Customer Reviews for

Asking for Trouble (London Confidential Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    A Wonderful, Encouraging Book for Teens!!

    In my teen years I read lots of Sweet Valley High books. I don't think there's anything wrong with them, but I do wish I had known of books like these! I would have gotten so much more out of them, along with just having fun reading. I would have been more encouraged to read of other teen girls praying and studying their Bible. I did have encouragement in other ways, but my reading material could have been better.

    Asking for Trouble is definitely geared towards teen/tween readers, but I had fun reading it, too. I don't like when authors "dumb down" their writing for young adult books. I guess I've gotten to the age where I just can't tolerate those books. Sandra does such a wonderful job of capturing the voice of a teenager without without making me feel too old! ;)

    Savvy is such a lovable character! She doesn't always do the right thing immediately, but she does come through. And, I love that Sandra wrote her parents likable, too. So many times in teen books, parents just aren't what they should be.

    If I had a teen/tween daughter, I wouldn't hesitate to buy these books for her! Asking for Trouble was a wonderfully sweet, encouraging book, and it's my favorite Christian Teen book I've read so far!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Love it

    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I think tween/teen girls wilk relate to this alot.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good, Clean Christian TEENAGE Fiction

    I am always wary when reviewing Christian teenage fiction--you just never know what you might find. I've seen teenage fiction where the main characters were rebellious and boy crazy and that's not something I want to encourage in my daughters. It's hard enough being a teenager without being encouraged to chase boys and argue with your parents in Christian books.

    But the main character of this book, Savvy (Savannah) is not only cool--she's a good Christian kid whose not too perfect but does her best, seeks God's wisdom, and finds how He answers her prayers for that very thing. She's an aspiring journalist seeking a role as her new English school's advice column writer. She reads the bible and prayers that God will help her give good, sound advice to her classmates. It's rewarding to see this great example of a teenager who's seeking God, staying true to him, and super cool.

    The plot moved quickly, the characters were likeable, and the writing was flawless. I gave the book only 4 stars because the recommended audience is 9-12 year olds. Savvy deals with life as a 15 year old, high school girl. I don't feel that 9-12 year olds should be hanging out with high schoolers in real life, so naturally don't think they should be seeking them out in books, either. I do highly recommend this book and the rest of the series to older girls, but no younger than 14.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Story

    I loved this book. It was a cute story with an interesting plot and characters. Savvy and her family move from Seattle to a small town near London, England. It is not always easy to make friends and fit in when you are far from home. There were lots of cute details to make the book authentic. This is a perfect book for Christian girls age 12 and up. Savvy is fifteen but there is nothing objectionable in the book. I ordered the next book in the series almost immediately after reading this one. I am 26 and can't wait to read it. Highly Recommended. :)

    Review copy provided by publisher.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    :)

    Asking For Trouble is a great teen read. I really enjoyed reading this book. It's about a fifteen year old girl who just moved to London. It tells about all her experiences there and how she joined the school newspaper. A great read with a great plot. I just love this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    So sad

    I was so sad when this book was over! It was that good

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Rally good book

    I love this book my friend lended it to me on my nook HD I think savvy likes the newspaper boss, i forgot his name.Umm im larning abou shakesphere in PC , and this book gives you some advice

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Anonymous

    A really funny book with a talented American main charactor (Savvy) and her journey with God as she settles in Britain. A must read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Great read!

    I thoroughly enjoyed Asking For Trouble. My teen daughter read it and then had me read it. I expected a typical shallow teen read with an underdeveloped plot and a very shallow focus. What a pleasant surprise!! The characters were very believable, and there is a great mix of light humour with serious issues the main character deals with. This book is clean, fun, with some good wisdom thrown in in a very natural way. Both my daughter and I loved it enough to buy the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    Asking For Trouble the first book in the London Confidential book series is great for tween girls.

    I realized Asking For Trouble was a book for children and even though I read it with my adult eyes I remembered that I was once a 15 year old girl. This is a very short read that brought back many memories from my high school days. I did enjoy it even though it wasn't the most interesting book I've ever read. I would still recommend it for young girls. Sandra did an excellent job of incorporating Savvy's faith into the story and I have to admit while I was reading Asking For Trouble I found myself admiring Savvy for that reason. When I was 15 I know that sitting in church about one Sunday a month was the only time God was on my mind other than when I needed someone to blame when things didn't go right in my life. With many cute and quirky moments thrown in Sandra Byrd's Asking For Trouble was a great start to the London Confidential series and will definitely be enjoyable for young people. I know I will be keeping up with the series to find out what becomes of Savannah Smith..... and Bob's your uncle!Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book With Great Character

    I have a thing for accents. :o) This was a fun book that was well written and was an easy read. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest it for a friend with a young girl. The main character was believable and the story was *redeeming* without being preachy. I liked that she learned her lessons through her own strength of character and choices rather than them being forced on her or taught to her by someone else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Perfect.

    This is a very good christain book that really shows the life of a teen. It was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Loved

    I really liked it. Because it had my sorta taste in reading. I can't wait for another one like it
    Thanks to my bffl Ail i love this book thanks auther

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Is this a christian book ?

    Please respond to kayla

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Highly enjoyable, fast read.

    This book is a fast highly enjoyable read. I wish this book had been around when I was in high school. Usually, especially as of late, I rate a book five stars if it has been well written, a good plot and three dimensional characters. This book has met that criteria and a brought a bit more. It has been a long time since I read a book, let alone a young adult book, that left me feeling anything but angst. I felt good after i read this book. I felt like I was actually a better person for reading it. I will definitely read more from Byrd. In my opinion, this book is a must.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I lov

    Iluv this book i got it for free on my nook hd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    THIS WAS A GOOD BOOK. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. THIS B

    THIS WAS A GOOD BOOK. I WOULD READ MORE FROM THIS AUTHOR. THIS BOOK WAS WELL WRITTEN. KEEP THE GOOD WORK UP

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Iffy

    Now almost all these reviews i see are by adults, some say their kids liked it, some say they think teens will like it. We here we go i am a teen, 14 years of age and i was kinda like, ok it looks like a good book. I read the book, almost all of it was dreaduffly boring, hard to keep reading. The book sends off good messages but i know this isint good to say but the things that make books interesting to most teens is full drama of action, but this book was lacking really good drama or action. It was all blan and non entertaining
    Now i like getting the bad stuff out first,this book was paistakingly boring mostly, but very well written in some ways a young teen does think. And i like the detail of her learning the ways of the brits, thats what kept me readin
    Thanks for readin!
    Awsomeness oxox :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Awesome

    I highly recomend this book it was a great way to show how god works in everyones life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Very cute story, especially for teens.

    I really enjoyed this book about an American family relocating to London and trying to fit in. The main character,a teen girl, was wonderful. It was interesting to consider the cultural differences, and the story line was very good. I thought my teen granddaughter would really enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3