Customer Reviews for

Assassin (Alex Hawke Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A nice step up

This novel was a nice step up and a good follow up to the original, Hawke. I thoroughly enjoyed this read. I can't wait to read Pirate.

posted by Anonymous on December 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Just not there yet

lets first say, i did like this book and i read it from cover to cover, and i was frusterated whenever anything distracted me from my goal of finishing the book. But i do have a couple problems with the main character, he is unbelievable in an arnold kind of wa...
lets first say, i did like this book and i read it from cover to cover, and i was frusterated whenever anything distracted me from my goal of finishing the book. But i do have a couple problems with the main character, he is unbelievable in an arnold kind of way and not as loveable as james bond, also, bells links to alquada and others to be jaded at best, it is clear that he is promoting an agenda of western intervention in the mid east

posted by Anonymous on March 10, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    A nice step up

    This novel was a nice step up and a good follow up to the original, Hawke. I thoroughly enjoyed this read. I can't wait to read Pirate.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Great Bedtime Reading

    If you enjoy nodding off with a head full of adventure, you'll enjoy this one. Exotic locales, hairpin plot turns and twists, bleeding edge technology, fancy cars, haute couture, gourmet eatting, hot men and women -- all adds up to an excellent use of reading for relaxation time. The only caveat I add is to those with sensitive natures, the plot includes some execrable details of killing wildlife. Consider yourself warned, and enjoy the ride!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Gripping Action

    If you like Clancy and Cussler, you'll find yourself jumping from chapter to chapter as fast as you can. Bell utilizes historical events, current headlines and fears of future terrorist acts to weave together a storyline that will grab you by your lapels and force you to pay attention! Your thoughts will constantly tell you that these things could truly happen. As you get sucked into the characters and begin to identify with each of them, their dangerous journey to the truth will have you on the edge of your seat. Make sure you have food and drink and choose a comfortable recliner, you're not going to be going anywhere once you start reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    exciting action-packed and nonstop tale

    American Ambassador to Italy, Stanfield goes out for a late drink after a tryst with his mistress, but is killed by a smart missile that specifically targeted him. Alex Hawke and Dr. Victoria Sweet exchange ¿I Dos¿ when a sniper kills the bride. In Saudi Arabia, American Ambassador Butch McGuire drops dead from having his internal organs fried. Secretary of State Consuelo de Los Reyes asks the grieving Hawke to join Jack Patterson on investigating the assault on the United States diplomatic corps. Hawke agrees. However, in the meantime in Maine a female teen babysitter slaughters Deirdre Slade and her two preadolescent children; the victims are the loving family of a diplomat.---- The Sweet killing evidence points to Cuban exile Scissorhand while the ambassador murders look like the work of bin Wazir. Though he prefers to go to ¿Little Havana¿ to confront Scissorhand, Hawke lets friends handle that while he tries to stop further assassinations from occurring even as the intrepid ambassador to France Duke Merriman dies from phosphorus fire.---- ASSASSINS is an exciting action-packed and nonstop tale starring a terrific series of heroes and an even better band of killers. The story line is chilling in many ways as the assassins are pretty women who one would never suspect as killers yet their loyalty is to bin Wazir or his superior, his father-in-law the Emir, a believer in a Moslem only world. The satirical spoofing of the first novel (see HAWKE) never occurs, as this is more of a straight shooter. The dual plots come together although the Sweet murder seems overkill and pale vs. the more clever kills. Action-adventure readers will enjoy this testosterone vs. estrogen thriller.----- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    A little over baked, but very entertaining

    nuff said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Logan urgent

    Dark an assassin hunter scarlet letter hurry

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Recommended

    I have read most of Ted Bell's books and have enjoyed them all. This book kept my interest right to the end. Leaves you wondering how they are going to resolve their issues and comes up with unique solutions. The main characters seem to be able to get out of very dire predicaments and possibly there were a couple too many in this book but I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2