BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ashes of Honor (October Daye Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    Simply Wonderful! This series is still fresh and exciting at bo

    Simply Wonderful! This series is still fresh and exciting at book six.
    I love Ms. McGuire's storytelling and her imagination. Her fae world is
    full of unique characters and grand adventures...adventures that are
    never predictable and always suspenseful....characters that are complex
    and full of wit. I absolutely love the way the book ended and cannot
    wait for the next book in the series!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    I have been following this series since the beginning, and it ha

    I have been following this series since the beginning, and it has only gotten better with time. October/ Toby is a strong female character, but even in her strength she still shows vulnerability. Throughout the series, Seanan McGuire has set up little mysteries that make me want to read on to find the answers. In Ashes of Honor she has answered one of them, What is Tybalt's fascination with Toby? But set up more. Who are Quentin's parents? Plus she has written a darn good story with a couple of interconnecting plots. One deals with how Toby will find and deal with the Changeling situation, The other is how she and Tybalt will deal with the problem in the Court of Cats. I don't want to spoil the read for anyone- so I am being vague. Go get it and give it a read- but start at the first book if you want to get the most out of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great characters. Kept me entertained

    Great book with great characters. Kept me entertained

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Outstanding Installment!!

    Seanan Mcguire has done it again. It was very hard to put this book down. The book moved at a very fast pace and the story was very engaging. I love the ending and what the future holds for the series. I would recommend anyone who has not started this series, to start. But start at the begining with Rosemary and Rue. I love the characters and the changes in the personal lifes that came out in this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Best book in the series so far!

    I've liked the others so far but this is the best yet. Kicks into gear much sooner than the previous books and keeps you turning the pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Rogue

    Closes my eyes and a series of tears fall down my face. I hide my face in a jacket

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Loved it

    As always another smash hit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Fun all the way through

    I want to say i almost didn't buy this book. I have read all the previous novels but i was just uncertain that the autgor could keep it entertaining. I was so wrong tgis was one of her best a truely fun read that you will quickly devour. Enjoy it savor it but most of all have fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Another terrific read! Thank you Seanan!

    Another terrific read! Thank you Seanan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Series keeps getting better...

    ...though it does seem to be gaining a wee bit more, ah, social commentary. Character opinions and actions all still fit. Toby's just starting to drop the self-denial and pay attention to what others actually say and do rather than her assumptions about their motives, which means having some heart-to-heart conversations with folks she's been willfully misreading all this time. (*cough* Tybalt *Tybalt*)

    However, due to that building, you do not want to start this series here. I think you'll still enjoy it, but you'll miss a lot of the impact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    Urban fantasy done right

    I love the Toby Daye series, and while this is not my favorite of the six, I always appreciate the grace and grit with which they're written, along with the characters and the wry humor. There is a plot development at the end of this book, which I and perhaps other readers have been waiting for (no, I won't do a spoiler). But I hope that exploring this new direction will bring new vitality to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Loved it

    By far the best book so far. I can't wait to see what comes next in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Excellent Addition to Series

    Having read all the previous books in the series, I am happy to be able to recommend this one as well. October is a strong woman and continues to grow as a person while enduring losses that would flatten most people. Supported by an increasingly caring group of people, she's no longer alone and begins to allow those caring people to nurture her for a change. You can still feel the depth of her loss but she has decided to live and gives herself permission to care again for someone. Sure she's abrasive at times but she gets results. With this book, she seems more comfortable in her own skin. I struggled with wanting to get to the end of the book and in knowing that it would mean I have to wait for the next one. If you like this series, you will definitely enjoy this book. They just keep getting better and better that that's not true of most series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Love this series

    I love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Loved this book! Ashes of Honor starts off with a bang and keeps

    Loved this book! Ashes of Honor starts off with a bang and keeps flying. I love the pace McGuire sets in her books. I am so glad this series was recommended to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3