Customer Reviews for

Asking For Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wow

## First and foremost let me say that Tessa Bailey is a freaking genius. All three of her books that came before this one: Protecting what's his, Officer off limits, and His risk to take, were seriously ASTOUNDING and absolute must reads. I am happy to say that Ms. Bail...
## First and foremost let me say that Tessa Bailey is a freaking genius. All three of her books that came before this one: Protecting what's his, Officer off limits, and His risk to take, were seriously ASTOUNDING and absolute must reads. I am happy to say that Ms. Bailey can add this book to her pile of winners. Brent and Hayden start off despising each other. However, as they spend more time together, their respect and fondness for each other grows. Normally I don't care for stories that are inundated with arguments but once again Tessa's brilliance made it work. And work well. Not to mention she can write the hell out of a sex scene, that's for sure. Holy hotness, those were scorching. What Brent did with her panties after that first night....yowza!! I love how all these books were so different even though they are part of a series. Note to author: More please, please...(I'm not too proud to beg).

posted by 9394860 on November 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good but not the best

Entertaining but could have been better. Some scenes were a little bit over the top, making the story unrelatable. I liked the couple in the story, but their banter turned ugly and humiliating way too many times and it was no longer funny. That was quite a turn off. So,...
Entertaining but could have been better. Some scenes were a little bit over the top, making the story unrelatable. I liked the couple in the story, but their banter turned ugly and humiliating way too many times and it was no longer funny. That was quite a turn off. So, good, but not the best I have read from this author.

posted by EmmaGR on December 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    We met Hayden and Brent in Officer Off Limits. They were the fri

    We met Hayden and Brent in Officer Off Limits. They were the friends of each of the main characters. Brent thinks that Hayden was a pampered princess and Hayden thinks that Brent is a crude player. So suffice to say that the two do not get along well at all. They constantly bicker and pass jabs when forced to hang out. However, under all that arguing is one steamy relationship just waiting to happen.

    Hayden may not want for nothing but she doesn’t take her fortune for granted. She knows that life could have dealt her a totally different hand. She runs charity events for kids under the name of her father’s company and she works hard at not only making sure the kids get out and have fun, but that they have the funds to do events for the kids in the first place.

    Brent is a man who may appear to be only out for a good time but he’s really all about family. He works hard to bring in enough money to not only pay his sister’s college tuition but he’s also taken in his deployed brother’s wife and kids. He takes great pride in being able to provide for his family and he isn’t above working day and night in order to accomplish that.

    I’m a huge fan of Tessa’s Line of Duty men. Not only are they noble characters who help protect society but they have such filthy mouths. The things they say behind closed doors is panty dropping stuff. They are tough when it comes to the general public but around their woman, they are huge softies. I usually find myself bored with a series after a couple of books but Tessa just keeps writing amazing characters, that I can’t help but coming back for more. The pacing was smooth and I found myself engulfed in the story to the point that I didn’t want to do anything but continue reading. I definitely plan to keep up with Tessa’s Line of Duty series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Stubborn love

    Great read with well developed characters and story line. Keeps you hooked from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Asking For T

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Asking For Trouble by Tess Bailey
    Book Four of the Line of Duty series
    Publisher: Brazen
    Publication Date: November 25, 2013
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC sent by the publisher




    ***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***




    Official Summary:




    Pretending to be in love has never felt so sexy.




    Brent Mason and Hayden Winstead can't stand each other. She plans exclusive parties for her rich family’s charities. He’s a rough and tumble cop who rigs explosives for a living. Could two people be any less suited for conversation? They think not and prefer to keep it that way.




    Unfortunately, their two best friends are deeply, disgustingly in love. Forced together, the mutual attraction simmering beneath the surface of Brent and Hayden’s non-relationship grows with every argument until it explodes into a scintillating night of mind-blowing sex. And it won’t be the last, as far as Brent’s concerned.




    Hayden has a secret, though. Her father’s company is relying on a merger to save them from financial ruin, and only Hayden’s marriage to the CEO’s wealthy son can secure the deal. If she’s to protect her family, she’ll have to forget Brent. And he has no intention of being forgotten. 




    What I Liked:




    First, thank you so much, Brazen, for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book. The publicists for Brazen Books sought me out to offer this opportunity, and I could not resist. I love Tessa Bailey's Officer Off Limits, and I love Brazen Books. Why wouldn't I take this opportunity!?




    Well, once again, Tessa Bailey has me hooked on her adult contemporary romance novels! I haven't read an adult contemporary romance novel in a few weeks, so this was refreshing. It doesn't hurt that Bailey knows how to keep things fresh and interesting! One of the things I really liked about this book was how fast it went by. I was so engaged in Hayden and Brent's story, I found myself whizzing through this book!




    Hayden is Story's best friend, and Brent is Daniel's best friend. We know all about Story and Daniel from Officer Off Limits. It's not necessary to read any of the previous books in this series, but you should read Officer Off Limits if you want to know more about Story and Daniel. Which you do, believe me. 




    But anyway. It would seem that Hayden and Brent are so, so, SO wrong for each other. They argue ALL THE TIME. They get on each other's nerves. But you know what they say about anger... it's a true form of passion. And after one heated exchange, suddenly, that's all these two can think about. But Hayden's family - rich, snobby, upper class -  has financial problems, problems that could drive Hayden to do something she would never want to do.




    Almost every scene of this book involves Brent and Hayden, and I love that. They don't just bicker, they legitimately argue and fight. It was so funny to read their dialogue - I bet Bailey had the best time writing this book. And while I loved the constant dialogue between Brent and Hayden, I loved the scenes with just one of them, to get to know their thoughts. 




    Bailey does a great job of letting readers get inside each protagonist's head. She also does a good job of pacing the plot of the book - something with which I find a lot of romance books have issues. This book is relatively short, but Bailey keeps the plot flowing, and nothing feels rushed. One of the things I really dislike is rushed romance - but the romance in this book was well-placed and well-timed.




    What happens in the end? Do Brent and Hayden get their happy ending? You'll just have read this one to find out...




    What I Did Not Like:




    This is a general thing, but I hate how adult do NOT effectively communicate. Like, you just shut down when someone is trying to explain a situation? NO. You stop and LISTEN, instead of feeling sorry for yourself and getting angry. There is this one scene towards the end of the book that made me a little ragey. Brent totally shuts down when he finds out about something, and doesn't want to hear an explanation from Hayden.




    No no no. Whether she is right or wrong, you don't just jump to conclusions. Especially if YOU'RE wrong. Then you just look like a jacka**. Just saying.




    Would I Recommend It:




    I recommend this book to all contemporary romance lovers! Of adult books, that is. It's a short and fun read, and it will definitely keep you interested! I can't see why romance readers WOULDN'T love this one, overall.




    Rating:




    4 stars. Go Tessa Bailey! Go Brazen! I was super pleased with this book, and so happy that I had the chance to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    This story was good and had a lot of steamy sex scenes, but I fe

    This story was good and had a lot of steamy sex scenes, but I felt the storyline depicted a juvenile alpha male who got his kicks off of judging a rich girl. I think the author was trying to depict both the alpha and heroine peeling back the layers of each others personalities to see each other's true nature. Some of the character development was weak but overall the story had a good flow. Not my favorite but worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    Tessa Bailey did it again!!  These two have such great chemistry

    Tessa Bailey did it again!!  These two have such great chemistry and intensity its fun to read, the bantering back and forth and the sexual tension is HOT!!! Both are much more than meets the eye.  a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Great read

    Loved this story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Enjoyable

    I liked this book a lot. Worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Brent and Hayden are two people who are arch enemies. Each make

    Brent and Hayden are two people who are arch enemies. Each make assumptions about the other. Brent is a blue-collar, hard-working, true alpha-hero. Hayden is from a wealthy, uptown family, yet she seems down-to-earth and grateful for the fortunes in her life.

    “Before I let you restrain me, I'm going to make damn sure you're too revved up to stop.”

    From the beginning the sexual chemistry between Brent and Hayden is downright intense! Both have domineering personalities, so there were several fun and steamy scenes where they each explore surrendering control to the other. Whoa, baby, were those scenes fan-your-self explosive! For the most part, though, these two bicker and annoy each other to the tenth degree. It takes a while for them to get on the right page; however, Ms. Bailey shows that enemies indeed can be friends and lovers.

    Tessa Bailey is a new-to-me author. Asking for Trouble is the first time I got to experience reading about her popular heroes. There are many fans of her dirty talking heroes, and now me included. I was also thoroughly entertained by the witty banter, sarcastic humor, and the delicious balance between heat and heart in her writing. Another thing I enjoyed were the secondary characters who are Brent and Hayden's good friends. I will definitely go back and read the previous books in this series and get to know them better. *A complimentary copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Another success

    Tessa Bailey has another success on her hands. The way the characters came together and discovered their attraction for each other. Another great book in a great series...bring on the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2013

    ASKING FOR TROUBLE is the fourth storyline in Tessa Bailey¿s con

    ASKING FOR TROUBLE is the fourth storyline in Tessa Bailey’s contemporary adult romance series-Line of Duty. Although Asking for Trouble is part of a series, it can be read as a stand alone without too much difficulty, I would recommend reading in order as a few of the previous storyline characters play a significant role in each subsequent novel.
    Asking for Trouble follows an enemy to lovers storyline that finds officer and part time mechanic Brent Mason and Hayden Winstead at each other’s throat. Hayden comes from money and Brent has always worked hard to earn every penny he has saved and spent but for some reason the duo are quick to judge each other based on where they live; what they do; and the bottom line. Close friends with Story and Daniel (the previous storyline characters) Brent and Hayden are forced into a companionable treaty when in the presence of their mutual friends.
    Brent sees Hayden as a spoiled, rich girl who lives off of her family’s money and Hayden views Brent as a blue collar obnoxious ruffian without manners, morals or respect. But as the storyline develops we begin to learn that both have made an error in judgment and it is this mistake that will push each other’s proverbial buttons when it comes to sex and their building relationship-good or bad. And when Hayden must make a heartbreaking decision, it will be Brent who steps outside of his comfort zone to ensure that Hayden will be his-forever.
    The relationship is acrimonious. The sarcastic taunts, name calling and aggression reads like foreplay when the couple begin to realize that there may be more to their relationship than ego, mistaken beliefs and hatred for one another. Attraction and love are vaguely disguised but the sexual tension is thick whenever they are together.
    Asking For Trouble is a storyline about two people who have a difficult time seeing past the zip codes and fancy label packaging. But when all is said and done, once everything and everyone is stripped down, they are two people who will fall in love when the truth about the bottom line is finally revealed.
    Reading Order
    Protecting What’s HisHis Risk To TakeOfficer Off LimitsAsking for Trouble
    Copy supplied by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Loved

    I loved this book hot, clever, Entertainng

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1