Customer Reviews for

Asking for Trouble (London Confidential Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Good, Clean Christian TEENAGE Fiction

    I am always wary when reviewing Christian teenage fiction--you just never know what you might find. I've seen teenage fiction where the main characters were rebellious and boy crazy and that's not something I want to encourage in my daughters. It's hard enough being a teenager without being encouraged to chase boys and argue with your parents in Christian books.

    But the main character of this book, Savvy (Savannah) is not only cool--she's a good Christian kid whose not too perfect but does her best, seeks God's wisdom, and finds how He answers her prayers for that very thing. She's an aspiring journalist seeking a role as her new English school's advice column writer. She reads the bible and prayers that God will help her give good, sound advice to her classmates. It's rewarding to see this great example of a teenager who's seeking God, staying true to him, and super cool.

    The plot moved quickly, the characters were likeable, and the writing was flawless. I gave the book only 4 stars because the recommended audience is 9-12 year olds. Savvy deals with life as a 15 year old, high school girl. I don't feel that 9-12 year olds should be hanging out with high schoolers in real life, so naturally don't think they should be seeking them out in books, either. I do highly recommend this book and the rest of the series to older girls, but no younger than 14.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    :)

    Asking For Trouble is a great teen read. I really enjoyed reading this book. It's about a fifteen year old girl who just moved to London. It tells about all her experiences there and how she joined the school newspaper. A great read with a great plot. I just love this book and can't wait to read the rest of the series!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun book With Great Character

    I have a thing for accents. :o) This was a fun book that was well written and was an easy read. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest it for a friend with a young girl. The main character was believable and the story was *redeeming* without being preachy. I liked that she learned her lessons through her own strength of character and choices rather than them being forced on her or taught to her by someone else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Great teen read (and adults too)

    Savvy is the typical teenager -- except she just started a new school -- in a new city -- in a new country. As hard as she's trying to fit it, she can't find a club that is the right fit for her. Art doesn't work. Gymnastics doesn't work. Science Club? Well, she shattered her beaker! She decides to give the school paper a try, but try as she might they just won't let her write a column, but Savvy is, well, savy and doesn't give up. She WILL find a way. Not only does she want to be a journalist, but this might be her last opportunity to fit in at her new school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Great for Teens!

    This book, is very cute. I thought it was a fantastic book for teens, and young adults. Very well written, and put together. I love that she pushes to find a way to fit in, and move on despite it being difficult. That she doesn't give up when it gets tough. More teens should read this! My girls are not old enough yet to enjoy this, but when they are, this will be a book I suggest for them. I could relate to this book as well, cause I have moved so many times in my life. Its not always easy to readjust.
    *Tyndale House Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Book!

    What teenage girl does not dream of travel, adventure, and the chance to be a writer? I know that I did. I wish that the London Confidential series by Sandra Byrd has been around when I was a bit younger!

    When her family moves to London, 15-year-old Savvy Smith has to make her way in a new school and a new country. She just knows the school newspaper is the right place for her, but she doesn't have the required experience, and the cute editor-in-chief is not looking to train anyone. She has to come up with a way to prove herself and nab the one available position on the newspaper staff at Wexburg Academy.
    London Confidential is a new series where British fashion, friendships, and guys collide, and where an all-American girl learns to love life and live out her faith.


    Asking for Trouble is a darling book. It is relative to the lives of teenage girls yet laden with lessons about the Christian life. I found this book to be highly appropriate and fun to read. Gracious, even I, as a twenty year old, am a bit excited to read the next book! Sandra Byrd did an excellent job of weaving London culture into the story. I am fascinated with anything European, so I loved that! The main character, Savvy, is fifteen in the story, but girls younger than that can read and enjoy this book.

    Thanks to Tyndale for a review copy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Asking for Trouble by Sandra Byrd

    Asking for Trouble, the first book in the London Confidential series by Sandra Byrd, offers a fun read for girls. I'd recommend it for ages 10 and up. American teen Savannah Smith, who goes by Savvy, lives up to her nickname. As she and her family adjust to living in Wexburg, England, Savvy works to find her way at school and in life.

    Readers share Savvy's adventure as she tries to win a spot on the school newspaper and in the hearts of new friends. She also gets to explore London a bit and learns British expressions and expectations. Along the way she deals with snubs and competition, loneliness and secrets. But she perseveres and enjoys her overseas experience, becoming more understanding toward others as she learns to better understand herself.

    As an adult reader, I had no trouble identifying with the realistic characters, and chuckled and sighed along with them. Sandra's writing draws you in and makes the tale very believable. I also want to make a Christingle next Christmas-details are found on page 252 of the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fun, Quick Read, Perfect for Today's Girls

    I don't usually read YA, but I was pleasantly surprised with ASKING FOR TROUBLE.
    Savvy Smith has just moved to London with her family and feels totally out of place. Vying for a spot on the school newspaper, she finally lands it- as the delivery person. Will she get the column she craves and a place with friends?
    What I enjoyed about this book, was it doesn't have the typical teen talk that just makes them sound like "cool" is the only word in their vocabulary. Savvy is a sensitive person, with a heart to obey God and do what is right. I admired her honesty even when it hurt and the lessons she learned that are essential to the Christian walk.
    This short novel is not filled with heart pounding adventure or even much worry for the character, but it is a fun story set in a different country with its own quirks that Savvy must adapt to and in the process learn some important lessons. I enjoyed the uniqueness of what she had to learn, great lessons for today's girls that aren't always covered in today's fiction.
    ASKING FOR TROUBLE is a fun, fast read, perfect for the 12 to 16 year old crowd.
    Thanks to Tyndale Publishers for my copy of this book to review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1