Customer Reviews for

Assassin

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Description: Its how a young woman named Arabella(Bella) meets J

Description: Its how a young woman named Arabella(Bella) meets John Wilkes Booth while working in the White House. Its kind of like the whole scene before President Lincoln was shot and killed. It tells you how and why J.W. Booth planed out this assassin. To come to fin...
Description: Its how a young woman named Arabella(Bella) meets John Wilkes Booth while working in the White House. Its kind of like the whole scene before President Lincoln was shot and killed. It tells you how and why J.W. Booth planed out this assassin. To come to find out J.W. Booth hurt and threaten a lot of people before this happened, to make his plan work. Bella thought she like J.W. but he just led her on to make her do all these things so Booth's plan would plan out the way he wanted to.
Like or Dislike: I didn't really dislike anything, overall it was a pretty good book to read. It explained more to me about why and how J.W. Booth did what he did.
Recommendation: I would recommend this book to people that like kind of a mystery book or like to learn more about what changed life in history.

posted by Matthews-H on May 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

For those who like history

Assassin is a book about a young girl named Bella. She is in 1800's during the civil war in the city of Washington D.C. The story is told in two perspectives, so I found it a little confusing. The other perspective in the story is John Wilkes Booth. I would not recommen...
Assassin is a book about a young girl named Bella. She is in 1800's during the civil war in the city of Washington D.C. The story is told in two perspectives, so I found it a little confusing. The other perspective in the story is John Wilkes Booth. I would not recommend this book for people who are into action because it poses as like a cool explosion book, but it's about a little girl in love with an actor. But there is a lot more than just that. You'll have to read to find out.

posted by 11100882 on February 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Description: Its how a young woman named Arabella(Bella) meets J

    Description: Its how a young woman named Arabella(Bella) meets John Wilkes Booth while working in the White House. Its kind of like the whole scene before President Lincoln was shot and killed. It tells you how and why J.W. Booth planed out this assassin. To come to find out J.W. Booth hurt and threaten a lot of people before this happened, to make his plan work. Bella thought she like J.W. but he just led her on to make her do all these things so Booth's plan would plan out the way he wanted to.
    Like or Dislike: I didn't really dislike anything, overall it was a pretty good book to read. It explained more to me about why and how J.W. Booth did what he did.
    Recommendation: I would recommend this book to people that like kind of a mystery book or like to learn more about what changed life in history.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    For those who like history

    Assassin is a book about a young girl named Bella. She is in 1800's during the civil war in the city of Washington D.C. The story is told in two perspectives, so I found it a little confusing. The other perspective in the story is John Wilkes Booth. I would not recommend this book for people who are into action because it poses as like a cool explosion book, but it's about a little girl in love with an actor. But there is a lot more than just that. You'll have to read to find out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    The best book i have ever read!

    I am in the 6th grade, and i absolutly love this book! I have read it almost 40 times! I can't stop reading it! Anna Myers is a brillant writer and im glad i read her book. I love the story because it has a mix of adventure, mystery, romance, and it gives people a learning of our world history in the United States of America!! If you're looking for a book that gives you everything that you like then i think this is the one you should read!:) I hope you Enjoy this bok as much as I!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Historical Fiction

    This was quite an amazing book. Having picking it up at the library without even seeing what it was about I didn't know what to expect, but I'm so happy that I picked this up and would easily recommend it to everyone I know! I really just loved the characters and how Anna Myers made Arabella seem so real. She somehow even managed to make me feel sorry for Wilkes Booth!! and that is certainly an accomplishment. Before I read this he was just the evil, faceless madman who killed President Lincoln. Now I can actually (to some extent) see him as (sort of) a person. It was an enjoyable, quick read from beginning to end! I loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2006

    Assassin by Anne Myers

    Assassin is about a girl named Bella, who is interested in the preforming arts. She soon meets John W. Booth and Booth tries to persuade her to help him assasinate President Lincoln. Assassin is a good story if you're looking for something to read during your leisure time. I love the parts when it involves Bella and her friend Steven. I've read the book twice. I'd recommend this book to people who are in junior high. Go get it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Book reveiw

    So far this the best book I'ed ever read. This book could help young kids learn about there 16th president Abraham lincoln.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Phantom

    Well where do i meet her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Good Book

    I am reading Assassin for a school book report. This is a really good book. I really like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    boring

    this was bad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    I saw Anna Myers today!

    His book is awespme, Anna came to our school today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Unique glimpse into the mind of an assassin

    This novel made me remember that J. Wilkes Booth was in essence a regular guy from a family that loved him. Yes, madness overtook him and events spiraled from there. Very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Loved it

    Very interesting read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    very very good

    very very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Kept My Interest, Just Not that Into Historical Fiction

    Assassin is a fictional account of the assassination of President Abraham Lincoln. It is told, in alternating chapters, from the perspectives of teen seamstress and want-to-be actress Bella and handsome and popular actor John Wilkes Booth. Bella, the main character, comes under the spell of Wilkes and somewhat unwittingly assists him with his terrible crime. Bella is portrayed as suchhh a victim; this was a frustration for me as I read.
    Still, the book held my attention, and I did look forward to picking it up each night. I read the book along with one of my 8th grade students, and we had some good lit circle chats about the plot, characters, and historical events. My favorite part of the reading experience was learning quite a bit about Lincoln and the events of Civil War Era Washington, D.C.
    A warning to teens: if you were thinking the title indicates a very "manly" novel, you would be wrong. There is quite a bit of froooooofy romance (victimy Bella is just gaga over handsome Wilkes). I do think this annoyed me way more than it did the teen boy in my book group.
    I would recommend the book to people who enjoy history and want to learn more about Lincoln's death and the Civil War. This would be an excellent novel to read or teach alongside a history-class Civil War unit.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2008

    Best Ever

    This book was probably the best book I have ever read. It draws your attention. I could not take my eyes off of the pages. Each chapter was filled with sad and hostile environmets. I would reccomend this book to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Poorly writen first page!

    In the young eyes of America it had a poorly writen bigining. It did not draw the attention of a young reader in my eyes. some kids would put the book down by just reading the first page. Over all though it was a pretty good book. it had some sad parts, but there was a budding romance. There is also lying and used people in the story. At the end you are ready to screem out to the young girl and tell her how the man was using her but you cant. I would recomened this book to adults but not kids.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    great

    OH My Gosh. This book is great if you like fiction with a strand of history. It is exciting and really give you an eerie feeling, but very good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2