Customer Reviews for

Assassin's Apprentice (Farseer Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 417 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(260)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Fantasy Equivalent of Ender

This is likely one of the best books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre I have read since Ender's Game. I honestly had problems putting this book down and going to bed at night. Maybe it was something as simple as the writing style of using no page breaks until the end of the ...
This is likely one of the best books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre I have read since Ender's Game. I honestly had problems putting this book down and going to bed at night. Maybe it was something as simple as the writing style of using no page breaks until the end of the chapter. Maybe it is because most sci-fi books bounce between three groups of characters and their individual plots. This title stays rigidly focused on the one protagonist, and so maybe I felt like I got to know Fitz better as a character, and was not so distracted trying to keep multiple plot-lines straight. Whatever the cause, I grew totally immersed in Fitz' story, and joined in the constant hope that there would be something better for him just down the road. Cannot wait to read the second one in the series. Bravo.
- Vr/Zeux..>>

posted by Zeuxidamas on January 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Either this is more like a fictional biography or the author wanted to fit as much detail and understanding into the first book; either way, I stopped...

I went with this book on a whim; good reviews shot me a hope in the fact that this trilogy will be something of epic proportions and keep me on the edge of my seat. Unfortunately, this book is possibly "epic" to some, but to me? I was severely disappointed.

I ...
I went with this book on a whim; good reviews shot me a hope in the fact that this trilogy will be something of epic proportions and keep me on the edge of my seat. Unfortunately, this book is possibly "epic" to some, but to me? I was severely disappointed.

I started the book one night. I had to read slow, because this is one of those novels that if you happen to read fast or skim, you'll miss a detail and screw up your mental image of the situation or description at hand. So, I read slowly. It was trudging along for the first chapter. I gave it a chance.

Fitz is a bastard child of Prince Chivalry, whom is now abdicated from his throne. Fitz is seen as a mistake to everyone except Burrich, the stable master whom cares for him; Verity, Chivalry's brother, now Prince; and King Shrewd, his grandfather. Fitz carries along in lessons of assassination with his instructor Chade. And that's where I stopped.

Page 150 and my doubts were clear. This book was not for me. I'm all for action, fast-paced adventure, murder and just exciting stuff. This is a book that is character-driven and really, a fictional biography of Fitz. It is told from his old self, recalling on the past. Told in first-person as well.

Sure, I'm fine with description and slow pace for 100 pages. Maybe even 120. But after that, I'm not going to waste my time to read a book that I'm not merely excited by. Granted, this book is interesting! This story is interesting, but it doesn't possess that sort of ... jolt. I'm sorry, I don't get excited by Fitz FINALLY speaking his mind, I don't get excited by his young romance changing her ways to be more girly, I don't get excited when Fitz crawls into bed for three days, full of depression because he feels a ton has been placed upon his shoulders. I'm not a character kind of guy.

I guess that's why you may say I don't particularly enjoy this book or this kind of book for that matter. I stopped reading it early and granted, I may be wrong. It may pick up later on, but judging from other people's opinions or views who have read the trilogy...it doesn't seem that way. I may pick up the book again, may even like it if my need for characterization increases in the future, but right now, I want action. Pick up the book if you want detail upon detail, slow-paced storytelling and characterization. Ignore it if you're like me; you want action and fast-paced events that throw you to the wall in shock and excitement.

Before I finish up here, I'd like to give kudos to Robin Hobb. She has done a tremendous job here and there is nothing wrong with her style. I just happen to dislike the slow-paced trudging through the story.

posted by Hiredoutlaw on January 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Fantasy Equivalent of Ender

    This is likely one of the best books in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre I have read since Ender's Game. I honestly had problems putting this book down and going to bed at night. Maybe it was something as simple as the writing style of using no page breaks until the end of the chapter. Maybe it is because most sci-fi books bounce between three groups of characters and their individual plots. This title stays rigidly focused on the one protagonist, and so maybe I felt like I got to know Fitz better as a character, and was not so distracted trying to keep multiple plot-lines straight. Whatever the cause, I grew totally immersed in Fitz' story, and joined in the constant hope that there would be something better for him just down the road. Cannot wait to read the second one in the series. Bravo.
    - Vr/Zeux..>>

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must-Read!

    I have been eye-balling this book for years, and I can honestly say I wish I had picked it up earlier! It contains excellent characters and an interesting writing style...I've never read anything quite like it, and I think fantasy readers will love it!

    Some comparable (and excellent) books are "Thief's Gamble" by McKenna and "Shadow in Summer" by Abraham...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2008

    Wow!! Best fantasy series

    This book is absolutely enthralling! It is one of those rare books that is like a magnet for the mind. If you don't have this book finished within a day or two there is something wrong. Any fan of fantasy will love this book gauranteed. Robin Hobb's description is legendary and her stories are top notch! A must read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    If you read this one...

    be ready to buy them all. She is a wonderfully vivid writer who grasps your interest early and never lets go. I absolutely love all of her books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Loved it.

    Strongly identified with the main character, got more caught up in this book than I had with the previous several fantasy books I had read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    A must read for fantasy lovers!

    It was refreshing to finally find a book that was concerned with developing a single character in a way that made you want to keep reading. Unlike many other popular fantasy series where the number of characters you are reading about can range well over a dozen, Hobb keeps her story told almost exclusively through the eyes of Fitz, the main character. Fitz is not perfect, and neither is his life, far from it actually. These flaws are what made me really feel compassion for Fitz.

    If you are looking for a great story Robin Hobb will not let you down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Loved it!

    I just finished this trilogy and the one that follows called The Tawny Man trilogy. I couldn't put them down! The characters are believable, and the plot really pulls you in. I found myself laughing out loud one minute, and on the edge of my seat the next. If you like fantasy books, this is a great series to pick up!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    I have read this series and all of Hobb's following series. They

    I have read this series and all of Hobb's following series. They are
    without doubt among the best in the Fantasy genre I have ever read. I
    have returned to them time and again. I wish she would go back to
    Fritz's world and write another series about him. Highly recommend this
    and all her work. If you find it a little slow going at the beginning,
    be patient. She is setting the stage for a great series that is well
    worth the effort. Trust me you will not regret sticking with it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    At this time, I have only read the first three books in this ser

    At this time, I have only read the first three books in this series (The
    Farseer Trilogy)and am just beginning the Liveship Traders Trilogy, but
    I have to say, I have never read anything that so completely captured my
    imagination, but also touched my heart so deeply. The characters came to
    life like no others have, they tug and wrench at the heart, and the
    very, very much unexpected love story that emerged....well I won't spoil
    it for others, but all I can say is a resounding WOW!!! I actually care
    about the characters in the story; I feel their love, their joy, their
    incredible fear and pain, the tension, the vulnerability, the
    tenderness. This is a story unlike ANYTHING I've ever read before, and
    will live in my heart long after I've put the books down. I would rate
    these books with even more stars if I could...yes, they are THAT GOOD.
    This is what the joy of reading is all about!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Fantastic story!

    This is the first in one of my abolute favorite series. It is character driven, so not for someone who merely wants a melodramatic, action intensive fantasy adventure. Be prepared to fall in love with the characters, shed many a tear, and dive into a tale that will live with you for years after the last page turns.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Robin Hobb's masterpiece!

    Robin Hobb is one of the best fantasy fiction writers on the market today! Those who enjoy George R.R. Martin, Mercedes Lackey, R.A. Salvatore, Raymond Feist, etc. are going to fall in love with this amazing writer.
    Assassins Apprentice is her first novel in the Farseer Trilogy and it is magnificantly crafted.
    Those who are looking for a new country to explore, new hero to journey with need look no farther. Unlike many romantic fantasy writers, Robin Hobb NEVER pulls her punches, and you may find that you are laughing at one moment only to turn the page and cry the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Suspensful and expertly writen

    Full of mystery and suspense at very turn awsome book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Amazing

    This story was brilliant. The memory perspective used is excellently executed and the character decelopement is amazing. I genuinly feel for the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    The kial

    Interesting and well written story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Great read!

    Classic. I loved every bit of it. The book starts a bit slow, but dont worry, pays off with a character development that most books lack and it picks up around the fifth or sixth chapter Highly reccomended, and a personal favorite.

    > Jon the flamboyant >

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Magnificent read

    This series is one of my most cherished favorites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    The Great Frustrater

    I love reading Robin Hobb's works because nothing ever goes like I would expect it to. Through the book, the Duchies are presented with one threat they never move any closer to resolving, and the events that lead up to the climax don't appear until the last hundred pages or so, making the entire book look like a set-up for the next. But in those last pages my frustration melted away with the heated pace of the climax as Fitz faces off against a threat that blindsides and isolates him. Hobb always manages to build up my expectations one way, absolutely shatter them, and then rocket down another way which is even more incredible but still totally believable from all that comes before.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this book

    I loved this book. I'm happy I wasn't put off by a couple of bad reviews. I'm also happy to see that this is a trilogy unlike some other series that put me in doubt of living long enough to see the story wrapped up. I have purchased the other 2 books and very much look forward to continuing the journey.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Amazing

    I have never become so emotionally entangled in a story as I have when I read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2014

    Shade

    Slaps Shadow on the butt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13