Customer Reviews for

Assassin's Quest (Farseer Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Unconventional ending to a well written story

Hobb concludes the story of Fitz and the Six Duchies in an unconventional style. Each main character is developed more fully, and the world is revealed in rich detail, however, the page count becomes tiresome before the fundamental conflict is resolved. Fitz' jo...
Hobb concludes the story of Fitz and the Six Duchies in an unconventional style. Each main character is developed more fully, and the world is revealed in rich detail, however, the page count becomes tiresome before the fundamental conflict is resolved. Fitz' journey West takes us into new territory, and raises a new question: Who is the hero? Is it Fitz, the Catalyst who strives clumsily to work behind the scenes as Chade taught him, or is it Verity, the Prince on Crusade to save the Kingdom, as King Wisdom did hundreds of years ago? The only charcters who really grow are Burrich, Fool, Chade, and Nighteyes. Ketricken is too Wagnerian, Kettle too opaque, and Starling too shallow to fill out their roles. At least Will is developed more thoroughly as the antagonist's henchman than is usually the case, and Regal is given some credit for subtlety. The digression into Old Blood is a bit of a tease. The foray into the time of the Elderlings is pointless, when one considers that Verity unveils enough of their secrets to understand the solution to his problem. His confrontation with 'Can I pull this off?' is more compelling than Fitz's overworked habit, begun in book 1, of getting himself and his allies into hot water while trying to help his King. The conclusion to the story fits well within the general theme of sacrifices made in the pursuit of noble ends. Hobb still makes a lying, clumsy, underhanded, poisoning b*st*rd [guess using English now excites a 'wordchecker' / censor-- shame on BN.com] sympathetic character, which is an accomplishment in itself. Just could have used some liposuction. Sorry to see the end of this saga, as the characters came alive during the series. Hobb is a talented story teller. I will miss Fitz and Nighteyes more than most characters. Her next offering will be on my bookshelf.

posted by Anonymous on March 6, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Huh?

I must say that I am surprised by the reviews for this one. I think Robin Hobb is a sensational writer. The characters were likable and complimented each other in the first two books of this series. And then came this book. Ugh...very, very, very disappointed. Kettle an...
I must say that I am surprised by the reviews for this one. I think Robin Hobb is a sensational writer. The characters were likable and complimented each other in the first two books of this series. And then came this book. Ugh...very, very, very disappointed. Kettle and Starling fit into this story like the Pope at a porn star convention. Fitz' stay with the other Witted was lacking and, I felt, was incomplete. The search for the Elderlings dragged on terribly. The ending, while uncoventional, left me disappointed because of the dragged out search and creation of the Elderlings that preceded it. Great first 2 books + bad last book = good series.

posted by Anonymous on January 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2008

    Not quite the impact I expected....

    I will agree with some of the other reviewers that the 3rd book in the series came across....lacking compared to the first 2 books. I found Fitz actions over the top sometimes, ridiculous others and downright ignorant most of the time. The new characters were a bit of dissapointment also. As for the ending, I would definitely agree that it dragged on to the point of forcing myself to finish the book. I feel odd giving this review because the past 2 books were sensational but I felt this book was tired and weak compared to the first 2. Still great to some levels but overall not as sharp as the others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    Huh?

    I must say that I am surprised by the reviews for this one. I think Robin Hobb is a sensational writer. The characters were likable and complimented each other in the first two books of this series. And then came this book. Ugh...very, very, very disappointed. Kettle and Starling fit into this story like the Pope at a porn star convention. Fitz' stay with the other Witted was lacking and, I felt, was incomplete. The search for the Elderlings dragged on terribly. The ending, while uncoventional, left me disappointed because of the dragged out search and creation of the Elderlings that preceded it. Great first 2 books + bad last book = good series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    The Ultimate Anti-Hero

    This is the third, and last, book of the "Farseer" trilogy. It is written in the style of Stephen R. Donaldson, with the main character possessing the attributes of an anti-hero. FitzChivalry is blissfully unaware of the events swirling around him. He ignores the advice of his mentors, stumbling perpetually into one ambush or unfortunate incident after another. He seems totally unable to plan, to assess his environment, to perceive danger, or to make reasoned decisions. He fails to exercise due caution, even though he is aware that enemies are seeking to kill him. This calamitous book is almost painful to read. The only anticipation available to a reader is the wonder as to what kind of mess our hero will find himself in next. The ending is a bit anticlimactic. The book is, however, well-written with very few editing errors. The story is well-told and entertaining. The main character's denseness and lack of awareness make him unsympathetic in my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    Excellent writing...poor ending

    As with all of Robin Hobb's books I've read, the writing is uniformly excellent, with vivid characters and immersive worlds. I absolutely hated the way she ended this series, however. The protagonist didn't really seem to garner any of the respect he earned, most of the supporting characters still treated him like an imbecile, despite his supposed importance. Ms. Hobb treated her "hero" pretty poorly. Frankly, the only ending of a series I've read that I disliked as much as this one was Stephen King's "Tower" series, but at least Roland got to be a real "hero" in it. This protagonist never seems to, always depending on others to save him. A lot of sacrifice for not a lot of reward. Disappointing. I guess I like more uplifting endings to fantasy novels. If that's what you're after, this book isn't for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2000

    Unconventional ending to a well written story

    Hobb concludes the story of Fitz and the Six Duchies in an unconventional style. Each main character is developed more fully, and the world is revealed in rich detail, however, the page count becomes tiresome before the fundamental conflict is resolved. Fitz' journey West takes us into new territory, and raises a new question: Who is the hero? Is it Fitz, the Catalyst who strives clumsily to work behind the scenes as Chade taught him, or is it Verity, the Prince on Crusade to save the Kingdom, as King Wisdom did hundreds of years ago? The only charcters who really grow are Burrich, Fool, Chade, and Nighteyes. Ketricken is too Wagnerian, Kettle too opaque, and Starling too shallow to fill out their roles. At least Will is developed more thoroughly as the antagonist's henchman than is usually the case, and Regal is given some credit for subtlety. The digression into Old Blood is a bit of a tease. The foray into the time of the Elderlings is pointless, when one considers that Verity unveils enough of their secrets to understand the solution to his problem. His confrontation with 'Can I pull this off?' is more compelling than Fitz's overworked habit, begun in book 1, of getting himself and his allies into hot water while trying to help his King. The conclusion to the story fits well within the general theme of sacrifices made in the pursuit of noble ends. Hobb still makes a lying, clumsy, underhanded, poisoning b*st*rd [guess using English now excites a 'wordchecker' / censor-- shame on BN.com] sympathetic character, which is an accomplishment in itself. Just could have used some liposuction. Sorry to see the end of this saga, as the characters came alive during the series. Hobb is a talented story teller. I will miss Fitz and Nighteyes more than most characters. Her next offering will be on my bookshelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    DRAKEN

    Its guarding somthing................nope just its eggs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Elders den

    Old kittys

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Fantastic!!

    The books by this author are magical and fascinating. I recommend ALL of her books!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Good story line

    A little predictable but still a very good read. I hope we get more of these.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    great series!!

    Would recommend this to anyone who loves fantasy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Sweet

    Cool series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Okay

    The series was good, but the ending left a lot to be desired.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Fang

    Life Sealer....i miss you....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Very slow and monotonous

    Goes on forever into smallest details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2012

    A fast paced and emotionally engaging read

    Many of Robin Hobb's "trillogies" link into different dimensions of another world. Her characters have depth and the long series of trillogies add texture. I've read many of her books and I can't wait to read the next....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Roses nitter page

    Free ts at love result 7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    Ending was not my cup of tea

    For all the pain and sacrifice Fitz makes in his undying loyalty of being a King's man, very few of the characters were happy by the end of the book. It was just SO depressing to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Life sealer

    Hi.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It ends too soon!

    I loved this whole series, and it keeps you held in tight, often by the heart strings. Fitz grows into a man, but remains that poor boy pulled in every direction on some levels. Your heart breaks with him through his turmoil, since you've watched him grow up in a way no normal boy should ever have to do. My only complaint is that the series ends too soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Not the end

    For all of you who loved this book the continued series is even better the tawny man which is based on the fate of the 6 duchies and the fool new characters new places awesome story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12