Customer Reviews for

Ashes of Dearen: Book 1

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!!!!

I really hate reading reviews that give readers digest versions of the whole story. With that being said here is my review of this story.

Jayden Woods did an amazing job of taking me on a journey that was part sci-fi part anime part fantasy. I found myself so wra...
I really hate reading reviews that give readers digest versions of the whole story. With that being said here is my review of this story.

Jayden Woods did an amazing job of taking me on a journey that was part sci-fi part anime part fantasy. I found myself so wrapped up in the details of the book that I would forget to eat and sleep. I had to know what was going to happen next.

Jayden does a great job creating this book I cant wait to read the next in the series. Thank you very much for allowing me a travel through Dearen and the surrounding kingdoms.

posted by lmferguson on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

okay but......

underlying story was interesting - needed to be developed more. characters flat.

posted by rainey-day on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    I really hate reading reviews that give readers digest versions of the whole story. With that being said here is my review of this story.

    Jayden Woods did an amazing job of taking me on a journey that was part sci-fi part anime part fantasy. I found myself so wrapped up in the details of the book that I would forget to eat and sleep. I had to know what was going to happen next.

    Jayden does a great job creating this book I cant wait to read the next in the series. Thank you very much for allowing me a travel through Dearen and the surrounding kingdoms.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    Haunting and intriging. The author does a good job of inventing and defining a whole new world. Her characters are compelling, the conflict is intense, and the story is captivating. Looking forward to the next installment.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Loved the book

    This book was very fun for me to read. I was unsure at first, but the plot was always very interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I cannot wait to read Book 2. It was a great free book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Good read

    620 pages. You have to like sci fi to read this, I do, so I liked it. It starts off a little slow but keep reading and you'll want to finsh it, it does drop off at end. The second book comes out this summer.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Amazing

    Free

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Intriguing!

    An interesting fantasy novel. Excellent free book, though it leaves me hanging for the conclusion. Would recommend for fans of Piers Anthony.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Ashes of Dearen

    There are times when it is inappropriate so those parts can be skipped over and still understand the story line. Th plot of the story was immensly interesting and the writing was okay. I enjoyed reading it and do recommend it to those who love reading of new worlds. I want a book two to come out so that fans of this book can continue to enjoy Jayden Woods books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Loved it

    I didnt expect such a good read from a free book but I loved it and promptly bought part two after reading it in one sitting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Loved this book! I've never read a book like this one. It has e

    Loved this book! I've never read a book like this one. It has everything you want and expect out of a book. I couldn't put it down. Loved the characters, of course, hated some of them. But what Jayden Woods did with the storyline was so fantastic. Expect twists and turns and surprises throughout the whole thing. It was hard to put down. You won't be sorry when you read this fantasy, love, action, sci-fi, intriguing book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    okay but......

    underlying story was interesting - needed to be developed more. characters flat.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Entertaining

    It wasn't the best book I've ever read, but it kept me interested, enough so that I also puchased and read Ashes of Dearen Book 2. The whole S&M thing with Picard was a little off-putting, but thankfully, that was seldom the story's focus. Another reviewer stated that it wasn't believable or realistic enough. Isn't fantasy the opposite of reality? This is a sci-fi/fantasy series, so be prepared to suspend reality for a bit. Overall, interesting and entertaining. If you like sci-fi/fantasy without the graphic sex, I recommend the Gregor the Overlander series (Suzanne Collins) and Graceling (Kristin Cashore).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Not a believable story.

    I managed to make my way completely through this book, but I have no interest in reading the remaining books in this series. I found myself completely unable to believe the plot - no princess could possibly fall in love with the man who murdered both her parents and her brother. Likewise. he with the woman who killed his father.

    Altogether a dumb story!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ashes of Dearen is a HOT read

    Excellent book. Enjoyed every chapter. Very satisfying read. Am now checking for more from Jayden Woods.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Really did not enjoy this book

    This book has potential but failed to deliver for me. Great story idea with juvenile writing skill.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Well-written and entertaining

    This book held my interest and kept me entertained. Most of the characters were likeable (or detestable). I'm looking forward to reading the second book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is totally amazing
    Being free is one of its good qualities
    Can't wait for book 2

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Loved

    It was a little difficult to follow at first, but it grew on me love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Eh.

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Different. Has potential.

    Enjoyable read. Hooked enough to read Book 2. Creative story concept. Interesting characters. But both story and characters need more fleshing out. Perhaps in Book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Free book

    Wouldnt pay for it though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4