Customer Reviews for

Ashes of Midnight (Midnight Breed Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 536 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(288)

4 Star

(152)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Ok but not great

    Was expecting so much more as I was really looking forward to Andreas book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    Again the Midnight series book is enjoyable reading. Enough of a difference between this series and the Black Daggar series to keep it interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    A must read!

    I have really enjoyed this book. They are do a really good job at explaining the previous books that come in the series however I would say to read them in order. This book is really intense however it flows really well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Up in flames

    While many are critical of the romance in this story, it's what actually worked for me. Andreas and Claire had a past where he left and she mated with Wilhelm Roth, now the object of his wrath and vengeance. It was troubling initially to have Claire, essentially a married woman under vampire law, take up with Andreas so it gave me pause. Eventually, as details about her relationship with Roth were revealed, it lessened as an issue. I liked their interplay and ultimately her trust and commitment to Andreas.  What didn't work so well with me was the actual storyline around the business of the Warriors, which was fairly predictable. While it was distressing to watch Andreas implode, his behavior was in character based on what happened in the earlier book. The fire show was a bit over the top and I really missed the conflict of the Breeds and Dragos. I'm sure it's coming up but this one just has the prelude. Still an interesting story, just not on the same level as others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    Ashes of Midnight is the sixth book in Lara Adrian's Midnight Breed paranormal romance series. This book in the series continues as The Order gets confirmation of their worst nightmare, an Ancient (one of the original aliens) thought long-dead but actually hidden by this society for the purpose of breeding a new race of unstoppable killer vampires.
    Andreas, has crossed the path of this secret society and lost his whole family as a result. Bent upon revenge he has nothing left to live for - except the death of his enemies. Claire is the lover from his past, now the Breedmate of his mortal enemy, who has the task of pulling Andreas back from the brink of self-destruction.
    I found the story of the struggle to determine and announce their love for one another an "I can't put the book down" piece. It was amazing how much the two cared for each other yet were hell bent on not moving from their original position on who does what and who goes where.
    I would definitely recommend this book to any who enjoy a good love story with some elements of surprise and some mystery and action involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great series, not so great book

    Out of the whole series so far, this book is seriously lacking. They books before this have been exciting and the reader was able to get sucked in, but this book that focused on Andre was too...blah. As a reader you don't get as connected to the characters or the story, so while i wont say that the book is great it is still a good addition to the series.

    THE BOOK:
    In the previous books we were introduced to Andreas Reichen, the darkhaven leader who in the last book lost his family and home. Now you get the back story of what happened to make him who he was. And the struggle that he has come to face since he found his home destroyed.
    Then there's Claire, a woman who is mated to Reichens enemy and the woman he loves.
    Throughout the story you get to see who Reichen was and find out if the love that Clarie has for him is enough to save him from the fire.

    Recommended for those who read the series, not so much for those who just want to read the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book....in great series!

    This book was great...just like all the others! Each book has a different couple in it....and this one with Claire was priceless! They used to be a couple but he left her...now he's back from the dead (or so she thought) do kill her husband. They couple starts to remember those old feelings for each other and it goes from there....do they end up together?? Read and find out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    Kept the series moving right along

    Loved the book, not my fav out of the series but can not wait until Shades of Midnight comes out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was good but...

    I did enjoy this latest installment in the Midnight Breed series, however I thought it dragged things out to much. The other books in this series didn't drag out the plot line like Ashes of Midnight did in my opinion. I own it and will one day read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed It

    Enjoyable read, didn't keep me up at night to finish. However, I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Lara Adrian's Characters make you wish you were in the book with them.

    Lara Adrian has a way to make the characters seem so real. This love story is one of a kind and will have you wishing you could do something to make this couples problems disappear.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Ashes Of Midnight

    Andreas Reichen is the only survivor of his darkhavens destruction. In retaliation he means to bring down Wilhelm Roth and all those around him. As Andreas goes about destroying Roth, Andreas come into with Roth's mate Claire. Claire is the one person he can't destroy. Claire believed Andreas was dead, when she sees him destroy all of Wilhelm's men, she's shaken. Andreas has become someone she doesn't know. Soon Andreas convinces Claire that Wilhem is not the nice guy she thinks he is and it soon puts them both on the run. Andreas joins up with the Breed in Boston in destroying Roth and his master Dragos.

    This is the sixth installment of the Breed series and it's just as great as the other five. The shock of what happens at the end will keep the series going for quite a while. I'm going to have a hard time waiting for the seventh book in January.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 152 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8