Customer Reviews for

Assassin's Honor

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The first Order of the Sicari romantic urban fantasy is a superb opening tale

    Although her parents strongly believed in the Order of the Sicari and encouraged her to do so likewise, the Chicago-based archeologist Emma Zale assumes the legend is myth and no more. Still their tales of the ancient order and their murders led Emma to study archeology as a way of honoring them.

    While on a dig, Emma is shocked to find evidence that the Sicari were real. Soon after, she uncovered her proof, her boss is murdered. When she meets Ares DeLuca he claims to be a Sicari telekinetic assassin. The Sicari war and the Praetorian Guards are at war with the latter committing ethnic cleansing. Unless Ares can find the Tyet of Isis, his people will become extinct. To prevent the genocide he needs Emma's help because he thinks she know where the ancient artifact is hidden; to stay alive she needs Ares' help because she thinks he is a great warrior, but her fear is he will also take her heart.

    The first Order of the Sicari romantic urban fantasy is a superb opening tale that focuses on a several millennia war between the Praetorian Guard and the Sicari assassins. The lead couple is a terrific pairing while the support cast enhances the sense of a long running deadly feud. Monica Burns has an excellent first act of what appears will be a wonderful series. Assassin's Honor is a spellbinding tale.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Monica Burns gives heart to this new series and a new way to look at the profession of assassins. A must read new vision in the paranormal romance genre.

    Ares DeLuca is a leader in an ancient order long thought of as a fantastical legend, his people live in secrecy to avoid detection by their ancient enemies, detection that could mean death unless they strike and kill first. They're bound by honor to protect the innocent and have special powers to help them. The last thing Ares needs is a woman with her own power to muddy the waters and steal his heart as well as his "Assassin's Honor". Emma Zale is no stranger to tragedy, her parents were murdered on an archeological expedition and what was thought to be an isolated incident may just be more, more than she bargained for especially when she meets a sexy and dangerous stranger, a stranger that's not good for her heart or her health.
    Ms. Burns is quite the talented storyteller and she proves this with a unique and refreshing voice in paranormal romance. Her plot is as fantastical as her characters and you will need to think outside the box as you will with any otherworldly genre. The thing you will find with this novel is the believability factor. Even though her audience knows they're reading something truly fictional she gives a sense of reality with it. I love her dialogue with the hint of some old forgotten dialect of Italian interspersed with modern day narrative. Her characters also have that believability factor in them and we will love the hero and heroine as much as we will hate the villains. Speaking of her hero Ares and heroine Emma, this is a couple that should never be together because of their differences and yet we can't help but pull for them, root for them and hurt with them as they struggle their way together and toward their Happy Ever After, which if they get it will have earned it tenfold. The romance is fraught with sinkholes big enough to hide a small European country and perils that will turn the staunchest reader pale. Her love scenes are hot enough to scorch the paint of the walls so be near a fan when you read it.
    If you're looking for something out of the ordinary when it comes to a new series especially if you love paranormal/fantasy series then this new series is for your. So start from the beginning and prepare to turn pages faster than you can imagine to get to the end of "Assassin's Honor".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Book

    Assasin's Honor is a captivating book that has an incredible story line. The main characters are emotionally griping with just the right amount of tension that leaves the reader breathless. It's the start to a great series!! It's a definite read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2010

    Steamy, and a great new series!

    This is the first book in the series. I loved it! Very steamy, and a great story. Monica Burns weaves an excellent modern day story with a historical twist, plus, she throws in some archaeology. The main characters, plus several supporting, have paranormal abilities which come in very handy in several parts of the book. Very much looking forward to the second in the series, Assassin's Heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I think I want to see more of the Sicari

    I just finished this book this morning and it took me a while to think about if I really liked it and how to rate it. It wasn't a bad story, overall I think I liked. So finally I broke it down this way:

    What I liked: I liked the Sicari. The author did a good job with building up this secret society with all the laws, heirarchy, and rituals. Her descriptions of them were very vivid (especially the fight scenes whch can get muddled in descriptive detail, but not in this book). I could actually see the fire and feel the heat of it (okay, it was also 95 degrees yesterday). And I loved Ares. I mean, come on- a man named after the god of war has "fine" and "hot" stamped all over his body. Ms. Burns did a great job with his character, describing his struggles and why he did what he did. For the most part he and his motivations were easy to understand.

    What I didn't like: While this was very well written, sometimes the descriptions of a character's thoughts or feelings went on for pages and I wanted to get back to the action or have them act. The closer I got to the end of the book the more I began to only skim those passages. I also did not like Emma. I tried to understand her truama and sometimes her actions made sense (for instance when she intervened) but sometimes her thoughts, feelings, and lack of action made no sense. The further you got into the books the less she listened and let Ares explain what he thought and felt and why he did certain things. Later she would use his lack of explanation against him and I'm sitting there thinking "but you didn't give him a chance!" I understood she was hurt in the past, but as a character from begining to end she seemed to lack an honesty with herself that also kept her from being honest with him. This lack of honesty went on right up to the end. When she was finally ever honest with herself she was so slow to act in going to him to take responsibility for her part in things, while she was always quick to pass the blame off on him. Her lack of trust, honesty, responsibility, and action made her seem churlish, spoiled, and childish. Nope, I didn't like her at all and since she was a main character that was a big draw back for me.

    I'm not completely sold on this series or author yet. I would like to read the next book in the series just to see where it goes. She set up a nice story for antoher couple already, but that female seems a lot like Emma so I'm hesitant to read it. I will read a couple of more books by Ms. Burns, but she's not on my must read list yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    one of the best

    this is one of the best books i have read i enjoyed this book i couldn't put it down didn't take me long to read i am looking forward for the next book in the series and can't wait till it comes out keeps the books coming!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Mind-blowing and sizzling!

    I wanted to write my review as soon as I finished the book, but as I was devoid of coherent thought, I figured waiting a day wouldn't hurt. Why provide a review filled with incomprehensible words? Besides, my keyboard wouldn't work well covered in drool. What is more sexy than a man with a sword and knows how to use it?

    Monica Burns has pulled me in and kept me reading in a way I've not experienced in a very long time. The mere atmosphere she set with the mysterious guild of assassins called The Order of Sicari is ingenious and steeped richly in an Italian nature so compelling, once you start reading, you can't stop until you learn more. I, for one, absolutely love archeology (and assassins if truth be known) and Ms. Burns incorporates so many elements of both along with insane psychic abilities in her novel that I found myself immensely disappointed when I finished Assassin's Honor. I want more. I can't wait for the next book in the series.

    For once, I enjoyed a romantic suspense that was filled with true and interesting facts combined with an artistic flamboyant style of writing found few and far between on the bookshelves today.
    On an overall level, this novel gets a rating of 5. Gonna keep it forever, probably read and re-read a dozen times over.
    On the heat level, this novel rings the bell as the highest. Careful when handling Assassin's Honor, you may get burned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Recommended

    This new series by Ms. Burns is intriguing. Present day with an interesting twist. The main female character, Emma Zales, is on an archaeological dig when her friend is murdered. She finds she is in danger as well as she is too close to revealing a secret that she is not fully aware of. When someone attempts to murder her, the male lead, Ares DeLuca, who is part of a secret sect of assassins with paranormal abilities that has existed for centuries, the Sicari, saves her and throws her whole world upside down. I loved the male lead, hot and in control. The female is weaker and not that interesting. I give it three stars because it is not a strong as Ms. Burn’s historical romances. I did enjoy reading it enough to give the next in the series a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Good start to the series

    Really enjoyed this book hope the second is just as good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2