Customer Reviews for

Ashfall (Ashfall Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't put this book down!

Readers who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Matched will like this book, but it is the most realistic of the current young adult post apocalyptic genre. The violence is more graphic than in the dystopian fantasies and the central romance includes more than virginal kissing...
Readers who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Matched will like this book, but it is the most realistic of the current young adult post apocalyptic genre. The violence is more graphic than in the dystopian fantasies and the central romance includes more than virginal kissing, but sex is implied rather than explicit. As an adult fan of the genre, I would recommend this book to my 14 year old son.

posted by 10677531 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This Book Is Terrible!!!!!! I completly disagree with the genera

This Book Is Terrible!!!!!! I completly disagree with the general consensus because there is nothing good about this book! I am a 16 year old and I am so glad I read this book so I can save others the pain of doing the same thing! First off, the premise is promising. Th...
This Book Is Terrible!!!!!! I completly disagree with the general consensus because there is nothing good about this book! I am a 16 year old and I am so glad I read this book so I can save others the pain of doing the same thing! First off, the premise is promising. The first chapter is pretty exciting, engaging, and fear filled. After that, my opinion started to fall. The plot is simple and WAY too convenent for its own sake! Every time something bad happens, he either stumbles upon a settlement or is saved by something else. Second, the characters have no dimension and don't develop at all. You can judge everything about the character just by glancing at them. Alex is a complete idiot because he "tries" to conserve water by only drinking half a bottle at a time and tries to conserve food by eating one can of stuff at a time. He doesn't know how to ration. Darla is a selfish person who goes through a horribly traumatic experience and then falls in love with the cause of it! Third, the book feels like it was written by a teenager! When explaining what he was doing, Alex give directions on where he was going. That is a huge mistake on the part of the author! I can't reveal my last complaint about the book because it would spoil the ending, but let me tell you, by the end of the book, I wanted to finish the book just so I would never have to pick it up again! I might read the sequel just to see if it is any better, but my hopes aren't high. If I could, I would give this 0 stars, but I can't, so I have to settle for 1. Honestly, there are much better books to read. Believe me, I have a library of 150+ books and this one is not in there. I am glad I borrowed this from my school library instead of spending money on it because it isn't worth a penny. Let me give you a conclusion. I thought the premise was interesting. However, that doesn't make up for overly-convenient, bad plotting, characters less 1-dimensional than a strait line and less developed too, and writing that looks like a it came from the mind of a teenager. I am sorry, but this book is terrible!

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    This Book Is Terrible!!!!!! I completly disagree with the genera

    This Book Is Terrible!!!!!! I completly disagree with the general consensus because there is nothing good about this book! I am a 16 year old and I am so glad I read this book so I can save others the pain of doing the same thing! First off, the premise is promising. The first chapter is pretty exciting, engaging, and fear filled. After that, my opinion started to fall. The plot is simple and WAY too convenent for its own sake! Every time something bad happens, he either stumbles upon a settlement or is saved by something else. Second, the characters have no dimension and don't develop at all. You can judge everything about the character just by glancing at them. Alex is a complete idiot because he "tries" to conserve water by only drinking half a bottle at a time and tries to conserve food by eating one can of stuff at a time. He doesn't know how to ration. Darla is a selfish person who goes through a horribly traumatic experience and then falls in love with the cause of it! Third, the book feels like it was written by a teenager! When explaining what he was doing, Alex give directions on where he was going. That is a huge mistake on the part of the author! I can't reveal my last complaint about the book because it would spoil the ending, but let me tell you, by the end of the book, I wanted to finish the book just so I would never have to pick it up again! I might read the sequel just to see if it is any better, but my hopes aren't high. If I could, I would give this 0 stars, but I can't, so I have to settle for 1. Honestly, there are much better books to read. Believe me, I have a library of 150+ books and this one is not in there. I am glad I borrowed this from my school library instead of spending money on it because it isn't worth a penny. Let me give you a conclusion. I thought the premise was interesting. However, that doesn't make up for overly-convenient, bad plotting, characters less 1-dimensional than a strait line and less developed too, and writing that looks like a it came from the mind of a teenager. I am sorry, but this book is terrible!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Not interesting enough and was a little disturbing

    I didnt even finish the book because I knew my mom wouldnt approve and it was kinda disturbing. It wasnt that suspensful or anything and the romance was a little weird. As someone else said they were like bunnies. When they couldnt do it because of the issue with pregnancy they turned to something else...

    Anyway the book wasnt interesting or suspensful enough to keep reading so I just deleted it from my nook.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Is it graphic???

    Is the book graphic liki know there will b dead ppl but does it like descrie them in horible dicusting ways and ive seen a couple posts about a sex scene. I just need to know if this book will be too "BAD"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1