BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ask Again Later

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

FUNNY, thoughtful book about all types of relationships

The main character, Emily, is well aware of her quirks and her fear of relationships. Jill Scott does a great job in making Emily likeable and her writing style makes even the saddest of situations for Emily funny.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Glad I Gave Her a Second Chance

After reading Davis' Girls' Poker Night and being completely disappointed, I figured I would give the author another shot. I am glad I did. This book has none of the disorganization of the prior novel. While I am still not a huge fan of the three page chapters, I fel...
After reading Davis' Girls' Poker Night and being completely disappointed, I figured I would give the author another shot. I am glad I did. This book has none of the disorganization of the prior novel. While I am still not a huge fan of the three page chapters, I felt this story actually progressed with each page. While people have mentioned that the writer is humorous, I have yet to laugh out loud while reading any of her books. I did think there were many parts of this book that the average person can relate to in terms of family dynamics and I do like the way the characters' own inner issues were addressed.

posted by bookreader79 on February 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 30, 2010

    Good Read!

    For a book that I randomly picked up because I needed a book to read it was great. I was surprised at the amount of real life situations this book could relate to. Its an easy read for sure. Its not heavy reading, very light and a good book to have by the nightstand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book

    I was browsing through the bookstore the other day and happened to fall upon this book. It caught my eye and after reading the first couple pages I decided to buy it. I wasn't sure if I would like it at first and the reviews on barnes and noble weren't overwhelmingly positive so I was a little leary, but I honestly LOVED it. It is such a quirky, funny, lighthearted book. I like books that read this way. I wish there more authors like Jill A. Davis. I highly recommend this book! Happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Glad I Gave Her a Second Chance

    After reading Davis' Girls' Poker Night and being completely disappointed, I figured I would give the author another shot. I am glad I did. This book has none of the disorganization of the prior novel. While I am still not a huge fan of the three page chapters, I felt this story actually progressed with each page. While people have mentioned that the writer is humorous, I have yet to laugh out loud while reading any of her books. I did think there were many parts of this book that the average person can relate to in terms of family dynamics and I do like the way the characters' own inner issues were addressed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    FUNNY, thoughtful book about all types of relationships

    The main character, Emily, is well aware of her quirks and her fear of relationships. Jill Scott does a great job in making Emily likeable and her writing style makes even the saddest of situations for Emily funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Ask Later

    This was a wonderful and funny book. I laughedmyself silly in some parts. Can not wait to read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    not the author for me

    I never connected with the main character and the story line. I thought that it was a very choppy book. It stopped before it started with a story. There were so many chances for the book to take off if the author extended her thoughts on the event going on in the book. Don't think this author's writing style is for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WRONG PERSON!!!!!!!

    WHY ARE YOU SENDING ME BOOKS TO REVIEW WHICH I HAVE NEVER BOUGHT?????
    PLEASE CHECK TO SEE IF YOU HAVE SOMEONE ELSE'S RECORDS UNDER MY NAME & BN MEMBERSHIP #!!
    Ruth L. Coleman

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Yes

    Good read!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    just okay

    This would be a great book to read on a day when you don't want to think to hard. I didn't attach to the lead character very well, so I didn't love it, but it wasn't a bad book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    It was OK...

    This wasn't a bad book..but it wasn't great really... it doesn't have really strong characters, there isn't much of a plot...it is mostly just about her life and family a little bit...no climax or anything. not very thought provoking either. Ok rainy day book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Another great book by Jill A. Davis

    Ask Again Later was a wonderful book that I couldn't put down --wanting to see what would happen next. Along with the great story line, the author writes with such fresh wit and emotion that I was laughing out loud and also shedding some tears with the all-so-real family issues. After reading Davis's first book, I jumped at the chance to read this and was expectantly pleased!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    It's So Good, I Gave it For a Christmas Gift

    The situations in this book are easy to relate to. Most of us have 'been there'. The author deals with negative issues with so much wit that it gives a person cause for hope in life. I'm going to read it again in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Funny, heartwarming, great to curl up with

    Ask Again Later was a treat to stumble upon at the local bookstore. I read it a weekend. There is a quality to the author's voice that is very inviting, or maybe it is the first person writing. I felt like I was talking to an old friend and we were playing catch up. Emily Rhodes is a lawyer who quits her job when her high-maintenance mother is diagnosed with cancer. This is a comical - though at other times poignant and sad - tale of a womans journey to adulthood. She leaves her job, her lover, and moves in with her mother. The cancer is treatable, and Emily's long lost father returns , making a perfect storm of reconciliation of the family's past. I laughed out loud and also cried.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    'Ask again later'...It's my favorite non-answer'

    Jill A. Davis somehow manages to write hysterically funny stories about the oddest people in a manner so smart and lucid that the reader is left chuckling with every page - while at the same time falling in love with the zany heroine of her latest book, Emily Rhode ('or Road' or 'Rowed' or even 'Rode', depending on the state of mind and at times acerbic patter of this marvelously created character). This is a book that sparkles with witty prose, high and low humor, and surprisingly a sensitive degree of philosophy about the current condition of life we are all living. The balance between funny and touching keeps the scales even, making the reader laugh at situations that in themselves are not at all funny - unless you have the perspective of Emily 'whatever'. Emily is a trained lawyer whose career is put on hold with the sudden hyper-dramatic news of her mother Joanie's lump. No, cancer isn't funny, but Joanie is such a wildly entertaining character that when Emily moves in to care for her, all goes slightly bizarre. We meet the father Jim who left the family when Emily was very young and for whom she has no concern, the spendthrift airhead sister Marjorie who treats the world like a shopping party, Rick the boyfriend of Emily to whom she cannot commit, Perry her gay therapeutic friend, and Paul her therapist whose sessions contain some of the most hilarious (and most insightful) moments in the book. Divided into very short, titled 'chapters', Davis ably lets us get close to Emily by exploring her foibles and her perception of the world and her family by means of what could be stand-up comedy routines - until the sadness peaks through. Marriage, therapy, death, fatal illnesses, fidelity, menial jobs for overeducated people, failed relationships - all are grist for Davis' keen mind and wit. An example of Davis' writing: 'As she's lying there waiting for surgery, I imagine a cancerous Pac-Man - or Lady Pac-Man - running through her body eating up her healthy tissues, her life, expanding its mass and taking over. Devouring the flesh that nurtured me, or longed to. I want to scream. And I'm mad that I'm of a generation that can best relate to parent's cancer to a video game.' And that is only a short tidbit of the superb writing by Jill A. Davis. This is a smart book, exceedingly well written, and one of the most entertaining reads of the year! Now in paperback... Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Laughed, Cried and Loved It!

    Felt like I was reading about my own family and so this wonderful book helped me overcome feelings of love and loss and move to a better place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Fun, thoughtful and witty!

    'Ask Again Later' is a fun, thoughtful novel about a 30-something year old woman, idiosyncrasies and all, and her relationships with her family, work, and friends. The story takes place in New York City, and the characters are interesting and familiar with a twist. What I like most are the hilarious scenes where the author so articulately points out the irony and humor in situations I have subconsciously noticed, but never paid attention to or put words to in the past. Ms. Davis has brilliant insights into people and is great at pointing out subtle absurdities in our everyday life while telling a captivating story. 'Girls' Poker Night' was also terrific I can't wait for her next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    very clever!

    This clever book made my recent cross-country flight feel like a quick cab ride across town! A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Avoid winter blues read 'Ask Again Later.'

    Jill has a great sense of humor. She can make a bad situation seem funny with her use of vocabulary. The book is a fast read and enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    Please Hold The Call From Reality

    In the new book Ask Again Later by Jill A. Davis, Davis takes the reader on a journey through the mind of a young woman named Emily. Emily tries to escape reality countless times, and when her mother is found with cancer, she once again slips away from life. She quickly quits her prestigous job, dumps her kind boyfriend, and leaves her comforting house to run to her mommy. Read this book to find the outcome of when Emily runs away from all the good things she had. Davis really captures the reader in this book, and does a great job referring this to real life situations. This book goes from making me laugh and almost breaking into sobs when I read it. The only downfall is that some chapters tend to be slow pace. I would defiantly recommend this book, especially if your a women, young or old, looking for a great read. It took me weeks on the hold list at all Waukesha County libraries for me to finally get my hands on. So go out today, and reserve your chance to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Daivs brings up a lot of emotions, thoughts and hesitant moments we all go through in the course of our lives. She finds the humor in life without a father, and life with an eccentric mother. I particularly liked the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2