Customer Reviews for

Ashes in the Wind

Average Rating 4.5
( 144 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(107)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book!

I am only 17 and totally in love with this book. I was reluctant at first to read it, and The Flame and The Flower, but my mom told me she would read my Twilight books if i read her books. Well im absolutely glad i agreed because all i can think about is this book and l...
I am only 17 and totally in love with this book. I was reluctant at first to read it, and The Flame and The Flower, but my mom told me she would read my Twilight books if i read her books. Well im absolutely glad i agreed because all i can think about is this book and love between Cole and Alaina. I didnt want it to end, and when i finished it i felt lost. There was never a dull moment in reading it, and i will definately be reading it over and over!

posted by xXFire_N_IceXx on October 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Uneven

I really enjoyed the first part of this book while it was based in New Orleans. When the characters moved to Minnesota, they seemed to have a complete personality change. Cole, who was so likeable in the beginning, became totally unsympathetic. Alaina started out fie...
I really enjoyed the first part of this book while it was based in New Orleans. When the characters moved to Minnesota, they seemed to have a complete personality change. Cole, who was so likeable in the beginning, became totally unsympathetic. Alaina started out fiesty then became annoying. It was almost as if Kathleen Woodiwiss stuck a completely different story onto the second half of the book.

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Book!

    I am only 17 and totally in love with this book. I was reluctant at first to read it, and The Flame and The Flower, but my mom told me she would read my Twilight books if i read her books. Well im absolutely glad i agreed because all i can think about is this book and love between Cole and Alaina. I didnt want it to end, and when i finished it i felt lost. There was never a dull moment in reading it, and i will definately be reading it over and over!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    My favorite book

    I read this book back in the 1980's when I was just a teen. I loved the characters and the plot. I've read many books since then, but find them lacking in depth. If you are undecided regarding this book, purchase it! You won't regret it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Love this book and love this author

    My mother had told me to read this book often,I never did read it ,until she picked it up and gave it to me!
    Wow this is a fantasic book one of my favorites ever ! It is a must read! The characters are so well written and the adventure they go through. Again it is a must read, all of her books are great!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Simply Breathtaking in all its Splendor

    There are no words or enough stars to rate this book, it is just splendid! It is so very well written and every character is well rounded with purpose. The storyline is magnificent and it has that Gone with the Wind feel to it. The heroine, Alaina, is just so admirable for all her fortitude and bravery especially at such a young age. The hero, Captain Cole Latimer, is positively a true hero and I could only imagine him to be Rhett Butler.

    The book is in two parts. Part one explains Alaina's background and how the story begins by meeting Cole. Part two is where the reader begins to learn about Cole's background and his story a little more in-depth.

    Wow, Wow, Wow... All I can say is that I wish I hadn't finished the novel so quickly, I miss it. I can't express how much I encourage reading this novel, it really is one of a kind.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I read several of these books many years ago and now that I have

    I read several of these books many years ago and now that I have my nook, I have ordered several books to read agin. My favorite is SHANNA. Can;t put these books down. I find I cook with her book in my hand and one of these days I will have the book in my food. GREAT

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cannot wait to read it again.

    When I was a teenager, my mother gave me this book. She read it many times, in fact... It is her favorite novel. I have also read it many times. So many that the binding began to come apart and I had to buy a new copy. I gave the original copy back to my mother, she still reads it even though the front cover has fallen off and the book is rather tattered. Looks like I will be buying her a new copy too very soon. I would highly recommend this book to anyone that has a passion for romance and the written word.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is one of the best Historical Fiction books I've read in a very long time. Its difficult to put the book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    One of my all time faves!

    'Al' is unforgettable... I have loved this book for years. All of the characters are well rounded and brought to life vividly. There are a handful of books good enough and memorable enough to make my keeper list of re-reads and this isone of them. Cole and Alaina wont dissappoint!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    excellent romance

    I always enjoy reading a book by Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, I have all the paperbacks, but truly enjoy reading it on my Nook Color. I have been able to get the books easily.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing!!

    This book was amazing from start to finish. This book and its characters were captivating. You must purchase this book you wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    My Absolute Favorite Book

    No other book can compare to this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dare you to read it JUST once

    This book has been a part of my permanent library for over 10 years! To me the sign of a great book is when you know the ending and it still doesn't take away from the read. I have read it multiple times and I'm sure that I will still read it many more. Thank you Kathleen!, another great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic

    I believe this may be my favorite book of Ms Woodiwiss. I was reminded of the classic Gone with the Wind because of the era of the story. While reading I constantly visualized the characters and scenery. This story is full of drama, comedy & romance with a plot that unfolds at the very end. I could not put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    My favorite novel

    This is my favorite novel of all times. I have read it multiple times over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    |Forest|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    Loved it!

    Kathleen Woodiwiss' writing is masterful for historical romances. She does not disappoint with "Ashes in the Wind." I missed many hours of sleep, because i couldn't put the book down. If you like historical romances, read this book, by the woman who created the historical romance genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Have the hardcopy and a digital copy, have loved this book for y

    Have the hardcopy and a digital copy, have loved this book for years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great read every time

    I read this book years ago and loved it then. Makes a great read for those who like some action and mystery with their historical romance. This author was one of my first to get me reading and keep me coming back for more of her novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    To firepaw

    Blazingstar and rowanpaw are goig to start battle training without you!! Go to penny result nine!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Spiritheart

    Nice training she praised them both

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 107 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6