Customer Reviews for

Assassin's Curse: The Witch Stone Prophecy

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Fantastic!

    Every once in a while I find a book that draws me in so effectively that I don't want to put it down. Assassin's Curse is one of those books.

    Jeda is a great hero, even though he's forced into the role. The authors do a great job of transitioning him from cold-blooded killer into unwilling hero, and then finally a man who'll freely stop at nothing to protect his family.

    There's more than one "villain" in this book. But Mave gets my vote for being the scariest. Literally. This guy is pure evil. I spent the entire book enthusiastically anticipating Jeda finally getting the best of Mave. I wasn't disappointed.

    There were a few twists in the book that I didn't see coming--which is always a plus. If you're a fan of fantasy, or just plain ol' good storytelling...grab this one. It's a keeper!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    A wonderful Read

    This book goes into great detail of what is going on and about the characters providing their past history to show why they might be the way they are in the present in the book. I would recommend this book, its a must read. I cannot wait for the next book to come out in the series and see what happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2014

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in

    I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

    This is the first book in The Witch Stone Prophecy series. I loved it!

    Jeda is an assassin, trained in the art of stealth and death from being a young boy. He is extremely efficient and dangerous. Sent on a mission, he doesn't realise how quickly fate will change his life forever! I really liked this character. I don't normally empathize with killers, but Jeda is a product of a harsh environment and is really a scared and lonely boy underneath his tough exterior.

    I love fantasy novels, but I was a bit unsure of this one at first. I wasn't sure if I would enjoy a story about an assassin, but as I started to read this story, I was completely swept away. The story is told from several points of view, which is quite interesting, as each character has their own story to tell. Set over a 10 year period, the reader gets to follow the growth of the characters and experience the changes within the various lives as they occur. The two girls, Kala and Kara, grow up with a father who loves them and teaches them how to be just as skilled with the blade as he is, but they are also very powerful witches. However, they are being hunted, and the assassin that has been sent to track them is not as nice as Jeda. Mave has no conscience and is a cold and deadly killer, who will stop at nothing to get to Jeda and the girls. 
    The story has several twists and turns, some of which surprised me and I never saw coming! The fight scenes are described with amazing detail and are definitely intense! There is also a lot of violence, including abuse and mutilation, which may be upsetting to some readers. The ending left a bit of a chill climbing my spine, and made me wonder what is in store for Jeda, Kala and Kara in their future. I am looking forward to reading the next book in the series to find out.

    The authors' Debra L. Martin and David W. Small have written a fantastic fantasy novel full of danger and adventure. The story was fast paced without being rushed, and flowed beautifully from beginning to end.

    Due to the violence, I do not recommend this book to younger readers. However, I highly recommend this book if you love action, adventure, thriller or fantasy genres. - Lynn Worton

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2013

    Assassin's Curse is the first installment in an epic fantasy ser

    Assassin's Curse is the first installment in an epic fantasy series about two female witches, twins whose destiny is bound up in prophecy. The story opens when the twins are just babies; their mother and father are slain by the head of a witch coven that wants to control the fate of the twins herself.

    Enter our unlikely hero, Jeda, an assassin with questionable morals. He has been assigned by the assassin's guild to find and kill the mother, who is already nearly dead, and bring the twins back alive. The mother, also a witch, bonds him to the twins magically so that he is compelled to keep them safe and secure.

    Jeda takes the twins, flees the city. At this point the coven, the twin's grandmother and, by extension, the assassin's guild (the grandmother took out the contract to find and return the babies in the first place) are all hunting for Jeda and the twins... and the plot is set.

    This is an excellent story with a great deal of depth to the plot. So many novels fall flat when there are so many characters involved in a complex storyline, but this one manages to hold it together.

    There could be more emphasis on the flow, in the writing itself. There is a great deal of repetition of words, which makes some of the description and dialogue fall a bit flat, especially when read out loud.

    I enjoyed the characters, but I did not feel like I ever really got know them personally; I only knew what was happening to them. I did not feel myself invested in them as people, only in their plight. Ironically, it was the 'cameo appearance' characters that I felt most attached to; Miriam - the mother of the twins, Clara - the bread girl the wagon.

    This is definitely an adult fantasy. There is a lot of unexpected shock value; lots of profanity (a lot), rape, torture, murder. Most of it revolves around the actions of Mave, the story's main villain, but some of it is very nasty, something that is normally toned down for books of this genre. With that being said, I believe that it actually added to the story. This will set this story apart from the multitude of other epic fantasies out there. I know there will be some who will be disgusted by some of the things that happen - if you're that kind of person, this isn't the book for you.

    All in all, I enjoyed Assassin's Curse and would recommend it to any serious fantasy reader. Due to the strong plot and the way the story has been lined up and left to be finished, I feel confident that the second book in the series will be just as good or better.

    I give Assassin's Curse, Book One of the Witch Stone Prophecy a solid 3.75 out of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Assassin's Curse (The Witch Stone Prophecy) by Debra L. Martin &

    Assassin's Curse (The Witch Stone Prophecy) by Debra L. Martin & David W. Small

    Jeda is an assassin, he is supposed to kill a witch and bring her twin daughters to the Countess of
    Berkshire. But before she dies she blasts him, and casts a spell on him. He has no memory of what
    happened and he believes the twins are his daughters and he must protect them from any one evil.


    He soon learns they are the chosen ones in the Prophecy of The Witch Stone. The White Witches want
    to teach the twins their powers, the Countess wants her grandchildren, and Jeda is on the run to keep the
    girls safe.

    An action filled adventure with witches, an old legend and danger around ever corner. I liked Jeda he is a
    bit of a loner, but his new bond to the twins is heart warming. There are many secrets that surface, which
    makes Assassin's Curse even more exciting. I feel that those who love fantasy/adventure & witches, will
    love this story (Adults and Young Adults as well). I also recommend the second book Witch's Curse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Excellent storytelling. Really enjoyed this and am looking forwa

    Excellent storytelling. Really enjoyed this and am looking forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Very good, but nit the best

    It definitely got my heart racing at certain moments

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1