Customer Reviews for

An Assembly Such as This: A Novel of Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2008

    You Will Enjoy if You Love Jane Austen

    This is by far one of the better Jane Austen sequels/spinoffs that I have read. If you love Jane Austen and like this kind of genre you will enjoy An Assembly Such as This

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    I love this series!

    I love this book and the rest after it. At first I was skeptical about it because I saw some reviews on the internet that it wasn't a really good book, but I decided to try it for myself and I fell in love with Mr.Darcy. In these books you actually get to understand him a better. I recommend it to anyone who wants to find out abaout Darcy's side of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Well worth reading

    A well written and imaginative look at Pride and Prejudice showing events from Darcy's perspective. Pamela Aidan goes into details of Regency life, making them easier to understand, and introduces her own characters as well as telling the story of Darcy and Elizabeth. If you like Pride and Prejudice, I think you're almost guaranteed to like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2007

    Darcy lovers

    this book is awesome. Aidan really stays true to Austen's work. if you loved Darcy as much as I do these books will only make you love Darcy more. a must read for all P&P fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    Best of the Spinoffs

    I've read quite a few of the prequels, sequels, and spinoffs related to Pride and Prejudice, and Aidan's series is the best, hands down. In plot, character, structure, setting, and style, she stays true to the spirit of Austen's novel. I've been recommending this series to all my Austen-loving friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    Could not put it down.

    From the moment I started reading 'An Assembly Such as This' I knew I would love this sieries of books on Darcy. I cannot say enough on the outstanding job Pamela Aidan did. She seems to have captured Darcy as I have always loved him and thought him to be. These books fit so well with P&P that it was like reading both at once. I loved getting to know Darcy and his family and friends. The new charters in the books really added to Darcys life. Also to see Darcy struggle with his feelings for Elizabeth and his growth put this sieries on the all time favorite list for me. Readers will love these books. Once again an outstanding job by Pamela Aidan. I hope she will write more of the Darcy family as I will be first in line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2006

    Enchanting from the Beginning

    I recently finished this book and found that I could not put it down. I have always wondered about Darcy's side of the story and found this author's take both refreshing and entertaining. It really captures the essence of Darcy that no one gets to really see in Jane Austen's work. I found myself amazed that she so eloquently incorporated the words of Jane Austen into her work to make the created story that more believable. It gives the reader more insight into Darcy's own struggle over his attatchment to one Elizabeth Bennett. Being a fond reader of Pride and Prejudice I was glad to find a companion book that weaves many aspects into a story about one of the most beloved characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2006

    A Gem for True Janeites!

    Having read all three parts of Aidan's Fitzwilliam Darcy novel, I can say with confidence that this is a must-read for all Janeites! She faithfully mirrors the three-part structure of P&P, delves into the oft-neglected 'male world' of Regency England that Austen only hinted at, and creates a portrait of Fitzwilliam Darcy that is unforgettable! She also includes direct dialogue from P&P, making it a delightful exercise to read hers and Austen's stories side-by-side. Warning: Once you begin, you won't want any gaps between volumes. You can find all three at Bas Bleu Booksellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2006

    Do not miss this book!

    I had not realized that this series was self-published before, and I'm so glad it will be available to a larger market through a larger publisher. This is a wonderful book, a wonderful series and a fantastic read. It borrows from Colin Firth's depiction of Mr. Darcy in the BBC P&P miniseries (also wonderful!!). Firth has said in interviews that it was Darcy's shyness that manifested itself in haughtiness and he used it as a show of the character's humanity. Ms. Aidan describes Darcy's humanity and shyness in wonderful detail and we can see how he tries to pursue Elizabeth in spite of his natural reticence. Her description of his physicality is much like Colin Firth, and she goes into 'offstage' scenes that offer more insight into all the characters, while staying faithful to Austen's portrayals. She also fleshes out the character of Georgiana more and adds a great cast of characters to help Darcy through the story. I especially like the character of Dy, who comes again into prominence in the 3rd volume. I was hooked on the series after reading this book and I hope other readers feel the same way. I have gone back to read it along with P&P and had great fun with my new 'backstory'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2006

    A must read for DARCY FANS

    While reading 'Pride and Prejudice' I fell in love with the character Fitzwilliam Darcy, and when I found this Triligy I had to read it. I really love this book, and book three (These Three Remain) But, I didn't really like book two as much (Just a warning). Now there are faults with the book, which is true to many sequals and rewrites, but its still a good read, and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5