BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ask For It

Average Rating 4
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Historical fiction at its best

I came upon Ask For It by some serendipitous quirk of fate - its the first (and only, sadly) historical I've read by Sylvia - but it won't be the last, if I have anything to say about it!
Marcus Ashford, the Earl of Westfield, was jilted by his fiancee Elizabeth years ...
I came upon Ask For It by some serendipitous quirk of fate - its the first (and only, sadly) historical I've read by Sylvia - but it won't be the last, if I have anything to say about it!
Marcus Ashford, the Earl of Westfield, was jilted by his fiancee Elizabeth years ago. She then proceeded to turn right around and marry someone else! Needless to say, Marcus has been harboring a bit of bitterness over the whole affair - and when his chance comes to get back at his erstwhile former fiancee, he takes it. But things aren't quite as simple as he'd like them to be - least of all his feelings for Elizabeth.
Due to a misunderstanding, Elizabeth left Marcus and married Lord Hawthorne. She is now a widow, and holds the key to a mystery the Crown would like to solve. Which means she and Marcus will be working together - very closely.
I'm almost unsure how to describe this book - its unlike any other historical I've read, and yet its a wonderful example of the genre. Its as if Ms. Day has just dropped us smack-dab into the center of these people's lives - it feels that immediate - but I never felt lost or confused. She has a completely natural voice in this genre. And, unsurprisingly, the love scenes are erotic and memorable. There is one particular scene that comes to mind - almost brutal, but incredibly sensuous at the same time - VERY intense. This is now one of my favorite historical romances. Extremely well done.

posted by Bonnie_H on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Forgettable...

After reading Bared to You this was very boring. I had to force myself to finish it. I kept waiting for something great to happen.

posted by Anonymous on February 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical fiction at its best

    I came upon Ask For It by some serendipitous quirk of fate - its the first (and only, sadly) historical I've read by Sylvia - but it won't be the last, if I have anything to say about it!
    Marcus Ashford, the Earl of Westfield, was jilted by his fiancee Elizabeth years ago. She then proceeded to turn right around and marry someone else! Needless to say, Marcus has been harboring a bit of bitterness over the whole affair - and when his chance comes to get back at his erstwhile former fiancee, he takes it. But things aren't quite as simple as he'd like them to be - least of all his feelings for Elizabeth.
    Due to a misunderstanding, Elizabeth left Marcus and married Lord Hawthorne. She is now a widow, and holds the key to a mystery the Crown would like to solve. Which means she and Marcus will be working together - very closely.
    I'm almost unsure how to describe this book - its unlike any other historical I've read, and yet its a wonderful example of the genre. Its as if Ms. Day has just dropped us smack-dab into the center of these people's lives - it feels that immediate - but I never felt lost or confused. She has a completely natural voice in this genre. And, unsurprisingly, the love scenes are erotic and memorable. There is one particular scene that comes to mind - almost brutal, but incredibly sensuous at the same time - VERY intense. This is now one of my favorite historical romances. Extremely well done.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Friends

    Who wants to b my nook friend!

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2006

    Its a keeper

    Sylvia Day has written a compelling and deeply sensual story in Ask For It. __________________ Marcus Ashford an agent for the crown is still profoundly hurt by Elizabeth¿s marriage to another. Now she is widowed and her life is in danger. Marcus demands to be the one to protect her. He figures he can keep her safe and also get his desires for her out of his system. ___________________ Elizabeth ran from the strong feelings she had for Marcus and married a much more suitable man. After his death her life was in peril and she is forced to accept Marcus¿s aide. He consumes her every waking thought until she has to give in to her desires. ___________________ Trying to keep Elizabeth safe and not touch her is impossible for Marcus. He thinks he can keep his heart out of this but his heart has other plans. _________________ Ask For It is one of the most sensual stories I have read in awhile. Marcus and Elizabeth discover their passion is all consuming. The danger is riveting and equally as compelling. Sylvia Day is an author to watch.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very passionate historical romance! Highly recommend!

    The Earl of Westfield, Marcus Ashford, has been obsessed with Lady Elizabeth Hawthorn since she left him high and dry to elope with another. Now four years later, her spouse has been murdered and Marcus is determined to scratch that itch for Elizabeth so he can stop obsessing over her. Little does he know that one taste isn't enough to quench his need, it only leaves him wanting more. The love that develops between Marcus and Elizabeth is quite intense, especially when they try to deny the magnetism.

    This love story had action, murder, angst, and love scenes far too hot for a historical romance! This is the third book I have read by Sylvia Day and I can never put them down. Though I do not usually read historical romance novels, I found myself re-reading passages and absolutely fell in love with this couple.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Forgettable...

    After reading Bared to You this was very boring. I had to force myself to finish it. I kept waiting for something great to happen.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Georgian romance

    In 1770 England Lady Elizabeth Hawthorne fears for her life as someone killed her husband because she believes they wanted control of his espionage secrets in his diary in which he claims a conspiracy to harm the throne exists. Elizabeth needs a protector, but the only man she trusts to do the job loathes her because she jilted him four years earlier to marry Hawthorne when she caught him in a compromising position. Still these are desperate times for Elizabeth so if she wants to survive she must swallow her pride. Marcus Westfield has survived many an adversary except one, his former fiancée Elizabeth. Now the unthinkable dream he has had for four torturous years of rage has happened she has come to him begging for his help. He wants to say no, but cannot as he still desires her, but this time he plans to hide his heart from her treachery, not understanding why she dumped him. Besides he rationalizes that his undercover assignment to protect the royals should enable him to enjoy some under cover assignments. --- Georgian romance fans will be asking for more works like this delightful historical romantic suspense that hooks the audience from the onset into a one sitting read. The action-packed story line is filled with suspense and tension as antagonists are willing to kill again to obtain the journal. The heat between Elizabeth and Marcus will burn fingers though one might ask why she did not confront her lover when she caught him in an apparent tryst. Eighteenth century romance readers will have a wonderful day with this fine historical. --- Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Not recommended for serious Sylvia Day fans!

    Rather forgettable characters. Didn't hold my attention.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2006

    Excellent Historical Romance!

    I discovered Sylvia Day's writing when I read Catching Caroline, and I've read her books ever since. She writes in a variety of subgenres, including paranormal, futuristic, historical, and contemporary. Her next book, Ask For It, is a historical romance: 4 out of 5. // Ask For It is Day's second book for Brava, and it's an excellent story. You have to love a heroine who knows how to use a weapon. LOL! And I liked the twists and turns of the story--just when I thought I'd figured things out, the plot took an unexpected turn. It was a refreshing change from many of the predictable stories out there. One secondary character surprised and intrigued me, and I hope he gets his own story. // Day has a talent for creating realistic and unforgettable heroes. Marcus definitely fits in this category. I'm a sucker for a hero who falls completely in love despite all his best efforts, and that's exactly what happens here. Marcus is a forceful man who needs a woman willing to stand up to him. Although Elizabeth isn't as strong a character, she's a good match for Marcus. // I can't review one of Sylvia's books without mentioning the love scenes. Sex isn't always about simple pleasure sometimes it's complicated, tangled with a variety of emotions. Day does these scenes very well, painting a visual picture of Marcus and Elizabeth's evolving relationship. It starts with ambivalence on both sides and develops into more in a way that's both absorbing and real. As a longtime reader of Day's work, I admire the fact that her love scenes are never the same, and she's willing to take risks in this area. // With Ask For It, Day proves again that she's a writer whose career is on the rise. She is under contract for several books from Avon Red and Brava. The only bad thing is that I have to wait until 2007 for the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Awesome

    Great reaf

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    What an awesome mix of intrigue and romance. You cannot go wrong with a Sylvia Day story. I fell in love with Marcus myself!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    It was ok

    I guess i just liked her other books more. Still an ok read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    One HOT Little Historical!

    My introduction to Day's work was her anthology entitled 'Bad Boys Ahoy!' and I was instantly impressed with the sensual feel that her historical plots exude. The historical aspects are masterfully blended to give that long ago era feel and enrich the lives she weaves for her characters. Rounded out with engaging plots and perfect pacing, Ms. Day easily becomes one of my most watched for authors. Marcus Ashford, Earl of Westfield relishes the opportunity to rush to his former fiancé's side when it becomes known she is in danger. As an agent to the Crown, who better to serve her in every way he possibly can? He has burned for her for four years, years in which he was tormented at the thought of her married to another. What really went wrong so long ago when she was meant to be his? While an old danger that killed her husband looms, Marcus will do everything he must in order to make her answer for his anguish and his once again raging needs. Lady Hawthorne, Elizabeth, is literally laid siege to by the one man she hoped never to meet again. The pain of Marcus's betrayal drove her away and into another's arms, and it's a sore fact she cannot forget. He leaves her no room in which to run this time and she is forced to face not only the dangers surrounding her late husband's death, but also the added dangers of his mysterious journal. Everyone wants it and so Elizabeth has no choice but to trust the one man she couldn't trust with her heart. The question is, is it worth the risk this time? Ms. Day continues to thrill me with her passionate and strong characters. Her plots are rich in detail, both the sensual and non-sensual variety. The action is not over the top, but just enough to keep one interested in events as they unfold. Marcus is a strong, dominant man who thrilled this reader with his primal pursuit of Elizabeth. Elizabeth in turn is stronger than even she realized and is quite capable of taking on the forceful man. Their love scenes are heavenly to read, both erotic and sweet at once. This is going on my keeper shelf and I await 'Passion For the Game', about Christopher St. John (an important character in this book), June, 2007. Ms. Day is also releasing 'The Stranger I Married' in January of 2007. Glad to see this author keeping `em coming!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Good read

    Enjoyed this historical novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    good

    good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    LOVED IT

    I llove historical novels. This one has it all. Mysrry beautful sexey characters with alot of hot sex. Is there more?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    This book was definitely not what I thought it would be. It has

    This book was definitely not what I thought it would be. It has romance and mystery, always turning a corner and thinking you know
    what's going on with everyone and how everyone feels but never really knowing. This book was a historical which was my second book
     reading and it was pretty good due to the fact that I don't read historical books.
    You have so many emotions going on and wanting to know more then they give you. :) Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Old time spice

    I wasn't a big fan of the language back in the early 1900s but this book actually kept my attention even though it wasn't a modern day romance it still had plenty of spice to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    The whole Series takes place before the 1900's!

    Boring, story takes place before the 1900's not my cup of tea!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Oh I'm asking for it...again and again!!!

    LOVE this book. Couldn't put it down. the story is intriguing, the couple is entertaining and endearing, and the romance is HOT HOT HOT!!! Great read, worth the money, get it NOW!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5