Customer Reviews for

The Assassins: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT BOOK

    The Assassins is an amazing military thrillers just like its sister books (Mission Compromised, and The Jericho Sanction).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    warriors agaist washington

    colonel oliver north has writtion a very remarkable thriller called 'assasins' which was very hard for me to put down.a radical jihadist group backed by the iranian goverment has destroyed several saudi pipe lines and these terrorists have gotten a hold of nuclear weapons and have a long range plan to detonate the weapon in wasington dc and try to murder millions. there is a top general peter newman who I found fasinating who has a covert commando squad who has been chasing this criminal group for some time. colonel norths military background makes this an exciting and world affairs and timly novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Great Book: Kept my attention

    I received this book from a friend. When I started the book, I could hardly put it down. The book kept my attention and moved right along. It was easy to follow and to keep the characters straight and the events that where unfolding. An enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Assassins

    A real gripper and right on for our day. Well thought out and thankfully void of political correctness. (Even tolerant of prayer, Christianity, and the Bible, The Word of God...GASP!) But, honestly, couldn't put the book down 'til I finished it. Keep in mind this review comes from someone who loves America, The United States Military, and real live heroes like patriots like Oliver North! Ignore the pin heads and keep 'em coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    Assassins

    A real gripper and right on time for our day. Well thought out and thankfully void of political correctness (even tolerant of prayer, Christianity, and the Bible, The Word of God...GASP!). But, honestly, couldn't hardly put the book down 'til I finished it. Keep in mind, this review comes from someone who loves America, The United States Military, and real live heroes and patriots like Oliver North! Ignore the pinheads and keep 'em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2006

    Comic book without the pictures

    A fast paced reasonably plausible plot but let down by an almost total lack of character development. North knows the jargon and the processes of military crisis management in government and this lends credibility but the writing is woeful. Most annoying is his use of quote marks. Almost every word of slang, jargon,or technical terminology is in quotes. Aficionados of techno or military thrillers know what these words mean and it became incredibly tiresome for this reader. North's characters are completely one-dimensional and it's hard to have any emotional connection, for or against any of them. His demonisation of all muslims is tedious but not entirely unexpected. Maybe he should stick to his day job and leave writing novels to those that know how.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    It could happen!!!!

    The book could be a map to what's going to happen it the near future. I just hope that we have a man like Newman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Best book ever

    Wow, that was a great book. Oliver north writes the best books. This one was a little sad at the end, but I still loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2005

    He proves once more he can write.

    Ollie North continues to show his many talents. His keen insight into the ways of the world -- specifically newly organized joint commands -- allow him to write provocative and edge-of-your-seat stories that very much show how terrorists think. This revealing volume is as exciting as any spy story on the market today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1