book is boring get ashes with the emp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I thought he book was great. I mean at some points in the story

    I thought he book was great. I mean at some points in the story I asked myself "omg where is this going can something just happen already!" The author though gave a lot of vivid descriptions about Lucy the whole end of the world and how everything went down. I could really see a little movie in my head. The ending came out of nowhere I was expecting to read more about Aidan and Lucy together. The thing that I really loved was the romance that Aidan had with Lucy. (SPOILER) For example when Sammy told Lucy that Aidan would go out and watch her from his tree and that he admired her or the way he held an kissed her, it was so romantic. I really liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Nook 123

    :p

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    K

    K soooooo to the person sayin it should have the same names as narnia one the silver chairs in there to and two its the last battle

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Diffrent things like it

    This book is just like the hunger games. Well maby not JUST like it but close. Lucy is like katniss and adien is like peeta. You know how theres lucy and susen then rob? Well it should be lycy susen and (edman) so it would be like narnia in THE LION THE WITCH AND THE WORDROB, PRINCE CASPIEN, AND THE LAST ONE. Thay have all but 1name. Any way i really like this book its kinda life changing i mean like we dont have the plagu anymore so by the way she put how she was in the woods and how bad it was u can kinda amagen it in ur head wat it looked like and could amagin how hard it proble is to catch food out thire.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Did they

    I think aiden and lucy did it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Love it!

    I really loved this book!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    I liked this book a lot, but thought it was a bit perdictable in

    I liked this book a lot, but thought it was a bit perdictable in some parts. Although that may have somewhat to do with my bad habit of over-analyzing..but all in all, this was a great book, very intriguing, and an amazing adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Ashes ashes we all fall down!

    Hahaha....
    Seriusly it kinda reminded me of that. It was basicaly based on death and the consept reminded me of Terminator 4.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2012

    Ashes Ashes by Jo Treggiari is a great novel. It shows a realis

    Ashes Ashes by Jo Treggiari is a great novel. It shows a realistic end of the world by pandemic and natural disasters. The main character, Lucy struggles to survive on her own in the futuristic Central Park of New York City. She is surviving until her camp is destroyed by a tsunami forcing her to move on. She walks to a settlement of survivors living as a community. Lucy joins them and is helping out with day to day work when abductors attack and capture a few survivors. The attacks happen frequently and Lucy wants to rescue them but isn't sure what is best for her survial.
    I really liked this book because it is full of action. I dislike some created words because it takes awhile to discover the meaning to those words. I reccommend it to anyone who likes realistic fiction and action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    Love this book!!

    This book was such a great read!! I definitely recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Doesnt make much sense

    I really didnt understand this book much. It was a really slow and long start. Also kind of creepy

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    Great read!!

    A unique YA Dystopian tale that had a nice blend of danger and the stirrings of young romance. Great twists and turns to an end-of-the-world as we know it story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I haven't read this book yet but i am about to so does it have a

    I haven't read this book yet but i am about to so does it have a good romance story line?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was not one of the best books I've read, but it was okay. B

    This was not one of the best books I've read, but it was okay. But I think that it was not worth the $12.00 dollars I paid. If you want to read it just to read a book, then go ahead. But i would not recommend it. There was just not enough. The author could of put in so much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 6