Customer Reviews for

Ask For It (Contemporary Romance)

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Loved It!

    This book was fantastic! I read it in a collection of alpha male stories and i was hooked, I instantly went looking for na second novel. Great job Selena! I'll keep my eyes out for part two! Can't wait!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    A must read!

    What a wonderful book. I love everything Selena writes and this book, even though different from her usual paranormal romances, is just as fantastic. A great story about love, friendship and family. Selena's talent really shines through and like always she gets you invested in every character and you finish always wanting more. Thanks Selena for another wonderful book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Loved it

    ## LOVED IT. This story was marvelous. Albeit a tad long for my taste (ergo 4 stars), it kept me interested throughout. I liked the hero in this story but honestly, the heroine made this book for me. She was just tremendous. She can cook, loves sports, has her own career and loves to laugh with friends and family. She's loyal to a fault and is fabulously fun-loving. I loved that she could hold her own paint balling with the boys but also went gaga over a pair of Jimmy Choos. I hope that Baby will have her story next (although I'm not crazy about her name). Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    I don't usually read out of this genre but LOVE this author so,

    I don't usually read out of this genre but LOVE this author so, I gave it a try.  I really enjoyed the characters and the story kept me entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Love this writer

    Awesome story! Hoping there will be more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2013

    Loved it! Julia lives in Atlanta and Trevor lives in New York. C

    Loved it! Julia lives in Atlanta and Trevor lives in New York. Can Julia handle the long distance and the public scrutiny that goes along with dating a famous ex NFL player?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2013

    Selena Blake at her best........ I have always been a devote

    Selena Blake at her best........



    I have always been a devote reader of Selena Blake’s paranormal romances, but I have now been introduced to a whole new side of this astounding author.
    A brilliantly written story about two deeply secretive people, who value their family, friends and privacy above all else, but are thrust into the public eye at every turn.
    The story is filled with so many elements; mystery, suspense, devotion, suspicion, loyalty and passion, that it creates one of the best contemporary romances books I have ever read.
    Congratulations to Selena Blake for once again keeping me enthralled to the very last page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Very good story

    Very good story line. Easy to get hooked into the characters. One works a sports journal and she falls in love with an x-football star. I read this in the alpha bad boys which has 7 stories by different authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    Loved this story.  Great boy and girl knew each other in HS. Gro

    Loved this story.  Great boy and girl knew each other in HS. Grown up and having lived life they now find each other and sparks fly.  
    Then their past comes flying at them.  Will they make it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have always like Selena Blake's books, this one is no exceptio

    I have always like Selena Blake's books, this one is no exception.  I think this couple might be my favorite!!!  I want to see all of the brothers and friend's relationships that were in this book and maybe the JJ's Dad and Trevor's mom.  I can't wait for the follow up books.  This is another well written and developed story by Selena.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    My first Selena Blake story. It it original, romantic, and well

    My first Selena Blake story. It it original, romantic, and well written. I fell in love with all the book characters. Julia and Trevor's story could get more added in other books. This the perfect book to start a book series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Great read!

    I've read and didn't care for some of her other stuff - but she knocked it out of the park with this one! Very good! Hope she does a lpt more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Selena Blake wrote a delightful contemporary romance about a gor

    Selena Blake wrote a delightful contemporary romance about a gorgeous NFL player and a spunky sports writer. Julia Fairchild is a sports writer for a newspaper in Atlanta. While in New York on a business trip, Julia and Trevor Wyatt meet again. Julia knew Tevor when he was a wide receiver for the New York Wolves. Julia interviewed Trevor when he played in the NFL and he asked her out a few times, but she always refused. Julia was attracted to Trevor, but she thought he was an NFL playboy. He no longer plays football because of an injury that occurred the year before. Even though it's been a while since they have seen each other, there is still a strong attraction between them.




    I enjoyed Julia's character. She is a hard working, southern girl who grew up in Atlanta. She was raised with three brothers who are all sports enthusiasts and she grew up loving and playing sports. Although she is a tomboy at heart, Julia has a girly side too. To the delight of Trevor, she understands football and knows how to play it.




    Julia compartmentalizes her life and doesn't feel comfortable sharing her thoughts and dreams with her friends or family.




    Julia and her four best friends get together every week and have a wine tasting. It's amusing to read about Julia's friends and the fun they have together, sharing stories about dating, men and their lives.




    I loved everything about Trevor. He is a charming guy and even though he is a football legend, he is down to earth. He is always attentive and makes Julia feel pretty and sexy. Trevor is trying to adjust to life after football. Privacy is important to Trevor and he doesn't like to share too much about himself.




    ASK FOR IT is a well written love story and Julia and Trevor have sizzling chemistry together. Once I started this book, I didn't want to put it down.




    Reviewed by Karen for Cocktails and Books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Grear T GREAT Book!

    If you are a fan of Selena, you will love this deviation from her usual writings. I hope you continue with both the old and the new.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sweet Sexy Contemporary Romance¿  Sometimes life gives you a se

    Sweet Sexy Contemporary Romance… 

    Sometimes life gives you a second chance at love.  Have you ever really seriously liked someone but when they asked you out you said no time and time again? Not because you didn’t want to but because circumstances just weren’t right. Yet you never forgot that person.  And what if years later the opportunity arose again; would you say yes this time? Just read this book to find out what JJ’s answer to that question is for that is how “Ask For It” begins.

    This is a really sweet contemporary romance with a family theme. The main and supporting characters are very likeable and you soon become invested in all of them.  JJ and Trevor are the cutest sexy couple, they complement each other well and even though they never consummated any type of relationship in the past they thought of each other often and now in the present their fun begins. In real life things are never easy, we all have the ghosts of our past traumas that we bring with us to any relationship and sometimes there are outside forces to be contended with; JJ and Trevor do have theirs to deal with and they do so admirably and with much amusing banter and yes some tears.

    Trevor is strong, protective and such a sweetheart. JJ being a sports journalist is tough in her profession but when it comes to the personal she’s rather shy and not as vocal as she could be though when it comes to family and those she cares about she is a very protective fighter. 

    Trevor is so in tune with JJ’s needs and teaches her how to ask for what she truly wants not just from him but in all things. He gives her what she needs to become confidant in the areas she wasn’t. I found his understanding touching and the growth both characters exhibited perfect. Trevor isn’t the only teacher in this book; JJ teaches Trevor the meaning of true loyalty and helps him to face his pains. The chemistry between the two was palpable. I loved that Selena Blake gave us alternating POV’s.  This reader always likes to hear what each character is thinking.

    I really enjoyed this story, I laughed, I grinned, and I felt their troubles and rooted for the both of them to figure things out. Selena Blake did not disappoint this reader. I hope we get to see these characters again in the future. 

    This is one of my favorite passages, Trevor’s swoon-worthy thoughts that illustrate the flavor of this book: “She was a warrior goddess… who would have known? Fierce and loyal, he made a mental note never to get on her bad side. And man, did she have a way with words. Once again, she’d turned his upside down world right side up again. He leaned forward and cupped her cheeks. Staring back and forth into her eyes he knew without a doubt that he’d never love anyone the way he loved her.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1