Customer Reviews for

Ashes, Ashes

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

BookWhisperer Review: Ashes, Ashes by Jo Treggiari

Ashes, Ashes is a terrifyingly realistic view at the world's end. BookWhisperer is not known for books such as this one; after several struggles this is usually a book that I would have avoided. Much to my surprise Ashes, Ashes will be the first of this type of book on ...
Ashes, Ashes is a terrifyingly realistic view at the world's end. BookWhisperer is not known for books such as this one; after several struggles this is usually a book that I would have avoided. Much to my surprise Ashes, Ashes will be the first of this type of book on my favorites list. Lucy is the strong and courageous sixteen year old that will follow throughout this novel. Being the soul survivor of her entire family she has set out to living in the wild alone. It is remarkable to follow this young girl as she struggles to survive in a world where the population has been wiped out down to a mere third. After the natural disasters that reeked havoc over the entire world the survivors then battled the plague that swarmed the remaining population. This was a terrifying look at the apocalypse that would leave every reader pondering their future. The romantic twist for Lucy and Aidan was a sweet hopeful addition that give readers moments of happiness to grasp through this story. This simple addition gives readers future hope the story that they will follow, and possibility for a dramatic happily ever after. As far as I can tell this is only this authors second novel, but I am utterly impressed by her ability to present such an intriguing story. If this is a glimpse at the works possible from this author I look for many more great books.

posted by Book_WhispererJO on April 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Divergent or Insurgent

This book was "o.k.". It was not what I was looking for after reading the Hunger Games Trilogy, Divergent & Insurgent, & Legend (great). I rarely want to leave a book unfinished; however, this was one of those books. I'm sure the Author has better to offer the reader. R...
This book was "o.k.". It was not what I was looking for after reading the Hunger Games Trilogy, Divergent & Insurgent, & Legend (great). I rarely want to leave a book unfinished; however, this was one of those books. I'm sure the Author has better to offer the reader. Read Legend or Divergent if you're looking for some "end of the world" action.

posted by CaseyABQ38 on July 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Nightdove

    She is a black cat with white paws and blue eyes. She is funny caring and kind. She has a mate named darkeye but has not seen him around and is getting worried. She has a kit named blackkit. Any thing else plzz ask her.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Brightclaw

    He repells scourge. ( res two)Unstead of scourges black and messy fur he has nice groomed white fur ( it happens) has clean white claws. Is normal sized and cannot match in skill in skill with scourge. He and scourge are like brother. They were born together with pepperclaw ( 3rd res) who is part of fireclan. And pepperclaw is always helping brightclaw they make a vauleable team and togeather can just barley defeat scourge

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Myntlight

    Forget the dets, but my full bio, with history, is at 'mynt' res one. Name Myntlight<br> Age 12 moons i think.<br> Gender she.<br>Pelt black though i forget the rest now. Look at my bio for it<br> Family im sure you know my family by now for the most part. Striking stealthpaw prismpaw envy (long story) thunderpaw. Sneakshadow and Fearfur. <br>Kits forget the names. Look at my bio for them. <br>All of first litter is at bloodclan while second is at ashclan. Also father of first litter is Striking while Revenge is father of second litter. Recently died because Striking didn't want me spreading a secret and so sent Metal to kill me. (Sry, i have a horrid memory)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    SandStorm and co

    AGE- 16 1/2 moons
    <br> GENDER- tom
    <br> LOOKS- a hansome dusty brown tom with honest deep blue eyes. When he smiles, it is crooked from his father slashing his mouth as a kit.
    <br> PERSONALITY- he is a very up-beat tom. He is always looking to help others and is med cat when CloudBeauty is gone. He loves kits and knowing he is making a difference. Has a kind and genuine personality
    <br> MATE/KITS/CRUSH- LeafDapple/Longkit, Blackkit, Splashkit, and Swirlingkit(i forgot the last one!) / was MagicalSoul. She doesnt like him back so LeafDapple now
    <p> BoldSpirit. AGE- 14 moons
    <br> GENDER- tom
    <br> LOOKS- pitch black pelt with white paws and blazing amber eyes.
    <br> PERSONALITY- he is the youngest of his kin. He is much like a kit and boysterious. He is playful and fun to be with. Loves his family and is a strong warrior.
    <br> MATE/KITS- PaleRose/ Sweptkit and Hawkkit
    <p> JayFeather••BlueMoon
    <br> AGE- 19••22 moons
    <br> GENDER- she••tom
    <br> LOOKS- a black d white splothed pelt with dazzling icy blue eyes•• Smokey grey pelt with blue frindges. Wise and gentle green eyes. His shoulder has a battle scar
    <br> PERSONALITY- a very gentle cat around her kits. Fiecre and a orthy opponent to enemies.•• VERY wise and kind. But will shred any Bloodclan cat to bits.
    <br> MATE/KITS- none/Couragekit, Nightkit and lionkit•• MelodyRiver / nope
    <p> Couragekit,// Lionkit,// Nightkit
    <br> LOOKS- a dark brown and white splotched kit. HER dark brown splothes r tiger striped. Mischevous green eyes// HE has a golden pelt with deep blue eyes// SHE has a pitch black pelt with amber eyes
    <br> PERSONALITY- leader of siblings SHE is very bold and adventerous. Not afraid to confront an enemy. She is brave, curious, bold, playful, and adventerous// Lionkit is very shy but sweet and nice tp others// Nightkit is bonded with her mothr (JayFeather) and loves to play

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Ashes, ashes

    This is a place you can comment and I will write back. Sorry the results switch.... =T

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It's ok

    One of the many dystopias that’s on the shelves, one that I decided to pick up because the plot itself looked and sounded interesting. For the most part it was. Albeit, the pace itself of the story was a bit slow. The setting itself isn’t so bad, Lucy herself is a survivor and knows how to live on her own - something I liked in her because sometimes the mopey heroines just don’t quite cut it in this type of setting. What I found amusing was despite how the world was, with everything totally upside down, teenagers will always act like teenagers. The petty bickering between Lucy, Del, and Aidan was out of place, but it also shows they’re still normal teenagers despite the circumstances. That was interesting to see, because it gives them a more ‘human’ feel instead of just standard characters on paper. There were a couple of things with the book that didn’t sit well with me. There were just so many unanswered questions! and I’m not sure there’s even going to be sequel? (if there is correct me if I’m wrong). You’re left with a “now what?” feeling at the end of the book. Besides the list of unanswered questions, the chemistry between Lucy and Aidan was just not there. I didn’t seem to really get a feel for both of them and they didn’t seem to go along well together. Some couples just...don’t mix well. It’s not the best read out there, but certainly worth a look see. I’d say take it or leave it. There’s much better, but there’s also a lot worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    Plz write more

    Write a series of this book or write a second one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Loved

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Chap4:others

    "Im your mother octave.i was16 when i had you." Vinel looked at me and walked out the door. I folloewd. I saw Glaze and Hope by the punch bowl with other ponies. I ran over to thwm. They were the first e was blue with orange hooves and a blond hair. Another grey with red anf grey hair. And the cutiest out of all of them was the one with blue headphones grey body blue and red mane. They told me thire names the brony dace party, mic the micraphone and the living tombstone. Thire all hits ln Ponytube. They told me to sing them them the song september and i did and the told me that i was abel to be in the next music vid they do!! Yay!! GLAZES POV: Then Octave left and tombstone nudged me "Shes real cute. Are you togeather?" He asks me"uh no. But are we suposed to be?." I ask."no but you two would make a good couple." Mic looked at me. "What ever you two. Im going to go somewhere eles." I look at both of them and i trot off outside. I run into a white pony with a black mane and tail. A white hoodie kept me from seeing his face. It had blood on it. Fake blood i was guessing. He got up and kept on walking. That didnt bother me one bit. I sat down in a water puddek. It felt good aginst me. The heat from inside the castel was unreal. The rain stopped and then i heard a scream. I ran back inside to see evry pony gone but the white pony and octave.-end of chap 4. Chap5 next res. Whos the mystiros pony?-do you like those bronies i added in there? Zella

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Interesting idea, poorly executed...

    Where do I start with this book...? I was really excited after reading the sample. The opening scene with Lucy trying to crack open a turtle was so gruesome and perfect that i wanted learn more about our main character. In most survival novels the main characters are so well suited to their post apocolyptic lives that its hard to relate to them. That being said: what started off as excitement quickly turned to boredom. The survivor qualities that i liked about Lucy disappeared almost as soon as she met aidan. Lucy's character became so weak that i actually found myself rolling my eyesbin certain scenes. The plot was slow and predidtible and never really came to a resolution. I kept reading hoping that lucy would quit hiding and do something to make me think she was heroic. By the end i felt that all of the good points of the book were overshadowed by a flat cast if characters and i world that doesnt seem very well thought out. I gave it two stars for effort but i think this might be one of the most disappointing books in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    KESTRELMOON IS LOCKED OUT OF EVERYTHING!

    Can you please move your rp for them?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Why are you acting like cats?

    Why?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Deathclaw

    Bites ashstar in throat. He dies.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Thx firepaw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Firepaw to ashstar

    Hey Ashstar when are you going to do Lilypaws warrior ceremony?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    To echosong

    I think he died at tundra res 1.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Lionfire

    Ravenflight broke her neck while battleing deathclaw at the med den and i killed deathclaw because he almost killed ravenflight Ashstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    Supernova to ashstar

    Thank you ashstar.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Awesome book to read

    This book was so fun to read its a really good book if love to read! Totally recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Pretty good book. Kept my interest til the end. It seems like if

    Pretty good book. Kept my interest til the end. It seems like if the author wanted to then she could add a book 2 to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6