Customer Reviews for

Assassination Vacation

Average Rating 4
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Funny, Fascinating, Fast Reading

This is one of my favorite books. It is a great story of history and the happen-chance meetings and situations that are woven into it. Many fascinating stories - especially enjoyable for those of us who enjoy trivia - written in a very lively, free-flowing style. Very...
This is one of my favorite books. It is a great story of history and the happen-chance meetings and situations that are woven into it. Many fascinating stories - especially enjoyable for those of us who enjoy trivia - written in a very lively, free-flowing style. Very enjoyable read.

posted by Anonymous on December 26, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Read, but with caution

A well researched book that is entertaining. However the author's far leftist political views pop constantly throughout every chapter thus making this book more of a vehicle for her agenda than a interesting and provocative read. I suggest this book, however be forewarn...
A well researched book that is entertaining. However the author's far leftist political views pop constantly throughout every chapter thus making this book more of a vehicle for her agenda than a interesting and provocative read. I suggest this book, however be forewarned of the political nonsense that is interwoven in what is otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable book.

posted by Bearkat on May 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Funny, Fascinating, Fast Reading

    This is one of my favorite books. It is a great story of history and the happen-chance meetings and situations that are woven into it. Many fascinating stories - especially enjoyable for those of us who enjoy trivia - written in a very lively, free-flowing style. Very enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    So I do tend to identify with Sarah's polotics, but even beyond that...I'm obsessed with her. She is an amazing and witty writer. Reading one of her books is like having a little chat with a friend. In fact, sometimes I imagine the conversation I would have if I were at dinner with Sarah, David Sedaris, and Ira Glass. They love me; it's excellent.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2009

    Read, but with caution

    A well researched book that is entertaining. However the author's far leftist political views pop constantly throughout every chapter thus making this book more of a vehicle for her agenda than a interesting and provocative read. I suggest this book, however be forewarned of the political nonsense that is interwoven in what is otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable book.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2006

    Best Book I've 'Heard' in Years

    I loved this book on several levels: first, its content. I've always been interested in and have studied the Presidents, and the author did an amazing amount of research. Second, the writing itself: I'm crazy about how Ms. Vowell writes. It's wry and sly and just how I'd love to be able to write myself. And, a bonus with the audiobook is that it's read by the author herself. Her voice takes a few minutes to get used to, but once you do get used to it, you just can't imagine anyone else reading this book and doing it the proper justice. I can't recommend this book highly enough!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Another hilarious selection from Sarah Vowell

    Sarah Vowell, famous for her unique '3rd grader' voice, is a history buff as well as a great writer. In 'Assassination Vacation' Sarah and sometimes her friends (she doesn't drive) travel along the country's famous and not-so-famous landmarks commemorating the assassination of 3 US Presidents. She goes every where from the Ford Theatre, to the Mudd House (now a museum) to the jail where they sent Dr. Mudd on a little island. This book is a hilarious, fast paced read sure to keep your attention!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2005

    good stuff

    I enjoyed this book. If you are interested in presidential assassinations but don't feel like nodding off in between lines of dry, academic drivel...this is the book for you. It presents the facts in a well organized way with a little humor thrown in; I should emphasize 'a little humor' because some of the jokes just are not funny. However there is an O.C. reference which saved the day for me. I also took a walk around Chelsea and checked out some of the buildings and statues. It got me excited about leader-of-the-free-world death all over again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    Great read!

    Fun, entertaining, educational, and very well written. Love books that make me laugh outloud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    Sarah scores again

    This was a great, quick read. There were a lot of laugh outloud moments and neat little factoids. I love how Sarah Vowell makes you feel like you're right there with her, along for the all the excitement in the discovery of our shared past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    I did not finish this book!

    We picked this book in our Book Club because it sounded like an interesting read. Her liberal politics and confusing writing style got in the way of, what could have been, a very interesting topic.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    Learned a Lot!

    This is on my list of favorites. It is funny, and I learned so much. I have added some other books related to this one to my B&N wishlist. I never thought of Abe Lincoln as "interesting" however I do now.
    This book would have been uselful when I was in school, and American History was as fun as a trip to the dentist! I'm giving it to my daughter to use as a reference for school.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    A Definite Must-Read

    This is one of those books that I could easily read more than once (and actually, I have). Like all of Sarah Vowell's other books, it is well written and engaging. If only all history books were this interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    slightly morbid travel log and excellent history

    Can't put Assassination Vacation down! Sarah's prose takes the reader into her world of history and makes it come alive! Would be an excellent book for a teenager disinterested in History Book history. It might have been nice had she and the publisher included books for further reading and/or source notes. Otherwise its huge fun and you can learn lots too!! Such a bargan

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2005

    Great book, even for the non-History expert

    The latest offering from Sarah Vowell fails to dissapoint. It is an amazing book, that is 100% history, but 100% of Sarah's unique writing and humor. I highly recommend it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2005

    Very good!

    This is a very good book -- plenty of actual history, with great wit and style to really make things interesting. I really enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    A Read to Die For

    I highly recommend this book, as a former Thanatology student and American History buff I found this book very intersesting and extremely witty. (Although I disagree with Ms. Vowell's politics) Sarah concentrated on three Republican Presidential assassinations which has me a bit curious. You will definitely enjoy this book !

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    Garfield who?

    I bought this book because I saw her interview on the Daily Show on Comedy Central, and I thought it interesting that there was a book written by such a young woman about the assassination of one very well-known president, Lincoln, and two less-known presidents, Garfield and McKinley. Her dedicated interest in the subject peaked mine...and I could relate to her eloquent nerdiness. The book is a great narrative that weaves in and out of modern and historical politics, and draws intriguing lines of coincidence and not-so-coincidental stories between each assassination. Being a reader who mostly enjoys fiction, this book was able to keep me entertained throughout - I even laughed out loud once or twice on the train during my morning commute. Her enthusiasm and fascination with these events made the book that much more fun for me to read because as I was following along on her pilgrimmage, I was taking notes on what I would do on mine when I go to visit my sister in DC this July. Good stuff!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    Not 'Cannoli,' but...

    Even at her most disjointed, Sarah Vowell never ceases to make a reader laugh out loud or think. 'Assassination Vacation' is not the best thing she has ever written, not by a longshot, but this tour through some of our country's more unknown (and sometimes morbid) historical sites is a long, meandering wander through Ms. Vowell's psyche as well. It's worth the trip. Oh, and you'll never utter the phrase 'Seward Plaque,' without thinking of her and you will utter it, trust me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    Not for me

    could not get thru 30 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Funny History

    Sarah Vowell has staked out a unique niche. She writes about subjects that would interest a historian but writes in the arch style of a Mencken-like satirist. Visiting the sites associated with the assassinations of Presidents Lincoln, Garfield, and McKinley is loopy and obsessive idea, but she gets away with it, and her tidbit on Robert Todd Lincoln--- that he was in some way connected to each--- is a real historical coincidence, certainly more real and creepy than, for example, the number of letters in the names of Lincoln and Kennedy which some pseudo-conspiracy buffs seem to get off on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Interesting, Informative & Amusing

    Good writer, interesting info. An easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 111 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6