Customer Reviews for

Ask the Dust

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So Glad This and the rest of the Bandini series is available

After being out of print for so long, I searched old bookstore for any of Fante's books, having been told of him by others. These are important works and I am thrilled that they are finally available to a new audience.
Bandini is a great character with an interesting s...
After being out of print for so long, I searched old bookstore for any of Fante's books, having been told of him by others. These are important works and I am thrilled that they are finally available to a new audience.
Bandini is a great character with an interesting story arc throughout the series, I won't spoil it by describing it any more than that, you need to experience the life for yourself.Then read Dan Fante, his son and a great author not to be missed.

posted by Ronald_De_La_O on February 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bandinni the great

Compared to 'The Road to Los Angeles,' this book was mediocre. I like Bandinni, but the book was rather a bore. The waitress bored me, the earthquake bored me and so on. 'The Road to Los Angeles,' which I believe was his first book, kicked some serious Bandinni.

posted by Anonymous on July 10, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    So Glad This and the rest of the Bandini series is available

    After being out of print for so long, I searched old bookstore for any of Fante's books, having been told of him by others. These are important works and I am thrilled that they are finally available to a new audience.
    Bandini is a great character with an interesting story arc throughout the series, I won't spoil it by describing it any more than that, you need to experience the life for yourself.Then read Dan Fante, his son and a great author not to be missed.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2001

    Crazy Bandini

    I don't even know what to write. My roommate thinks I'm insane from laughing out loud at this book time after time. It will grab you by the face and make you chew until you've digested every word. I was reading some article on Bukowski that cross referenced this book, so I had to pick it up. I just picked up 'The Road to Los Angeles' and it's already got me. Arturo Bandini, lover, poet, madman. You gotta check this guy out.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    Where's the Beef?

    Fante's characters are starving during the depression, but so is his story. It adds up to little, and his people are unattractive and unbalanced. Best read as a historical curiosity.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2002

    Bandinni the great

    Compared to 'The Road to Los Angeles,' this book was mediocre. I like Bandinni, but the book was rather a bore. The waitress bored me, the earthquake bored me and so on. 'The Road to Los Angeles,' which I believe was his first book, kicked some serious Bandinni.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Great!!

    I had to read this for my english class so initially I wasn't interested. After reading it I can say I really enjoyed it and I will be buying the other books about Arturo Bandini.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    ok...

    Don't see why it is so highly rated by some though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    I am NOT Aruturo Bandini!

    I purchased this book based on a review on the National Public Radio web site. It certainly is everything that the review promised. It¿s well written. The setting, characters and situations really draw you in. My problem is with the protagonist. Arturo Bandini is an adolescent, self destructive, misogynist, doofus. Maybe Bandini finds enlightenment and escapes his pathetic, pointless way of life in the end. But Fante provides no basis for the reader to care about the protagonist one way or the other. And, I don¿t. I wished him luck and stopped reading around chapter five.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Awesome%21%21%21%21%21%21%21

    Another+great+classic+coming+from+L.A.+John+Fante+is+very+talented%2Cthe+book+is+very+well+written+yet+it+was+piblished+back+in+the+1930s.Shows+how+the+challenges+we+have+today+was+almost+no+different+then.Highly+recommend+thid+book+to+those+who+love+Charles+Bukowski..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Heartbreaking Love Affair.

    From dust to dust, I guess you can say. This is really a sad love story about a man who thinks the most important thing in life is being a famous writer. Then he meets a waitress, and we realize that deep down, more than anything else, he really wants love. But the woman he loves is a junkie, and that's the tragedy. He'll never have the real thing that would give his life meaning. I love this book. The sad ending. The style of writing. Of course I found this book through reading Charles Bukowski and he mentions this title. Great book. Recommended. I just came off reading another novel about drug abusers, Permanent Obscurity. Weird, but this book was the perfect follow up. If you like Charles Bukowski or Richard Perez, you'll really like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2014

    Classic

    Took a recommendation from Charles B.. He was spot on. Fante is the real deal

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2004

    delicious

    Oh what a treat our little Fante provides for us with this mis-en-scene slice of life from early twentieth century Los Angeles. This was one of Bukowski's favorites and how delightful! Such a shame Jean Genet was lounging round those catwalks in Aix-en-provence or he would have blown his little load getting his greedy hands on this stuff. Then of course, Burroughs may have sufficed. Oh my land, oh my land! What a queer little sultry thing Fante has done here- though generally he has little coutere.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2