Customer Reviews for

Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 411 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(257)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Fantasy Equivalent of Ender

This is likely one of the best books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre I have read since Ender's Game. I honestly had problems putting this book down and going to bed at night. Maybe it was something as simple as the writing style of using no page breaks until the end of the ...
This is likely one of the best books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre I have read since Ender's Game. I honestly had problems putting this book down and going to bed at night. Maybe it was something as simple as the writing style of using no page breaks until the end of the chapter. Maybe it is because most sci-fi books bounce between three groups of characters and their individual plots. This title stays rigidly focused on the one protagonist, and so maybe I felt like I got to know Fitz better as a character, and was not so distracted trying to keep multiple plot-lines straight. Whatever the cause, I grew totally immersed in Fitz' story, and joined in the constant hope that there would be something better for him just down the road. Cannot wait to read the second one in the series. Bravo.
- Vr/Zeux..>>

posted by Zeuxidamas on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Either this is more like a fictional biography or the author wanted to fit as much detail and understanding into the first book; either way, I stopped...

I went with this book on a whim; good reviews shot me a hope in the fact that this trilogy will be something of epic proportions and keep me on the edge of my seat. Unfortunately, this book is possibly "epic" to some, but to me? I was severely disappointed.

I ...
I went with this book on a whim; good reviews shot me a hope in the fact that this trilogy will be something of epic proportions and keep me on the edge of my seat. Unfortunately, this book is possibly "epic" to some, but to me? I was severely disappointed.

I started the book one night. I had to read slow, because this is one of those novels that if you happen to read fast or skim, you'll miss a detail and screw up your mental image of the situation or description at hand. So, I read slowly. It was trudging along for the first chapter. I gave it a chance.

Fitz is a bastard child of Prince Chivalry, whom is now abdicated from his throne. Fitz is seen as a mistake to everyone except Burrich, the stable master whom cares for him; Verity, Chivalry's brother, now Prince; and King Shrewd, his grandfather. Fitz carries along in lessons of assassination with his instructor Chade. And that's where I stopped.

Page 150 and my doubts were clear. This book was not for me. I'm all for action, fast-paced adventure, murder and just exciting stuff. This is a book that is character-driven and really, a fictional biography of Fitz. It is told from his old self, recalling on the past. Told in first-person as well.

Sure, I'm fine with description and slow pace for 100 pages. Maybe even 120. But after that, I'm not going to waste my time to read a book that I'm not merely excited by. Granted, this book is interesting! This story is interesting, but it doesn't possess that sort of ... jolt. I'm sorry, I don't get excited by Fitz FINALLY speaking his mind, I don't get excited by his young romance changing her ways to be more girly, I don't get excited when Fitz crawls into bed for three days, full of depression because he feels a ton has been placed upon his shoulders. I'm not a character kind of guy.

I guess that's why you may say I don't particularly enjoy this book or this kind of book for that matter. I stopped reading it early and granted, I may be wrong. It may pick up later on, but judging from other people's opinions or views who have read the trilogy...it doesn't seem that way. I may pick up the book again, may even like it if my need for characterization increases in the future, but right now, I want action. Pick up the book if you want detail upon detail, slow-paced storytelling and characterization. Ignore it if you're like me; you want action and fast-paced events that throw you to the wall in shock and excitement.

Before I finish up here, I'd like to give kudos to Robin Hobb. She has done a tremendous job here and there is nothing wrong with her style. I just happen to dislike the slow-paced trudging through the story.

posted by Hiredoutlaw on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A boy and his dog

    Fitz,a five year old and the "bastid" son of Prince Chivalry is brought back to the castle and dropped off by a farmer who had been raising the boy. He is affirmed to be the Prince's child and is put in the care of King Shrew's stable master Burrich, who is both foster father and drill sargent. Fitz has a secret talent of being able to communicate, of sorts, with animals, "The Wit". Burrich is adamant against this, causing confict between them. The Royal family blood line has another "Skill", being able to communicate with each other mentally over long distances, and more. King Shrewd decides to let his "Skill Master", Chade, who is secretly the Queens "Bastid" child as well, teach Fitz this art. He immediately hates Fitz and does his best to destroy him while teaching him to use the "Skill". Enter "Galen" the King's Asassan, who takes Fitz under his wing to tutor him in the Assassan's arts as well. He is told the King wants him to learn and be of help to the King this way. Many sub-plots intertwine. The only dissapointing part of book one is that the Skill and the Wit are discussed at length, but very little is actually done or explained about them, leaving the Magic element of the story a bit weak so far. Secondly the reader finds themselves saying why the heck did Fitz stay until his teens where EVERYBODY hates him. Finaly at the end "FitzChivalry" discovers how to release his "Skill" the hard way setting up for book two. Robn Hobb has done a great job starting out, and I look forward to The Farseer #2. Get this, I think you will like it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty solid

    Not bad. Kind of slow at times. Nice genuine characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Easy read

    Good series, Robin Hobb weaves a good if simple story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Aspen

    Sits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Very nice follow up to the first installment.

    Hobb's writing style is great for Adults. She takes the time to fully develop characters and interpersonal relationships. As for the folks clamoring for non-stop fighting action, I would humbly suggest you delve into the Political Intrigue described in the court at Buckkeep. If you allow yourself to be immersed into that world you will find more than enough "action". Of course there are still many raw action fight scences and such as well. Think of it this way: One of my favorite Movies of all time was Braveheart. It had EVERYTHING! Strong Characters,amazing fight sequences, a Love story, political intrigue, Battle strategy and best of all, they allowed the main character to suffer huge losses so that when he finally starting getting some payback it was that much sweeter. This series is clearly using that formula very effectively. Patience my friends. Think how great it will be when Prince Regal finally gets his comeuppance :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Detailed and evocative - very good read

    I find I have to pace myself reading this book... I get overwhelmed by the story otherwise. The author has written what reads as an intensely personal memoir of a man who was outcast from birth, although part of the royal family. As he learns what it means to be a part of his grandfather's court in this alternate world, he carries the reader along through pain and triumph. The title and cover almost do the book an injustice... it is much more than a fantasy. It is an exploration of how humans interact, help and harm each other, and create their world. Excellent, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A lot of reviewers have described this book as dark. I didn't se

    A lot of reviewers have described this book as dark. I didn't see it that way. I found this book to be cozy sci-fi/fantasy (science fantasy). It stays true to the traditional mode of storytelling and made me think of the sci-fi/fantasy books I read when I was growing up (probably because this book was published when I was a teen).

    There's a lot of focus on the world that's been developed, The Six Duchies, but that's something old-school sci-fan/fantasy fans expect from their books. The descriptive-details are a far cry from the ten-page description of Minas Tirith found in my copy of Tolkien's LoTR: The Return of the King. Still, readers who prefer the "less is more" storytelling mode will probably feel bogged down by Assassin's Apprentice.

    At the end of the book, Hobb lapses into telling me rather than showing me the conclusion. I'm not sure how I feel about the change of pace - it helped prep me for the end of the book but annoyed me because the story was far from over (and I don't have the second book yet). This book gave me a hangover so that frustrated feeling was probably a symptom of withdrawal.

    I received a free copy of this book to review from GoodReads First Reads. Robin Hobb had been on my to-read list for a while and I'm glad I was finally spurred into reading her work. This book was exactly what I needed this week and, yesterday, I ordered the next two books to complete the Farseer Trilogy plus all three books in The Liveship Traders Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Well-Written and Well-Edited

    This is the first book of the Farseer trilogy. It is well-written and well-edited. The hero (Fitz) is developed as a "jack of all trades and master of none," IMO, and that detracts somewhat from his heroic image. I would have liked his character better if he had fully developed one strong talent, rather than a number of weaker talents. I thought the ending left too many loose ends dangling, but it was still a very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Xavier

    Hey guys...head to the next reult for assassin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating!

    I picked this up as a recommendation when I was searching for something to bide my time while waiting for the next book of another series t come out. SOOOOO glad I took a chace on it!! Excellent series, and very realistic characters. Prepare to be heartbroken, frustrated, and giddy with joy all in the same book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Great characters and realistic adventure

    All of your questions won't be answered by the end of the book, but you'll have a great adventure with characters that you will love. The magic system is realistic and conservative, but it is a crucial element to the whole story. The politics are complex, but made easy to understand by good writing. And the hero is someone you really come to care about. I would recommend this book. But keep in mind that while it is a good read all on it's own, you will need to read the rest of the trilogy to get all of the answers to the questions and mysteries that are raised. More revelations in book two still can't be topped by the final and major discoveries found in book three of this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    Great, great book.

    It is a great read. I have been trying to find a book that is good as Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time series and this comes very very close. Can't wait to read the next one in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2004

    Assasin's Apprentice Is Fantasy Not To Be Missed!

    I picked up Assasin's Apprentice almost by accident. I had nothing to read, and am totally lost without a book in my hand. I had about two minutes in the bookstore, and the picture on the cover looked interesting. (Not the best way to choose a book, I know, but I was in a hurry) I am so glad that I picked this one up! I have read all the popular titles in fantasy, as well a lot of not so well known ones, in the last five years. I have to put this one in the top five. I love the main characters, they being an honest mixture of good and bad. I really enjoyed all the sudden twists and turns of the plot, and not being able to see what's coming next. After only reading a few chapters, I went online and ordered the next two books, and I am eagarly awaiting the their arrival. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 96 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5