Customer Reviews for

Assassins: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Series Not to be Missed!

Everyone wants to assassinate Nicolae Carpathia! Throughout the book, we see everyone's motives from Ray's to Hattie's and everyone in between. I was so surprised when I discovered who ended up killing him! This book is definitely a page turner and will keep you up l...
Everyone wants to assassinate Nicolae Carpathia! Throughout the book, we see everyone's motives from Ray's to Hattie's and everyone in between. I was so surprised when I discovered who ended up killing him! This book is definitely a page turner and will keep you up late into the night to go on to the next. I love the way it's not too predictable. The final assassin is definitely not who you'd expect!

posted by Louisa_May on August 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent book. I liked.

Very good book.

posted by Rudrawar on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    A Series Not to be Missed!

    Everyone wants to assassinate Nicolae Carpathia! Throughout the book, we see everyone's motives from Ray's to Hattie's and everyone in between. I was so surprised when I discovered who ended up killing him! This book is definitely a page turner and will keep you up late into the night to go on to the next. I love the way it's not too predictable. The final assassin is definitely not who you'd expect!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    Let's Get Real...all this craziness would make anyone a little uptight.

    And now there are six.....

    Rayford is really struggling with anger in this book. (Somewhat understandably....but I digress). Safe houses have been set up for believers all over the world, and the Tribulation Force's movements are more limited - and this chafes him. He is also dealing with a growing desire to be the one to get to Assassinate the Antichrist. (Much of Assassins focuses on "who will do it", and the answer may surprise you.) Hattie disappears; technology continues to play a huge part in the espionage; the Sixth Judgment begins - and those 200 million horsemen of the apocalypse, just crazy.

    One of the things I most appreciate about this series is how I am able to envision a picture of what the end times could be like - it helps the actual book of Revelations to come more alive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    Excellent book. I liked.

    Very good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2011

    Assassins

    "Assassins" is the sixth in the series of fiction books by Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins chronicling the events that take place in the world during the end times. The books follow several main characters as they fight for their lives and for their faith as the world makes its way to the last days. In this book, Nicolae Carpathia has the world in his grasp and the followers of Christ on the run. The Tribulation Force is stretched to its limits setting up safe houses for believers all over the world. During a speech to a huge crowd, Nicolae is assassinated, fulfilling the prophecy from Scripture. But with so many people wanting revenge on Nicolae, who is the true killer? And what will happen to the world (and Nicolae) now? I enjoyed this book as I have enjoyed the whole series. The question of who killed Nicolae was one I was not expecting, and it made the book intriguing. This series of novels is a fictionalized account of the events of the end times. I enjoyed the whole series. While this book is geared towards Christians, there is enough action and depth to it that should appeal to all. The characters are well done, and it is easy to follow the many plots that are going on within these books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    :)

    First thing I have to say is that I really enjoyed this book. It is fantastic and great. The plot is amazingly written and thought out. It makes sense and makes you want more. This book is filled with suspense and is soooo HARD to put down. It has great characters and puts you on your toes the whole entire time. A great read that I would definitely recommend to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    onyx

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Duantless' kits' bios

    Jussifana she white with black spots and gold eyes Duantless xx .:Baal:. Yutupic *cremekit*~bro finish later...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly REcommended

    Definitely read the whole series, awesome set of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    test

    ddd

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2012

    Excellent

    Real character depth and great fiction written around the Book of Revelations. I loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Red light! No green light? Prepare to die!

    This sixth book in the best-selling Left Behind series starts put with tension amidst the Trib Force members. The death of a member puts them all in jeopardy, as the world's remaining occupants battle demonic horsemen. Carpathia seems to have his grip on the entire remaining world, yet he is assassinated, fulfilling prophecy from Scripture foretold by the two witnesses of the Wailing Wall. The reader is pulled into the sub-plots of the book as intrigue and suspense of the Trib Force characters being dispatched to and froe across the globe, defying their very breath of life. This was a book I reviewed for Tyndale House Publishers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Slowing Down?

    The series seems to be lagging a bit. But after finishing this book (which is a great read all in all), I have a feeling the end of the series will gain momentum for a great climax!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Suspense filled right to the end

    Of all the books in the Left Behind series so far, this one definitely has readers in full anticipation. With so many characters wanting revenge on the Antichrist, and many having the opportunity to do so, it is hard to guess who will actually assassinate him until it actually happens. I was glued to this book and could not have guessed the ending. With all that has happened so far, it is hard to imagine that circumstances are only going to become more difficult and dangerous for the Tribulation Force, but it will since the assassination of the Antichrist initiates the Great Tribulation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will leave you wanting more!

    Hattie has disappeared, leaving tribulation members wondering about her outcome and theirs. The tribulation force has lost yet another member while others join in their cause. The 6th trumpet judgement has begun bringing with it horsemen engaged in a bloody battle. As a gathering of dignitaries and followers gets under way tensions rise while cheers grow louder.
    As the novel spirals to a climactic conclusion the reader is thrust into the next volume in the series. This particular book will leave you wanting more. Excellent character and scene, as the previous books in the series have been thus far, and has left me satisfied with the time invested in reading this volume. Very well written. I look forward to the next book and reconnecting with my favorite characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Assassins

    Assassins, the sixth book in the Left Behind Series, presents an interesting moral dilemma. The Tribulation Saints know from their study of Scripture that someone will assassinate the Antichrist. Which is convenient since several characters become so enraged at Carpathia that they're willing to be the ones to do it. However, Rayford Steele is now a believer. His growing anger at and hatred of Carpathia represent sin in his life that needs to be dealt with. Since Rayford isn't willing to repent, he subjects his loved ones to periodic outbursts of anger. He attempts to justify his murderous rage by claiming he is only acting out what Scripture says must be done. He will not resolve his inner conflict until book seven.



    The plot of this book grows a bit complicated as old and new characters fight to survive, work to foil the Antichrist's plot, and struggle to protect their loved ones. Among the goings on, I noticed an interesting aspect of the story concerning the visibility of spiritual forces. More judgments pour out on earth during this section--a plague of death by fire, smoke, sulfur, and deadly snake strikes carried out by 200 million demonic horsemen. However, only the believers can see the horsemen. All who have closed their hearts to God see only nature's forces.



    This reminded me of a story from II Kings about the Old Testament prophet Elisha. The King of Syria discovered that Elisha had revealed his secret war plans. So he sent his great army against one man, Elisha. Elisha's servant saw the army and cried out, "Alas, master, what shall we do?"



    Elisha said, "Don't be afraid. Those who are with us are more than those who are with them." Then he prayed for God to open his servant's eyes. Immediately, the servant was able to see the spiritual realm-which usually passes unseen in our word-and the horses and chariots of fire God had sent to protect His prophet.



    Based on such stories, the authors imagined a great gift for the Tribulation saints: the ability to discern what's really going on in the world around them-no matter how many others remain blind. Whenever I see God's Name maligned and yearn for a little vindication, I remember their special ability. Wouldn't it be wonderful to have that gift today?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Is Going To Kill Nicolae?? A Page Turning Mystery

    Tim LaHaye and Jerry B. Jenkins in their book "Assassins" Book Six in the Left Behind series published by Tyndale House Publishers gives us the most thrilling tale yet: Assignment: Jerusalem, Target: Antichrist.

    In the Bible book of Revelation it is clearly prophesied that the antichrist will suffer a head wound and die. Captain Rayford Steele wants to be the one who kills Nicolae and fulfills this prophecy. However, he is not the only one who wants Nicolae dead. In the meantime, Nicolae is working to restore order from all the damage that was done from "The Rapture"; he is rebuilding roads and airports and a cellular/solar satellite phone system--all designed to help him become supreme ruler of the world.

    The members of the Tribulation Force are fugitives hiding at the safe house where they fear they may have been compromised while at the same time the world is facing more judgement that wipes out a third of the remaining population.

    Dr. LaHaye and Jerry Jenkins provide a fictional background for the real events that the final book of The Bible, Revelation, speak about: the end times. The Biblical accuracy in"Assassins" is flawless and the story is a page turning thriller. There are wonderful themes: salvation, faith in what you cannot see and who is in charge despite appearances to the contrary. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Mr. Jenkins is an excellent writer and knows how to twist your nerve endings as he tightens the suspense. I am looking forward to book seven in this series.

    If you would like to listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 hours non-stop, commercial free Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I own this book. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Assassins

    The tribulation is in full force at this point and there is no doubt who the anti-christ is. The world is at the feet of the devil and only the christians know the truth. There is so much persecution in the world at this point and the main characters are starting to break down. If anyone doubts the tribulation will hard reading this will leave no doubt. The whole series just helps you feel more in touch with God and the bible. I learned so much reading them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3