Customer Reviews for

The Ask and the Answer (Chaos Walking Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely stunning

    Oh my . . . oh my god. I can't even form coherent thoughts right now. I probably should wait at least a day before I review this book just so I can actually think.

    Because the first book was driven, focused, a beautiful telling, but the second book is where Patrick Ness's genius absolutely leaps off the page and grabs you. All those plot twists, character arcs, the meticulous planning of events, they could only be thought up by a genius. I've decided. Ness is a genius. A masterful storyteller. He knows how leave readers dying for the next page, how to make his characters and relationships fester in one's mind until they have to pick the book back up again. He knows people, too. Real people, not just characters slapped on a page. These are real, breathing people with minds and personalities of their own as complex as people I know (heck, even more so). What would this character do in this situation? It seems as if most writers put down what THEY want the character to do to further the plot. What Ness does is listen to the character. These are all actions of the characters, not the writer. I rarely ever see this done well. Perfect, actually.

    I can't praise this book highly enough. It made me feel every emotion, and not just feel it, suffer it. This book is TERRIBLY traumatic. I might have been screaming as I was reading it and freaking out those around me. The manipulation, the thought processes, they were all so traumatic because they were so believable and well-written.

    I'd also like to point out the absolute flawlessness of Viola and Todd's relationship. It's not even something easily explained, because it, like the characters themselves, is complex and so, so very genuine.

    Again, this man is a genius. A storytelling genius. I know I'm gushing, but I can't seem to stop. This trilogy gets inside my head and I can't think of anything else. One of my favorite books, hands down. I don't think I'll ever get over it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    Best Book of the Series

    I read this book in two days, and loved every single page of it. There are plenty of twists, and the plot never gets boring. If you read the first book, there is absolutely no reason not to read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Amazing

    As always i was blown away..perfect story from a perfect author..wat else could you ask for?great ending..wouldnt change a thing..well maybe having an epilouge?haha

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    100% AMAZING. I just can't keep up with Ness' mind games! And th

    100% AMAZING. I just can't keep up with Ness' mind games! And those are the BEST kinds of books, the kinds that keep you guessing and actively engaged. So excited to see how this series ends!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Just when you think you know where he's going to go with the plo

    Just when you think you know where he's going to go with the plot, he changes things up on you. Patrick Ness has dreamed up an amazing and twisted world. Love it, well worth the read. Oh, and have book #3 (Monsters of Men) handy. I'm just saying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Hannah again

    Best book ever. I love tjis series. I promise you youre not wasteing your monkey if you buy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    The ask and the answer

    This was amazing but sorta predictable. This book isnt as good as the first. I LOVE this book i fell in love with todd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    paper towels required!

    The Ask and the Answer was in one word: SURPRISE! Seriously, so many plot turns in one novel is epic! (Although it also was quite confusing at some points...) The story continues with Todd and Viola, seperated, in New Prentisstown. It is like hell there, or at least it is like that for Todd, who is locked up inside a church tower. He has got to work together with his biggest enemy and has to let the 'spackle' do horrible things. Numb by his inside emotional pain he abides.

    First of all I must say I really missed Manchee. I really came to love that dog, and when he died in part one my heart was broken! The other characters changed so much between book 1 and 2 I was unable to believe it at the first. Viola has become all Katniss-like kick-ass, while Todd has become an emotional wreck, numb from the inside. Some parts from Todd's point of View literally broke my heart, just because they were so depressing. Paper towels are needed while reading this! Also, Davy really impressed me while reading this book. I was really confused when I was halfway through the book. I had come to like him, even though he was kind of evil... Why do I always like the evil guys?!

    The plot of this novel was full of suspense. I can describe it as The Hunger Games' Mockingjay from both Katniss' and Peeta's point of view. It pretty much describes the first part. Only I liked this book better than Mockingjay! Some parts of it just blew my mind, and I had to read them multiple times just to believe them.

    I adore the way Ness describes everything that happens around his characters, I am in love with the way the parts from Todd's Point of View are written, with grammar errors that were meant to be there (infection-infectshun etc.), and I really like it how of the 519 pages of this novel 0 bored me!

    An amazing sequel full of suspense for anyone who likes dystopia and doesn't mind a big book, whatever age or gender you are! Please keep in mind that there are extremely touching moments, paper towels needed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Fabulous!!!

    A breathtaking novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Even better than the first book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Amazing

    A stunning sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Even Better Than the First

    The Ask and the Answer picks up right where The Knife of Never Letting Go left off and doesn't hesitate to dive right into the mystery and intrigue surrounding Mayor Prentiss as the leader of New Prentisstown. Todd and Viola are separated: Viola is sent to a healing house to be looked after while Todd is forced to cooperate with the tyrannical Mayor. Not far into the story, the Mayor begins to reveal his twisted, more calculating cold side. Meanwhile, Viola has found herself in the hands of a new villain, Mistress Coyle, who leads an all-women's terrorist movement against the Mayor called the Answer.
    But for there to be and Answer, someone has to Ask...
    Soon enough, Todd and Viola find themselves on opposite sides of a brewing war: the Ask and the Answer. Throughout the entire novel, the pair struggles to reunite, but when they finally do, the tensions between them threaten to tear them apart. This book is even darker and more political than Knife, with more mature themes about morals and ethics. Instead of the standard "do the right thing" message, the book blurs the lines between right and wrong and forces the characters to make difficult decisions and painful sacrifices; giving instead the message "what IS the right thing?". It all leads up to an electrifying climax that is one of the best I have ever read. You might want to buy Monsters of Men along with this book; you'll want to jump right to it after finishing this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Maddy! :(

    Aww poor Maddy. I feel bad. Love the series though. *sigh* My second time reading chaos walking and loving it even more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    loved it!

    loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Its been done again

    I cant believe this i cant stop reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Even better than the first!

    The Ask and the Answer takes the first book and improves on it. The book reminded be of the Hunger Games Series mixed with a little bit of the politics of Animal Farm.

    Told in the voices of Todd and Viola, this book is about the happenings in Haven (New Prentisstown) after the Mayor (President)'s unexpected arrival. Viola and Todd are separated, as are the citizens of the city. The story is full of twists, turns, and surprises as the two main characters see the best and worst in their friends and enemies. Lines are blurred and soon it's not so clear who the good guys and the bad guys are anymore. Make sure you also get the first and last books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Wow!

    A read story of some very well developed good characters (even the animals got me in tears!) And some equally well developed very bad guys. Get the whole series and start with th opening free short story. It got me hooked and the rest kept me on the line. And never disappointed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2011

    Awesome!!!

    Amasing series great book!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    amazing

    it was soooooooo good. a must read! 100% worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5