Customer Reviews for

Ask the Bible Geek: Answers to Questions From Catholic Teens

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2003

    A nice book for public school teens

    My nephews who attend public school found it informative while my Catholic School nephews and neices felt it didn't go deep enough. A good book to have around the house however.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Encourages passion

    Mark Hart never fails to get people thinking. Whether you are listening to a talk of his, reading his weekly emails, or having a one on one discussion, Mark encourages passion for the Catholic faith and the Bible. He explains Scripture in a way that promotes deeper understanding while also increasing faith. He presents this in a humorous, highly entertaining fashion which never fails to stick in your mind with ease. Diving deeper into Scripture and the Catholic faith could not be more fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Mark Hart: Man with a Mission

    Last summer myself and a few other girls hung out with Mark Hart and some of his LifeTeen colleagues. All of these men, but especially Mark, are so knowledgeable about their faith! Mark is an amazing person, in a sense that he can so clearly explain to teens their faith and make it absolutely relative to their daily lives! If you are looking for an awesome book to answer your faith related questions, pick up Mark's book today!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2003

    A Must Read for Every Teen

    In his book, `Ask the Bible Geek¿, Mark Hart gives clear answers to difficult questions, with an amazingly attractive flare. By the questions he seeks to answer, you can tell that Mark knows teens; by the way he answers those questions, you can tell he can speak to them in their language; and by the faith he gives in those answers, you can tell he loves Christ and the Church. His layout of the questions and answers is simple, allowing the reader to get right to the heart of the matter. Mark¿s ability to answer the questions clearly, based in Scripture, allows the reader to come away with some real clarity, not confusion and fluff. There are many ways this book can be used: It can be a great gift for teens getting Confirmed; it can be a great resource for a teen to use if he/she is questioning the meaning of life; it can provide a youth minister over a year¿s worth of Bible Studies and discussion material. Every teenager, whether they are Catholic, non-Catholic, or non-Christian, should get a copy of this book: It will allow them to see a different side of the world than what our pop-culture gives. It will allow them to know the Truth!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2003

    Each Verse!

    'Along the way He calls upon us to use the gifts He's bestowed on us for HIS glory, not for our own' (pg. 125). Mark Hart has clearly used the gifts God has bestowed on him by being able to pick apart a single verse from the Bible and transform it into something that fits each person that reads it! Many of us read the Bible all the time but never challenge ourselves enough to go deeper and read EACH passage carefully. Mark Hart, writing from his heart and experiences, makes the Bible fun to read and also applicable to our modern times. His humor, the personal touch he includes, and his deep faith in the church make this book a great resource for people of all ages. Mark makes reading the Bible memorable; I guarantee that the analogies he makes will stick in your mind the next time you read or hear the passage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2003

    Simple and Thought Provoking.

    I have read a number of books that attempt to help the reader understand scripture. Mark does just that without trying. Instead, he helps the reader to recognize ways that scripture is applicable in his/her life, which in turn provides us with the opportunity for God to explain what He wants us to know. The language and illustrations are meant for teenagers, but reach people of all ages. I am so thankful Mark learned that 'Fish Swim. Birds Fly.' (pg. 16) The messages are very readable, often times humorous, and always practical. As a Youth Minister I use his messages as the starting point for my bible study discussions. As a Catholic I use the messages to keep my eyes open to God working in my life. We are all blessed to have this book. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    Everything you ever wanted to know!

    I LOVE this book! The Bible Geek really knows his Bible!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Connecting

    'Make no mistake: Nails didn't keep Jesus on that Cross; love did.' (p.43) As a young adult barely out of his teens I find Hart's book refreshing. I have taken several theology courses and usually you get information but it is presented to you in the most drool and boring manner possible. Mark gives an insight to the Word of God that is nothing short of aweinspiring. He gets straight to the point, and is not in your face but only offering plain and simple truth. Living in our world today, it is getting exceedingly difficult to be Catholic. Hart's contemporary views and opinions on common occurences within the spiritual and modern day Catholic world are not only poignant and intellectual, but reveal a deep seated faith and love for God in its writer. This book is for everyone. I highly recommend it for anyone feeling lost or alone or even battling temptations brought forth by society. The faith is strong with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1