Customer Reviews for

Assegai

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Typical enthralling Wilbur Smith.

Enjoyed this very much. Recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Wilbur Smith.

posted by granny3JC on July 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Somewhat disappointed

I have read and loved every book written by Wilbur Smith. I was disappointed in "Assegi." I mean Courtney was going to spend his life on Safari, how was he going to find the love of his life? Oh, here comes a beautiful girl, being abused, needing a man to save her, an...
I have read and loved every book written by Wilbur Smith. I was disappointed in "Assegi." I mean Courtney was going to spend his life on Safari, how was he going to find the love of his life? Oh, here comes a beautiful girl, being abused, needing a man to save her, and just happens to be single. It just lacked believability. I loved the action, and the characters, but it seems the story was not well thought out.

posted by AggieDT on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    Not Up To WS Quality

    If you enjoy reading about the gratuitous killing of wildlife in order to gratify the unjustly inflated ego of "white hunters," this book is for you. If you like the imperialist attitude of men who invaded countries outside their own borders for exploitation and furtherance of their idea of their own inate superiority, by all means, spend your money here.

    I've read other WS novels and thoroughly enjoyed them. I understand that in the period in which this novel is set, these attitudes were routine. But at least half the book (which is where I could take no more) is devoted to enthusiastic descriptions of the killing of wildlife, much of which is now endangered, and all of which is today depleted.

    The bloodthirsty men who carry out these hunts describe themselves as "white hunters." In fact, it is their native underlings who do the actual tracking but receive none of the fame, glory, or money.

    I find WS's hearty descriptions unsavory and I will never again buy a book of his without very careful scrutiny.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    My New Nook

    Just bought a Nook and it is so awesome. It's really suppose to be for my wife but I think we will have to share. Everyone at B&N is so helpful and we enjoy going a couple of times a week.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Wilbur's best work!

    Having read most of the works written by Wilbur Smith I found Assegai a departure from his usual much more suspenseful works. The style exhibited made me check to see if a ghost writer (ala Clancy) was credited. Alas not so. I just didn't have the intimate contact with the characters, the terrain or the environment that I've had with his many other books. What I missed most was the feeling of actually being in Africa. The feeling of being on the chase as the spoor is taken or a pursuit. Although not a bad read, I hope to see better in the future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2010

    Assegai by Wilbur Smith

    I love Wilbur Smith's books as they are always action packed and have memorable charactors. Assegai takes a long time to get into the plot and over does the hunting scenes. The romamce is very trite and seems to be an after thought. With that said, the book is still a page turner thats keeps your interest high. Wilbur Smith has a way with making villians you hate and heros you love. The descriptions are vivid and come to life in your mind. His stories have a unique ability to transport you to another time and place, you learn a little history each time you read a Wilbur Smith novel. Overall, a good book but not Smith's best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    Wilbur Smith is the best.

    I came to be a fan of Wilbur Smith only a few years ago and admit that I have tried diligently to catch up on his many wonderful books. There are books that you read, books that you scan, and books that you simply skip pages to get to the end. I have yet to find a book by this author that fits into any of these categories. Once you have read one of his books, you will find that without realizing it, you have been absorbed into the world about which he writes. I truly love reading his books. They are filled with the rawness of life in any era he deems worthy to draw his notice. His characters are larger than life and you mourn the loss of even the most minor of them. Stories are deeply explored and funded with a wealth of information and research. The complexity of his characters is realistic and occasionally disturbing. I am always captivated by the depth of his understanding of history and humanty. I would highly recommend any book penned by him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Disappointing

    I love Wilbur Smith - own everything he's ever written - and buy any new title as soon as I can. This time, though, I'm afraid I was disappointed in the quality of the book. His writing is still good, he still has a great sense of Africa, but this book does not have the depth of his previous novels. I thought the characters were thin, and that his plot wasn't nearly so much as adventure as that of romance. I love an escapist week-end with Smith - this one left me feeling unsatisfied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Great book

    Excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An engrossing fun read

    I am a big fan of Wilbur Smith and to me he is the best adventure writer out there. However, his books have been inconsistent. Some are great and some are boring. Happily, this book is among his best. For the first hundred pages or so I felt that the book was going to be a bit formulaic and was ready to be underwhelmed. Boy was I wrong. The book totally took off and I read the last 250 pages in one sitting. This book reads like a movie - it is that involving. One word of warning - Wilbur Smith's books are not for prudes or the squeamish. I'm neither and found it great fun.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    wilbur smith is back

    if you love his other books? you will love this one. the plot is amazing and the story is eazy to follow. its back to africa and villans. i recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Typical enthralling Wilbur Smith.

    Enjoyed this very much. Recommend it to anyone who is a fan of Wilbur Smith.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Somewhat disappointed

    I have read and loved every book written by Wilbur Smith. I was disappointed in "Assegi." I mean Courtney was going to spend his life on Safari, how was he going to find the love of his life? Oh, here comes a beautiful girl, being abused, needing a man to save her, and just happens to be single. It just lacked believability. I loved the action, and the characters, but it seems the story was not well thought out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    Great Book

    Really, really liked this story. Wilbur Smith is a master writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    Wilbur Smith strikes again.

    Wilbur Smith's books are usually a perfect combination of Action, Romance, History, and Geography. His early books mostly focused on southern Africa from the countries of South Africa north to Zimbabwe. Then he wrote a series of books on northwestern Africa following the Nile from Egypt south to Ethiopia. His latest book, ASSEGAI, connects up these two regions by using Kenya and Uganda as his setting. The big question is: What comes next; he has used up all of Western Africa (the rift valley)? To summarize, Wilbur Smith's books are so good that I wish that I had written them myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    Assegai is pure CLASSIC Wilbur Smith!

    Finally! Wilbur Smith has returned to the love of his youth and the heart of his fame. Assegai is cleanly written and fluidly fast-paced, not a a dull page in the book. It brilliantly illustrates Wilbur's gifted talent as a skillful storyteller. He has masterfully woven his love and knowledge of the animals and the people of Africa, and it's history into a truly enjoyable read. In my opinion, to date, the best book Wilbur Smith has ever written. - - Barbara Davis, author of DARKSIDE OF DEBONAIR

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Very good

    I don't understand some of the reviews, with the upset over wildlife being killed. This is a book of fiction, granted things like this used to happen. But if you have EVER read a Wilbur Smith book it shouldn't surprise you that the killing of wildlife will play a prominent part in the book. For pity sakes this book is about a Big Game Hunter. So with that said. I thought this was a good book. And an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    Epic!

    How do you get to travel africa for less than $20.00 dollars? Take the trip with Mr. Smith. He will take you on a safari you will long remember.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    Fast paced and geat read .

    Smith works his magic again. Interesting look at a timeframe we have hear very little about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wilbur has still got it!

    A must read for Wilbur Smith fans. He brings Afica alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    A must for Wilbur Smith fans and for those seeking a new, exciting author

    It has been years since I have read any Wilbur Smith. A friend gave me Assegai and I was thrilled to see he had something new out. One of the best books I have ever read of any kind was Smith's The Sunbird which if you haven't read it, you should if you can find a copy. To this very day, whenever I think about it, I am overcome with the same incredible feelings. Assegai ranks pretty high by Smith's standards. I found it to be frighteningly realistic by historical standards of the time period and the story line was graphic, detailed and inescapable even from the beginning. I hope that safari life in Africa has moved away from Smith's depiction of it, but it all touched my heart and kept me totally engrossed right until the end. I was disappointed when I finished it only because I enjoyed it so much. It is a long and detailed read, but once I got the characters names down pat, it just took off soaring and whisked me away to a world I could never have fathomed, but am grateful that Smith brought it to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    It's good to have the Courtney's & Ballantine's back !

    Ever since Wilbur Smith moved out of the SAR, we were deprieved of the great novels of the Ballantyne's and Courtney's. Can not say that the Egyptian Series were not to his standards, but it is thanks to the original series that I became an avid reader of his, therefore a huge WELCOME BACK !

    With the exception of the courtroom section of the book that I found a wee bit too "Grishamesque", I have to say that this is again a great novel and I do hope that the series continue.

    Munir HAMAMCIOGLU- Istanbul, Türkiye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4